Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful page-turner.
Trooper Bobby Dodge works for the Massachusetts Special Tactics and Operation Team (STOP) and is called to a domestic disturbance. Shots have been fired and from his vantage point Bobby sees a man raise a gun and point it at the woman in the room, threatening to kill her. In a split second Bobby decides to act and shoots the man. It transpires that the victim is Jimmy...
Published on 20 Mar 2010 by Mr Creepy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars silly, silly, silly
I'm glad that this wasn't the first Lisa Gardner book I had read. If it had been I would never have read another. I know authors need a little poetic licence but I really don't think there is a police officer in the world - at least not one with half a working brain cell who would do what Bobby Dodge does! Shame
Published 9 months ago by Sandie


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful page-turner., 20 Mar 2010
This review is from: Alone (Paperback)
Trooper Bobby Dodge works for the Massachusetts Special Tactics and Operation Team (STOP) and is called to a domestic disturbance. Shots have been fired and from his vantage point Bobby sees a man raise a gun and point it at the woman in the room, threatening to kill her. In a split second Bobby decides to act and shoots the man. It transpires that the victim is Jimmy Gagnon, the son of powerful Judge Gagnon. There are theories that his widow Catherine, who Bobby acted to save, is actually the dangerous one of the couple. Judge Gagnon intends to remove his grandson from her care, accusing her of deliberately making the child sick. Such warped behaviour may be a consequence of her own damaged past; for Catherine was abducted as a child and held for a month underground before escaping. The Judge also believes Bobby Dodge was duped into the shooting and that Jimmy's death suits Catherine's schemes. With suspicion surrounding everyone, Catherine and Bobby are thrown together, but will she be his nemesis? Meanwhile sadistic criminal Richard Umbrio is released from prison and thirsty for revenge.
A slick tale from Gardner with clever play on the is-she-a-saint-or-a-sinner riff. There are one or two moments of purple prose, when dealing with love and lust, that felt like they'd wandered in from a Mills and Boon but skip over these - the rest is a suspenseful page-turner.

Cath Staincliffe author of the popular Sal Kilkenny mysteries and the series creator of TV Blue Murder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, 22 Feb 2005
By 
Michael Brown (Greensboro, NC, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alone (Hardcover)
Alone by Lisa Gardner is an amazing crime story. It al began with the death of Jimmy Gagnon, son of Judge Gagnon. Jimmy was killed by State trooper Bobby Dodge who with a tactical swat team was trying to defuse a supposedly domestic abuse hostage crisis. But the judge and his wife believe Jimmy's wife, Catharine Gagnon engineered the crisis to get rid of their son, so they want their only grandson taken from her. They start by suing Bobby Dodge and with that unfolded incidences which invokes Catherine's past as a victim of a pedophile half a century back.

Embroiled in the mystery of the unfolding drama is the lurking presence of the serial rapist, manipulation by the late Jimmy's parents, the helplessness of the grandson, Catherine's calculating nature and Bobby Dodge's determination to resolve the mysteries behind all the deaths around. Just like USURPER AND OTHER STORIES you are thrilled until the last pages of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taut family psycological thriller!, 3 May 2007
This review is from: Alone (Paperback)
A similar family pschological thriller to the popular 'Little Face' but I liked this better. The book delves into the extent a Mother goes to protect her son, amidst hostile in-laws and an abusive husband. The extra plot here is that the husband is killed by a police sniper during a domestic altercation, and the story considers the point of view from the policeman. Did he do the right thing or was he somehow set up?

Both Mother and cop have dark pasts which add to the psyche and keep the twists going to the last few pages. Good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars silly, silly, silly, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm glad that this wasn't the first Lisa Gardner book I had read. If it had been I would never have read another. I know authors need a little poetic licence but I really don't think there is a police officer in the world - at least not one with half a working brain cell who would do what Bobby Dodge does! Shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be missed, 26 Nov 2008
This review is from: Alone (Paperback)
Lisa Gardner has done it again.Another brilliant psychological thriller to keep you up all night! Without giving the storyline away, this book has a great plot with loads of twists to keep you hooked. If this is your first time of reading any of her novels you won't be disappointed.Once you have finished reading this book I'm sure you will go out and buy Hide, which continues with a new story with the main character, Bobby Dodge. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the most un-putdownable books i've ever read., 30 May 2008
By 
molko (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alone (Paperback)
This book was so fast paced it really was shocking. Each of the lead characters were enjoyable to read about and completely believable. Lisa Gardner really shone here and her talents were literally just a joy to read in parts.

The pace was kept up through-out and towards the end the shocks just kept coming without becoming unbelievable.

A really good read, so glad I picked it up and you will be too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars couldn't put it down, 2 Mar 2008
This review is from: Alone (Paperback)
This book was easy to get lost it, the characters had real depth and I just couldn't wait to see the final conclusion, recommand highly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alone, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just finished this book and actually felt sad it had come to an end. It was an amazing story, full of twists and turns, that made me unable to put the book down. This is just the second book of Lisa Gardener I have read and I shall certainly be reading more of her work. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Lisa Gardner's books everyone a winner in my eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alone (Detective D.D. Warren 1)
Alone (Detective D.D. Warren 1) by Lisa Gardner (Paperback - 6 Dec 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews