Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take out your brain, read enjoy.
Some books and films are in my opinion just made to sit there, remove your brain and enjoy. This falls well within that category, It's no doubt a summer blockbuster film in the making.

The author has taken every conspiracy theory and SF horror book ever written, mixed them up and come up with a reasonably new plot idea.

If you want a serious, well...
Published 18 months ago by FLB

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable tosh
There should be some kind of award for books which are fundamentally rubbish, but at the same time achieve brilliance. Origin would win that award, hands down.
It's a glorious mash-up of prominently preposterous conspiracy theories which owes an awful lot to the key theme of the X-Files. The writing is clunky at best, third-rate in places. The hero is an AmerInd...
Published 18 months ago by Rowena Hoseason


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable tosh, 3 Mar 2013
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Origin (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There should be some kind of award for books which are fundamentally rubbish, but at the same time achieve brilliance. Origin would win that award, hands down.
It's a glorious mash-up of prominently preposterous conspiracy theories which owes an awful lot to the key theme of the X-Files. The writing is clunky at best, third-rate in places. The hero is an AmerInd version of Jason Bourne, ex-special forces carrying emotional baggage and yet with uncanny tracking, fighting, flying, etc, abilities. He's a living incarnation of Action Man (but Action Man is a bit more believable).
The bad guys are the global secret society who have sealed an nefarious deal which somehow involves Roswell, Area 51, a 40,000 year old body in Antarctica, the lost civilisation of Atlantis and all the 'God is an astronaut' themes recently used to much more chilling effect by Ridley Scott in Prometheus [DVD]. Origin does score some points by including CERN and the LHC in this mix. All we needed was the black oil and a bounty hunter or two and it would've been just like old times. The plot is so outlandish that it makes Alias -- Alias 1-5 The Complete Set [DVD] -- look like a documentary at times.
Yet even while I was totally aware of this book's failings - not least its two-dimensional characters and unfeasible action sequences - I couldn't help loving the chutzpah of the author who just slung all this into a thoroughly entertaining melting pot, and cracked on with telling a totally rewarding and engaging (if implausible) tale. Origin tries hard to be a combination of Dan Brown [Digital Fortress] and Michael Crichton [The Andromeda Strain], and it's nowhere near that accomplished. Indeed, at one point it comes over like a 1980's Bond movie with the protagonists held prisoner deep inside the underground techno-lair. Blofeld doesn't put in an appearance but the main baddie, intent on death and destruction for all humanity, does kinda whirl his mustache and handily explain all the finer details of the plot while the good guys are tied to chairs...
However, Origin is an extremely enjoyable romp, satisfying beyond reasonable expectation. Hence a solid three stars: Origin proved to be much more enjoyable than many 'worthy' works of fiction which are best used for propping up wobbly tables. With any luck JJ Abrams will turn it into an even less plausible movie, which would be likewise heaps of fun.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take out your brain, read enjoy., 20 Mar 2013
By 
FLB (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Origin (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Some books and films are in my opinion just made to sit there, remove your brain and enjoy. This falls well within that category, It's no doubt a summer blockbuster film in the making.

The author has taken every conspiracy theory and SF horror book ever written, mixed them up and come up with a reasonably new plot idea.

If you want a serious, well written thought provoking book..........try Dickens. If you just want to sit and while away the hours without much effort and still have an enjoyable time then try this book, I don't think you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars InTime, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Origin (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating tale told exquisitely well with each page heightening the tension and curiosity that is entirely satisfied after several intensely gripping hours of enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars origin, 15 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Origin (Paperback)
It was an enjoyable read but I must admit that I preferred his second book Extinction. Look forward to his third book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Place brain in neutral and just enjoy, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Origin (Kindle Edition)
I would suggest that readers should not try to employ logic or reason as they get stuck into this book. It takes most if not all of the alternative theories and conspiracies about history and humanity, chucks them together and gives the mix a good stir. The result if a heady mix that has the characters leaping from place to place and dramatic scenario to even more dramatic scenario. If I had wanted to head high-brow literature I would download such books and I would not judge this book by those standards. This book was fun, fast paced and simply enjoyable to settle down with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting read for the lover of conspiracy theories., 17 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. T. SALMON "upstreamers" (streatham london) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Origin (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I wasn't expecting to enjoy this book as much as I did. I am a bit of a "girl" when it comes to types and names of transport and guns so that went over my head, but luckily the book is not to weighed down with this. I like the two main characters. I think some of it might be a bit far fetched but it is a good story, and the end is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't think too much about it!, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Big Bad Bill "Big Bad Bill" (Somwhere on the Celtic Fringe) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Origin (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Fast enjoyable light entertainment. This is not an novel which will win prizes, it is not one you are likely to want to read a second time, but it passes a few hours pleasurably. Read this on a 9 hour flight to Florida, and was not tempted to try any of the movies, so yes it is worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lol like a b movie, 25 July 2013
By 
Beanie Luck Spud (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Origin (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is hilarious.

I am not sure it was meant to be funny but it was anyway.

I read it whilst shaking my head at the sheer ridiculousness of it.

It has been done so many times before, scifi/dystopian/fantasy etc.

The main character is a mashup of bourne/bond/xmen etc

If you want a good laugh and be entertained then read it, just remember to switch your brain off before you pick it up..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Completely bonkers but compelling reading, 25 May 2013
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Origin (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Pretty well every cliche of the conspiracy theory adventure type novel is present here. There is the chase where the good guys seem impervious to bullets fired at them and escape in the most improbable way; the vast range of very handy skills and knowledge which people seem to have exactly when needed; the awesome ability of the bad guys to track people through satellites and CCTV cameras combined with facial recognition software; the eavesdropping in the villain's lair at exactly the moment when they explain what is happening and outline their future plans; and the inexplicable inability of the evil mastermind even to attempt to kill the good guys without sitting them down and explaining the whole plot.The author has even managed to include the theories of Erich von Daniken, a new interpretation of the Old Testament and the superhuman like powers of Native American people.

The book begins with the discovery of a corpse at least 40,000 years old frozen in Antarctic ice but with obvious signs of modern technology and then becomes even more unbelievable. The research scientist Lynn Edwards (one of those convenient scientists whose knowledge is not confined to their academic discipline) and her ex-husband Matt (a Native American tracker and ex-government operative with a wide range of skills) find themselves in a race against time to find out what an elite band of high powered people are doing and what they are hiding. The answer seems highly improbable (to us as well as the characters) and only Lynn and Matt can save the world.

This is a fast paced novel with little characterisation. Its grip on reality is weak and the author either doesn't understand a lot of modern science (such as the limitations of DNA tests) or chooses to ignore them. People do impossible things (pull out their own teeth with a set of pliers on a penknife, for example). Just when you think that the book is highly improbable it shifts into a higher gear and enters the realm of the fantastic.

I found the story absolutely compelling, even though it was completely unbelievable. The chase is gripping, albeit improbable, and the action is unrelenting. This is not great literature (and to be fair I don't think that it aspires to be so) but it is a good read - suspend your disbelief and you may find it as enjoyably bonkers as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Conspiracies galore, 22 May 2013
By 
CJ (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Origin (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Origin is a science fiction conspiracy novel pulling together all manner of myths and theories to present a yarn offering an alternative view of how mankind came to be and an extra-terrestrial threat to earth which must be stopped.

The book moves along at a brisk pace and piles popular conspiracy theories on top of each other at such a rate that when a `new' one comes along you are hardly surprised that it has been shoehorned into the story. The two main protagonists are Matt Adams (an Indian tracker haunted by his past) and Evelyn Edwards (a NASA scientist and Adams' ex-wife) and these characters are given a little bit of history to work with but it's not much.

Everything from the origin of the species (hence the title) to UFOs is covered. It's all staggeringly daft and filled with mostly paper-thin characters. Apart from the previously mentioned Adams and Eve, characters aren't fleshed out all that much and often don't hang around too long either. This means that by the far-too-cute-for-its-own-good ending I didn't really care about the outcome all that much. Plus a whole bunch of plot threads are left hanging. To be fair though, I did want to find out how the story finished, so that's to the book's credit.

The problem with this novel is that the author piles on so many myths and theories, and keeps it all propelled at such a speed, that you just can't get engaged enough. It's possibly too much. Plus he gets wrapped up in the action and this leads to some confusion (at one point soldiers have assault rifles, then they are sub machine guns, then they are assault rifles again) and the odd plot contrivance to keep things moving.

There's even a scene where the arch-villain reveals his plan to our heroes as he is extremely confident they are doomed. Guess how that turns out.

So in summary, Origin is moderately enjoyable nonsense. It's not a massively gripping read but it does keep you going and although I struggle to recommend it I guess it could pass some time on a nice sunny beach somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Origin
Origin by J.T. Brannan (Paperback - 25 Oct 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews