Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, very nicely tied into the first two ..., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breach Zone (Shadow Ops) (Paperback)
Great book,very nicely tied into the first two in the series without being a direct follow on,displays new characters with existing ones seamlessly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic cover, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breach Zone (Shadow Ops) (Paperback)
good story and great model on front cover worth a read not the most intellectual but a good fantasy story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good finale, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breach Zone (Shadow Ops) (Paperback)
Positives:

Scylla's background being fleshed out improved on an already compelling character. Could completely understand how someone could end up as she did.

Battle scenes were as usual well scripted and coherent.

Harlequin was an excellent choice as the protagonist and his journey through the 3 books reaches a satisfying conclusion.

Cole keeps the action interesting after 3 books and continues to come up with original ways the characters use their abilities.

Negatives:

Many of the characters from the first two books are reduced to mere cameo appearances or even left out all together and are greatly missed. The most glaring being Oscar Britton.

Many plot threads left unexplored, almost like Cole had too many ideas and tried to squeeze them all into one book.

The ending still doesn't offer a clear and decisive ending to the series despite it being billed as a trilogy.

Overall i enjoyed the book and was pleased to enter back into the World Cole has created however there was for me, far too much going on and many interesting ideas were never fully explored. I have heard rumours that there might be a fourth book on the way that will run parallel to the events of Breach Zone which would be very welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant finale!, 19 April 2014
By 
Mr. Gareth I. Davies "giddig" (Dudley, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breach Zone (Shadow Ops) (Paperback)
I loved the first two parts to this magic meets military series so was very keen to read this. I was in no way disappointed by this third part. If it is the last in the series it is a very satisfying conclusion with plenty of the military and magical terms that are a part of its universe. The pace is still pleasingly fast. The characters may be a little stereotypical but are used so well it's hard not to feel the sense of camaraderie Myke Cole communicates so well. I am afraid to talk about the plot at all really for fear of spoiling it so please just make sure you have read the previous two first as they are superb fun. Myke Cole has established a universe much like in X-men and Heroes but with the idea of how magic/powers might be used practically by some authorities, abused by some and how science may search to understand it all. I would happily read more adventures in the established universe and characters if they were to continue the series. This would be perfect for a film or TV adaptation. Maybe even a graphic novel adaptation. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breach Zone (Shadow Ops) (Paperback)
I bought this for my partner who couldn't put down the first two books and this one has been no different. Excellent plot, well written and engaging from the start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Villains are made, not born, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Chantal Lyons "C.S. Lyons" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breach Zone (Shadow Ops) (Paperback)
The Shadow Ops trilogy comes to a climatic and satisfying end with 'Breach Zone', and is definitely Cole's best yet.

The book is almost pure action, focusing on one big battle, but there's enough of a cast keeping busy in enough places to maintain the reader's interest, while interjecting here and there with a powerful backstory on the trilogy's main antagonist - Scylla. In fact, it's the backstory that really made this book for me.

There is no black and white in 'Breach Zone'. Even using the word 'villain' sounds problematic here. Beyond her devastating magical ability, Scylla hadn't made much of an impression on me in the fist two books. But now Cole gives us the woman she was before she turned up Latent, and the tragic web of events that created the eventual monster. It was almost hard to read because I expected Scylla to lose, but her reasoning was so understandable. All you want is peace for her.

A lot of reviewers for Book I of the trilogy really didn't like Oscar Britton, and I urge those people to give the other books a go - Britton shares the stage with Bookbinder (my favourite 'good guy') in Book II, and in Book III, he pretty much takes a back-seat till near the end. Harlequin takes centre stage in 'Breach Zone', and he's more than capable of carrying the book.

Great characters wouldn't mean much if the actual writing and the setting weren't good, but there are no problems in this regard. Cole's world(s) are crazily inventive, an LSD mix of mythical creatures, magic and human technology. I'm assuming the giant spiders are a tribute to Tolkien. One aspect that particularly impresses me is how the author manages to write so many battles without a sense of repetition to the descriptions of people wielding their magic (something I think I struggle with in my own writing). It helps that the spacing between the books has been about right (not too short, not too long), but it also reflects Cole's skill. And there are moments of true horror, maliciously described.

Although this is the trilogy's end, there seems to be plenty of potential for more forays into Cole's world. Even if they don't happen, consider me happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Explosive military fantasy with an idiosyncratic twist of sci-fi, 9 Feb 2014
This review is from: Breach Zone (Shadow Ops) (Paperback)
Having read Shadow Ops book 1 and been blown-away by such a remarkable, extraordinarily original new series I was incredibly excited to read this!

Myke Cole does not disappoint as Breach Zone was <u>even more</u> electrifying, even more suspenseful and especially unique. The merging together of eclectic, edgy Urban Fantasy with a futuristic, science-fiction feel to it is inspired and like no other series I have encountered. Masterfully crafted and written with such imaginative vision and intensity this book keeps you turning the pages and wanting to read on. Satisfying, thrilling and undeniably magnificent I was once again greatly impressed by this scintillating saga and mind-blowing volatile world.

*New* to shadow ops book 3 is the incorporation of magic as many of those with newfound powers are conscripted by the US Army. The divide between reality and illusory I found reminiscent of `The Matrix' as at times I was so transfixed and taken-in by the cleverly crafted plot and ingenuity of the narrative that it seemed almost too authentic. The writing was so compelling and so clever that I was instantly drawn back into this remarkable world with the dramatic, climatic ending as a perfect conclusion to a spectacular story.

*I won a copy of Shadow Ops {book 3} : Breach Zone by Myke Cole through a Goodreads, first-read giveaway *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breach Zone (Shadow Ops)
Breach Zone (Shadow Ops) by Myke Cole (Paperback - 28 Jan 2014)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews