Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Completely bonkers but compelling reading
Pretty well every cliche of the conspiracy theory adventure type novel is present here. There is the chase where the good guys seem impervious to bullets fired at them and escape in the most improbable way; the vast range of very handy skills and knowledge which people seem to have exactly when needed; the awesome ability of the bad guys to track people through satellites...
Published on 25 May 2013 by Anne

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Conspiracies galore
Origin is a science fiction conspiracy novel pulling together all manner of myths and theories to present a yarn offering an alternative view of how mankind came to be and an extra-terrestrial threat to earth which must be stopped.

The book moves along at a brisk pace and piles popular conspiracy theories on top of each other at such a rate that when a `new'...
Published on 22 May 2013 by CJ


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Completely bonkers but compelling reading, 25 May 2013
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Origin (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Pretty well every cliche of the conspiracy theory adventure type novel is present here. There is the chase where the good guys seem impervious to bullets fired at them and escape in the most improbable way; the vast range of very handy skills and knowledge which people seem to have exactly when needed; the awesome ability of the bad guys to track people through satellites and CCTV cameras combined with facial recognition software; the eavesdropping in the villain's lair at exactly the moment when they explain what is happening and outline their future plans; and the inexplicable inability of the evil mastermind even to attempt to kill the good guys without sitting them down and explaining the whole plot.The author has even managed to include the theories of Erich von Daniken, a new interpretation of the Old Testament and the superhuman like powers of Native American people.

The book begins with the discovery of a corpse at least 40,000 years old frozen in Antarctic ice but with obvious signs of modern technology and then becomes even more unbelievable. The research scientist Lynn Edwards (one of those convenient scientists whose knowledge is not confined to their academic discipline) and her ex-husband Matt (a Native American tracker and ex-government operative with a wide range of skills) find themselves in a race against time to find out what an elite band of high powered people are doing and what they are hiding. The answer seems highly improbable (to us as well as the characters) and only Lynn and Matt can save the world.

This is a fast paced novel with little characterisation. Its grip on reality is weak and the author either doesn't understand a lot of modern science (such as the limitations of DNA tests) or chooses to ignore them. People do impossible things (pull out their own teeth with a set of pliers on a penknife, for example). Just when you think that the book is highly improbable it shifts into a higher gear and enters the realm of the fantastic.

I found the story absolutely compelling, even though it was completely unbelievable. The chase is gripping, albeit improbable, and the action is unrelenting. This is not great literature (and to be fair I don't think that it aspires to be so) but it is a good read - suspend your disbelief and you may find it as enjoyably bonkers as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More cliche than originality, clunky, disjointed but entertaining., 21 Nov. 2012
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Origin (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
'So bad it's good' is the only way to describe Origin. I really didn't enjoy this mix of done to death conspiracy themes set in preposterous locations, populated by ridiculously cliched characters but; it achieves a certain type of readability and delivers some half decent action sequences/cat and mouse chases along the way.

The hero is a typical tough guy (think of a young Arnie or Stalone) who can fight his way out of any situation whether he uses physical or mental force. This All Action Hero has unfortunately been emotionally scarred by his past which leads to a rather silly mix of ultimate fighting machine with a soft center. I wasn't sure whether to be frightened of him, be frightened for him or just sit him down and give him a hug!. Not believable but certainly good fun. The baddies come in the form of a rather dubious secret agency who are out to capture the body of a 40,000 year old 'life form' buried somewhere in Antarctica and from there Brannan attempts to tie in many more threads some of which concern Atlantis and the 'Truth' about God. I honestly felt as though I was reading a screenplay for an up and coming science fiction movie rather than a novel.

If I've read or watched this type of plot in book and movie form once then I've read and watched it a thousand times and Origin is to Sci-Fi what yet another haunted house story would be to the horror genre - we've already explored it from top to bottom and all the way back again. For that reason there were no surprises and the ending was completely predictable.

As for the standard of writing; dialogue is clunky and the plot's disjointed from time to time. However; if you take Origin at face value and are prepared to suspend a lot of self belief it's actually quite entertaining in part and that's why I've given 3* not 2*. Not one for me but it'll acquire a fan base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Conspiracies galore, 22 May 2013
By 
CJ (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Origin (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Origin is a science fiction conspiracy novel pulling together all manner of myths and theories to present a yarn offering an alternative view of how mankind came to be and an extra-terrestrial threat to earth which must be stopped.

The book moves along at a brisk pace and piles popular conspiracy theories on top of each other at such a rate that when a `new' one comes along you are hardly surprised that it has been shoehorned into the story. The two main protagonists are Matt Adams (an Indian tracker haunted by his past) and Evelyn Edwards (a NASA scientist and Adams' ex-wife) and these characters are given a little bit of history to work with but it's not much.

Everything from the origin of the species (hence the title) to UFOs is covered. It's all staggeringly daft and filled with mostly paper-thin characters. Apart from the previously mentioned Adams and Eve, characters aren't fleshed out all that much and often don't hang around too long either. This means that by the far-too-cute-for-its-own-good ending I didn't really care about the outcome all that much. Plus a whole bunch of plot threads are left hanging. To be fair though, I did want to find out how the story finished, so that's to the book's credit.

The problem with this novel is that the author piles on so many myths and theories, and keeps it all propelled at such a speed, that you just can't get engaged enough. It's possibly too much. Plus he gets wrapped up in the action and this leads to some confusion (at one point soldiers have assault rifles, then they are sub machine guns, then they are assault rifles again) and the odd plot contrivance to keep things moving.

There's even a scene where the arch-villain reveals his plan to our heroes as he is extremely confident they are doomed. Guess how that turns out.

So in summary, Origin is moderately enjoyable nonsense. It's not a massively gripping read but it does keep you going and although I struggle to recommend it I guess it could pass some time on a nice sunny beach somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Fast read., 23 Oct. 2012
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Origin (Paperback)
Review

This was a tough review to write, on the one had this is a debut novel and i tend to lean towards being easy on an authors first book. I really do think that a good author grows with every book they write. So the first is part of that learning process. On the other hand i need to be fair to those spending their cash.

This, in scope is by far the most ambitiously scoped story i have every read. To tell you the true scope would give too much away. Imagine all your conspiracy theories, myths, religions everything in one book. Yes it is that good. I was immensely impressed with the balls on this author covering this scope in his first book, and in a single book.

Did I have any issues?

Yes Matt Adams is too good for me, too fast, too tough, almost superhuman and this i think is intentional, I can live with that. I have read so many thrillers of this type, but I'm still a person who likes his kick ass hero to be a bit rougher around the edges and to show the bumps he picks up along the way. To show a level of reality /humanity. A great example is Andy McDermott's Nina Wilde and Eddie Chase, a pair who have lived through amazing levels of abuse and come out the other end. But Eddie wears his scars on his sleeve and keeps going despite them. Matt Adams is just indestructible.

So the big questions: Do I recommend it? & Should you buy it?

If you love a thriller, especially one that takes you to the edge of reality. Then yes i do recommend it and you should click the link and buy it, Same can be said if you love a well constructed story that covers myth after myth and enigma after enigma. At £4.33 less than a fiver for hours of fun, that's great value for anyone.

(Parm)

Book Description
For millennia it has lain there undiscovered. Now the time has come...
Research scientist Evelyn Edwards always knew the Antarctic held deep secrets but the discovery of a 40,000 year old body buried under the ice caps surpasses even her wildest expectations. But just as her team begins extracting the body the dream turns into a horrific nightmare as they are targeted for death by someone who wants to keep this secret buried. Evelyn barely escapes with her life...
On the run, alone and desperate, she turns to her ex-husband Matt Adams, a former member of an elite government unit, for help. Soon, they find themselves caught up in a frantic race against time, which takes them from Area 51 to the Large Hadron Collider in Geneva, as they try to uncover the biggest conspiracy of all time before it's too late for everyone...
If mankind thought it knew its origins, the time has come to think again because its every belief is about to be challenged...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take out your brain, read enjoy., 20 Mar. 2013
By 
FLB (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Origin (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Some books and films are in my opinion just made to sit there, remove your brain and enjoy. This falls well within that category, It's no doubt a summer blockbuster film in the making.

The author has taken every conspiracy theory and SF horror book ever written, mixed them up and come up with a reasonably new plot idea.

If you want a serious, well written thought provoking book..........try Dickens. If you just want to sit and while away the hours without much effort and still have an enjoyable time then try this book, I don't think you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable tosh, 3 Mar. 2013
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Origin (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There should be some kind of award for books which are fundamentally rubbish, but at the same time achieve brilliance. Origin would win that award, hands down.
It's a glorious mash-up of prominently preposterous conspiracy theories which owes an awful lot to the key theme of the X-Files. The writing is clunky at best, third-rate in places. The hero is an AmerInd version of Jason Bourne, ex-special forces carrying emotional baggage and yet with uncanny tracking, fighting, flying, etc, abilities. He's a living incarnation of Action Man (but Action Man is a bit more believable).
The bad guys are the global secret society who have sealed an nefarious deal which somehow involves Roswell, Area 51, a 40,000 year old body in Antarctica, the lost civilisation of Atlantis and all the 'God is an astronaut' themes recently used to much more chilling effect by Ridley Scott in Prometheus [DVD]. Origin does score some points by including CERN and the LHC in this mix. All we needed was the black oil and a bounty hunter or two and it would've been just like old times. The plot is so outlandish that it makes Alias -- Alias 1-5 The Complete Set [DVD] -- look like a documentary at times.
Yet even while I was totally aware of this book's failings - not least its two-dimensional characters and unfeasible action sequences - I couldn't help loving the chutzpah of the author who just slung all this into a thoroughly entertaining melting pot, and cracked on with telling a totally rewarding and engaging (if implausible) tale. Origin tries hard to be a combination of Dan Brown [Digital Fortress] and Michael Crichton [The Andromeda Strain], and it's nowhere near that accomplished. Indeed, at one point it comes over like a 1980's Bond movie with the protagonists held prisoner deep inside the underground techno-lair. Blofeld doesn't put in an appearance but the main baddie, intent on death and destruction for all humanity, does kinda whirl his mustache and handily explain all the finer details of the plot while the good guys are tied to chairs...
However, Origin is an extremely enjoyable romp, satisfying beyond reasonable expectation. Hence a solid three stars: Origin proved to be much more enjoyable than many 'worthy' works of fiction which are best used for propping up wobbly tables. With any luck JJ Abrams will turn it into an even less plausible movie, which would be likewise heaps of fun.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Place brain in neutral and just enjoy, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Origin (Kindle Edition)
I would suggest that readers should not try to employ logic or reason as they get stuck into this book. It takes most if not all of the alternative theories and conspiracies about history and humanity, chucks them together and gives the mix a good stir. The result if a heady mix that has the characters leaping from place to place and dramatic scenario to even more dramatic scenario. If I had wanted to head high-brow literature I would download such books and I would not judge this book by those standards. This book was fun, fast paced and simply enjoyable to settle down with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Forget everything you thought you knew, 15 Oct. 2013
By 
book fan (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Origin (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love these type of novels, they may not be the greatest literature, but they definitely provide hours of entertaining reading. Origin is the debut novel of J. T. Brannan and reads like a cross of say James Rollins and maybe Michael Crichton. It starts with a team of scientists on an expedition in the Antarctica who accidently come across a frozen body of a man, these scientists believe it to be forty thousand years old, but strangely it looks very much like a modern day man and also he is wearing an outfit made from a material never seen before. One of the research team scientists Evelyn 'Lynn ' Edwards is ecstatic over this discovery but she and her fellow team members soon become in danger after reporting back to the NASA base for whom they all work. They became in danger of their lives when a team from the base come and remove the body and set about eliminating the researchers. Lynn is the only one who manages to escape, so alone and desperate she turns to her ex husband for help. What follows is much exciting adventure with loads of chases and fighting. The ex husband is an highly improbable character, like a cross between James Bond and Superman, he seems to be invincible, he also is half American Indian so he as plenty of tracking skills and the like. They soon discover that there is a conspiracy to end life on this planet as we know it and end up on a frantic race against time which takes them from Area 51 to the Large Hadron Collider in Geneva. I enjoyed this novel hugely except maybe for the bits involving helicopters and guns, which from a womans perspective bore me, but you have to bear with it so you know what's going on. I can happily recommend this book if you like action adventure and scientific theories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Fate of the Whole of Humanity - No Pressure!, 12 Aug. 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Origin (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Origin starts off strongly with the discovery of a 40,000 year old body in the ice of Antarctica which has strange, apparently non contemporary anomalies. Clearly there is a high level conspiracy to keep this information under wraps and one of the scientists who made the discovery, Lynn Edwards, is soon on the run assisted by her former husband, Matt Adams, trying to keep ahead of ruthless men with the latest high tech tracking techniques at their disposal.

Adams reminds me of Lee Child's Jack Reacher. He appears to have almost superhuman abilities and the knack of overcoming the bad guys whatever the odds. The first part of the story was a chase around South America along these lines and was shaping up for a good romp. However, then the plot widens as we begin to understand just why this discovery must be kept secret, and the author draws in, well, Life, the Universe and Everything, as they would say in the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy. We have the involvement of CERN, Roswell, the Von Daniken theory of `Was God an Astronaut?', Cave Paintings, the Nazca Lines in Peru and much much more. As stated at one point `Their lives were as nothing compared with the Fate of the Whole of Humanity'!

It all made for quite an improbable mix, and whilst I have no problem in suspending disbelief, this one was quite a stretch when it got into its stride. That is not to say it was not quite an enjoyable if highly unlikely read. However, it is a truism that sometimes less is more and it may have been that if the plot had been toned down a bit this would have ended up as a more credible book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Incredible alien recolonisation plot!, 25 Jun. 2013
By 
R. M. Armstrong "Globetrotter" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Origin (Paperback)
Alien origins thriller by JT Brannan in which an immensely powerful international group acting through rogue elements of the National Security Agency has made a pact with our supposedly ancient ancestors, the Anunnaki, to allow them to return to earth to wipe out all human life except, naturally, for 100 of the group's most privileged members. This is to be accomplished using a wormhole device built in secret on the site of the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at CERN in Switzerland.

When an apparently 40,000 year old body is uncovered in Antarctica by NASA scientists, news is leaked which allows the villains to mount a murderous cover-up to retrieve the body. The principal lady scientist though, miraculously escapes a bomb on board a helicopter then survives the Antarctic ocean until being rescued by the Chileans. She contacts her ex-husband, a native American and former special forces officer who joins her and together they evade numerous attempts to capture them on their way home. A rather too convenient friend gets them back to the USA but they are eventually caught when they attempt to find out the DNA results from the body and are taken to Area-51.

There then follows one of the worst factual errors spoken by a character I've ever come across. With no apparent chance of the pair escaping, the chief villain rashly reveals the plan, and in setting the scene, tells the pair that following the Roswell crash of July 1947, US President Franklin D. Roosevelt signed the National Security Act later that same year. I'm not sure I believe in ghost writing for this is what would have been required! How on earth did it escape Brannan that FDR died shortly before the end of WWII in April 1945 and was succeeded by Harry Truman? This is an unbelievable mistake for an author with a military background and someone should have spotted it before publication.

Against the odds, the couple overcome their guards and with the help of a scientist having second thoughts they escape through a secret exit and make their way to the LHC near Geneva to put a stop to the attack. In an unlikely finale, bush skills overcome modern weapons and the plot is foiled in a not too surprising but nevertheless thought provoking manner. Enjoyable story despite many of the escapes being much too unrealistic, and the author should double check his facts in his next novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Origin
Origin by J.T. Brannan (Paperback - 25 Oct. 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews