Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great
great author his books has kept my imagination going loved it. . . . . . . . . .
Published 15 months ago by Paul Drakley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Assumed the reader had not read Book 1, so first 5 chapters were boring. After that, the plot improved and it achieved the 3*s
Assumed the reader had not read Book 1, so first 5 chapters were boring. After that, the plot improved and it achieved the 3*s
Published 4 months ago by R M Veale


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great author his books has kept my imagination going loved it. . . . . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fortress Frontier (Shadow Ops 2), 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was concerned that this wouldn't live up to the first book, but it did! A really good plot and excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book, great characterisation. plot twists and and a well thought out magic system. If you like fantasy then try it you won't be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty!, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The focus has shifted characters in this chapter. That might have put me off but in this case it allows the story to run as a counterpoint to the events in Control Point. I knew this author wouldn't let me down.
Good read especially for fans of sci-fi or roleplay games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Hooah!", 1 Feb 2013
This review is from: Fortress Frontier (Shadow Ops 2) (Paperback)
Following up an excellent debut novel is always going to be hard! Myke Coles first offering
Control Point (Shadow Ops 1) was awesome! The premise, the characters, the writing!
He set the bar pretty damn high!
It's Myke Coles unique Military background that make this such a compelling and convincing read!
If you've already read the first book then you won't need my opinion before buying this book,
but if you haven't then I strongly suggest buying both books and I hope you enjoy the ride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Strange New World, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fortress Frontier (Shadow Ops 2) (Paperback)
Bookbinder, the main protagonist in this story, is a high ranking officer in the US Army. However, he has spent his career as a paper pusher rather than as an officer in action. When he starts displaying latent magical abilities it is quite a shock when he is inducted into the Supernatural Operations Corps and is assigned to a Forward Operating Base in a world in another dimension. It is even more of a shock when he finds himself in charge. Can Bookbinder rise to the occasion?

The reader quickly gets into the groove of this strange new world where some individuals have magical abilities and one becomes familiar with aeromancers, hydromancers, portomancers et al. About a hundred pages in we switch to a different scenario where an apparent criminal has made an escape from the Base. This is where it all lost me a bit as I am sure that it must pick up from the previous book in the series which I have not read so for a while there was quite a lot going on which I did not entirely understand. However, the book did get back on track and was quite an absorbing read as it progressed.

I do not particularly like long drawn out endings where every conceivable loose end is tied up but, for my taste, perhaps the end ing here was a bit abrupt and may have benefited from a little fleshing out. However, for all that it was an interesting and enjoyable read and I am inclined to put the next in the series on my reading list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great continuation, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Chantal Lyons (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress Frontier (Shadow Ops 2) (Paperback)
Fortress Frontier grips you from the beginning, and the fast pace doesn't let up. The previous book, Control Point, had its flaws; principally the yo-yoing between mindsets of Oscar Britton, the main character. It helps that in Fortress Frontier, Bookbinder, a new character and the focus for a large portion of the novel, is much more likeable and easy to root for.

The fantasy element goes up a notch in the second novel, and this isn't a bad thing as the author handles it well (think snakes. Big snakes). But the key strength that both novels share is the clash and fusion of magic and technology - where else can you read about rocs sparring with helicopters?! It makes for endlessly fun reading and put a smile on my face at the epic-ness of it all more than once.

It's a testament to the novel that I was really disappointed to have come to the end of it, but I liked how one of the main arcs from Control Point had its resolution, with a few hanging threads left to whet the appetite for the next instalment.

As a stand-alone novel, I'm not quite sure it works. Although those who read the previous book will be as unfamiliar with Bookbinder as new readers, once the POV switches back to Oscar Britton there isn't much of a fill-in. So I recommend reading Control Point before this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Urban Military Fantasy, 1 Feb 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fortress Frontier (Shadow Ops 2) (Paperback)
OK, I spend quite a bit of time jumping between genres but one title that grabbed me last year was Myke Cole's Control Point where he brought Urban Fantasy and the Military into one blend of high tension, hard fought action adventure that took you in a completely bizarre and yet unique direction. As with the first the second continues following this vein with the addition of a new character that took another aspect of the tale in a different direction.

The story is sharp, has some rough edges but all the while maintained your interest with some snappy comebacks and of course a plot that just wouldn't let go of your mind after you'd put it down for the night. Add to this some reasonable prose a wonderful turn of phrase backed up with solid characterisations and all round it was a satisfactory read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent follow-up, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the first book and I loved this book too. Imaginative and well thought out, can't wait to read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping read, 2 May 2014
By 
Simon (Chorley, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful second book can't wait to read book three.
The action really races with surprising twists and turns. Love the mashup with urban fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fortress Frontier (Shadow Ops 2)
Fortress Frontier (Shadow Ops 2) by Myke Cole (Paperback - 31 Jan 2013)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews