Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Juvenile Gladiators
Simon Scarrow's books set in ancient Rome make absorbing reading, and this book, written for teenagers, make a good read for those who have left their teen years behind.
MITHRA
Published 7 months ago by Mithra

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big fan of Simon Scarrow - this one not so much :-(
I will start by saying that I love the Macro and Cato series. While Simon's writing style is easy and the plotlines are exciting and a bit "Boys' Own" - in a good way - the historical detail & background, settings and attention to detail more than offset the occasionally anachronisms. In short, great storytelling for a history buff like me.

Arena is a...
Published 9 months ago by James


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Rip Off, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought all the Arena series of short stories by Simon Scarrow at the inflated price only to find that this book is a compilation of them all when I came to read it. Did not get round to this book until after the final date for returning it so am now stuck with it. I feel cheated that Amazon did not point out at time of purchase that I already had this book on my kindle, albeit in sections. They do this if you mistakenly try to purchase an absolutely identical book to one on your kindle, so why not now? Why is it not obvious in the description on kindle store that this is a copy of the short story series all rolled into one book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good. I've read all the eagle series and sword and Schumpeter and this is another great book from simon scarrow. A good contrast of characters from the series like adding Cato in as a slave boy in the palace. An excellent read and I'd thoroughly recommend to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars dissapointing, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Apart from providing the name of the main character I'm not sure what input Simon Scarrow had in this volume.
I didn't notice the co-writer when I purchased the book otherwise might not have done.
Poor dialogue and repetitive in places. Simply blood and guts with unbelievable storyline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i have read quite a few novels of simon scarrow macro and cato series well

worth reading

i have read quite a few novels of simon scarrow. the macro and cato series so i will be buying future novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Area, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose the 5 star rating because thought that once again Simon scarrow has written another amazing, extremely interesting and accurate novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as good as Cato and macho but will read another one to see if they improve still simon is a great author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the usual standard, 29 Dec 2013
By 
C. Hargrave (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arena (Roman Arena) (Paperback)
I like others have enjoyed the previous Macro/Cato books and hoped this prequel would be as good but the fact that Scarrow has chosen to have a co author on this one and was written for younger readers should have warned me off, as, with other authors who co write, they are rarely as good and are possibly running out of ideas. It's ok, that's about all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A real disappointment, 26 Dec 2013
This review is from: Arena (Roman Arena) (Paperback)
Having read and enjoyed all the other books written by Simon Scarrow, I was looking forward to this new one. But what a disappointment. No real story/plotline development - just a series of bloody events which don't disguise the fact of the lack of either plot or character development. He and his co-author just seem to have dashed off the novel as quickly as possible to get it onto the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 24 Dec 2013
By 
Hemesh Alles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this as a series of short stories. Being a fan of the Macro/Cato buddy/buddy style of adventure I was looking forward to reading this tale of ancient Rome.Unfortunately this story is not upto the author's usually entertainingly brilliant standard.The first two parts are repetitious and the action dragged on even if the outcome was predictable.The villains were one dimensional and belonged in a cartoon.It's OK but it's not a book I would recommend to Simon Scarrow fans.I look forward to more adventures with Cato and Macro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ARENA, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book,the story moves along act as fast pace and its one of those reads when you can just switch of your brain enjoy it and not have to worry about as complicated plot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arena (Roman Arena)
Arena (Roman Arena) by T. J. Andrews (Hardcover - 15 Aug 2013)
8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews