Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are we all a victim?
I do wish publishers would stop giving the impression that books which were originally released over 10 years ago (in this case 2001 for the UK) are masquerading as new books. Fortunately, I hadn't read this one so I enjoyed the story but feel annoyed that I was caught out by a sleight of hand!

The book is based around a series of mass killings at various...
Published 22 months ago by Michael Watson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Secret behind School Shootings
A school shooting brings out the best and the worst small town people. The sherriff's son is incremenated from the start. Officer Rainie Conner, leading her first homicide investigation, stands at the center of the controversy. And she has a secret pass, which is coming back to haunt her. With the help of FBI profiler Pierce Quincy, Rainie comes closer to a deadly truth...
Published on 6 Oct 2007 by M. A. Ramos


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are we all a victim?, 17 Sep 2012
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Third Victim (FBI Profiler 2) (Paperback)
I do wish publishers would stop giving the impression that books which were originally released over 10 years ago (in this case 2001 for the UK) are masquerading as new books. Fortunately, I hadn't read this one so I enjoyed the story but feel annoyed that I was caught out by a sleight of hand!

The book is based around a series of mass killings at various schools throughout the US which actually took place. Regrettably, they still do. Make no mistake, this is a crime thriller and does not pretend to reflect on the real-life events. It does, however, spend some time, via the main protagonists, trying to rationalise the reasons for such outrages. Since the answer has not yet been found, mainly due to the lack of first hand perpetrators killing themselves before they are taken into custody, the chances are high that more school killings will occur.

In this novel, the disturbing clue which leads to a tense investigation is just why one of the victims, a teacher, was killed with a single shot to the head when the other victims were killed in a spray of bullets.

Officer Lorraine Conner, yet another police person with a haunted past, leads this investigation, little knowing that she, herself, has become the grand finale. Meantime, FBI profiler Pierce Quincy arrives on the scene to lend his support, a man specializing in child psychology with, guess what, a troubled past.

If one cuts out the author's take on why these events happen, this is well up to Lisa Gardner's high standards of storytelling. She intertwines the horrific event in Conner's earlier life resulting in the killing of her mother, with the manipulation of a young schoolboy by the real killer responsible for the mass killings at three of the schools. When all this is set in a very small town in Oregon, where everyone knows the business of everyone else - or thinks they do, Conner's job becomes increasingly plagued by emotions on all sides.

Even so, the author tells a convincing story. The person behind the killings lies hidden in the community and no amount of investigating seems to bring Conner and Quincy any closer to solving the mystery of the dead teacher. Until, that is, there is a breakthrough with an interesting take on how a .22 bullet can be made to fire from a .38. I didn't know this but then, why would I? But it's an ingenious point.

Despite its age, this book is still well up to today's standards of thriller writing, in fact, it's a far better book than many of the current crop of police action stories. I just wish Headline Publishing (and Amazon) would be more open with the provenance of their books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars somewhat disturbing, beautifully written, 11 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Third Victim (Paperback)
This book is full of every mothers'nightmares - from shootings in school - to your child holding the murder weapons. Not a fast paced read but the mentality of a small town - the closeness - and how violence can rip that to pieces is superbly drawn. The two main characters Raine and Quincy; legions apart yet you can feel the tension when they are together. You feel empathy for both of them and Raines's frustrations become yours. A nightmare - but a well written one and well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Third Victim, 22 Jun 2009
By 
molko (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Third Victim (Paperback)
This is the first in Lisa Gardner's Rainie & Quincy series although Pierce Quincy does make a small appearance in her previous book 'The Perfect Husband'. Here we are introduced to Lorraine 'Rainie' Conner who is a police officer in the small rural town of Bakersville which is where the latest in a string of school shootings has just taken place leaving 3 people dead. Rainie and rookie cop Cunningham rush to the scene and what she discovers changes her life completely.
This is one of the best books ive read recently and I finisbed it in 3 days while on holiday. Gardner's writing style is effortless, her characters are well portrayed and witty and theres still enough shocks and grousome bits thrown in to keep it appealing to a wide audience. I would definately recomend this book as a great place to start with both Lisa Gardner and this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loving Lisa, 15 Oct 2007
By 
L. Thomas "laurie" (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Third Victim (Paperback)
This book was great, i really enjoyed reading The Third Victim.
I visited Lisa Gardner's website and she had the order in which to read the novels that involved the characters Quincy and Rainie.
It's as follows:-
- The Perfect Husband
- The Third Victim
- The Next Accident
- The Killing Hour
- Gone

I am now reading The Next Accident, which is great so far...
Anyway back to this review.
The story is every mother's worst nightmare, i really felt for the poor mum involved.
After reading a few pages i just didn't want to put it down.
The suspence is fantastic. I played the guessing game right to the very end. There were lots of twists and turns.
I am growing to really like the Quincy and Rainie duo. Great characters.
I was surprised by the outcome of the story and wouldn't have guessed at all.
Love the way the author must have really researched the plot, gathered so much information. The story was very believable.
I would recommend to others definitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't put them down!, 22 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Third Victim (Paperback)
I was looking for the next title in Lisa's books to discover there were no reviews! I read The Perfect Husband, The Other Daughter & The Third Victim one after the other some time ago. They were fabulous! I couldn't put them down & was most upset at the time to find I had reached the end of Lisa's 'book road'-I was left wanting more. Lisa pulls you into her stories & you get totally engrossed. Her characters are really strong & believeable.
I read lots of crime fiction from a wide range of authors but I think if you like Patricia Cornwell & Karin Slaughter..you'll probably like this writer too. At least have a dabble...nothing ventured...nothing gained! I'm glad I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Secret behind School Shootings, 6 Oct 2007
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A school shooting brings out the best and the worst small town people. The sherriff's son is incremenated from the start. Officer Rainie Conner, leading her first homicide investigation, stands at the center of the controversy. And she has a secret pass, which is coming back to haunt her. With the help of FBI profiler Pierce Quincy, Rainie comes closer to a deadly truth than she can imagine. Because out there in the shadows a man watches her and plots his next move. Will she be able to prove that Shep's 13 year old son did not go on a killing spree? All of the characters are flawed in some way. A very interesting villian. Even though you do not figure out the ending. At least I had it all wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a really excellent novel., 24 Feb 2001
By A Customer
It's every bit as good as The Perfect Husband. The characters and their relationships are complex and well drawn; they were people I could really believe in and care about. The plot is full of suspense; clever enough to keep you guessing, but all too believable. The writing is excellent. It's one of those books which makes you regret finishing it because you no longer have it to look forward to. I can't wait to see what she does next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly enjoyed it, looking forward to reading more, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First read of this series for me. thoroughly enjoyed it, looking forward to reading more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book...one of the best thriller writers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another hit by Lisa, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read again by Lisa. I generally like her books bad writing style, but it is often a question of price, wether I buy or not. It's fast paced with a twisting plot. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Third Victim (FBI Profiler 2)
The Third Victim (FBI Profiler 2) by Lisa Gardner (Paperback - 30 Aug 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews