Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dismas Hardy yay!
So, after what felt like a long wait to me, I started reading The Ophelia Cut and realised quite early on that here was Dismas Hardy, rocking the reading world once again. I love a good legal thriller and Dismas Hardy, along with Steve Martini's Paul Madriani are two of my favourite literary lawyers. In this outing, his niece Brittany is raped and Dismas finds himself in...
Published 15 months ago by Liz Wilkins

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good Dismas Hardy story beset by past history
I have loved all the Dismas hardy books, for their good story lines, excellent court scenes and the warmth and humour written into the main characters.

All these are here again, but the book is dominated by what I consider the author's one mistake - making his heroes vigilantes in a previous novel. They have a terrible secret, and I think the aftermath of this...
Published 14 months ago by Tony Pethen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dismas Hardy yay!, 12 Jun 2013
By 
Liz Wilkins "Lizzy11268" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So, after what felt like a long wait to me, I started reading The Ophelia Cut and realised quite early on that here was Dismas Hardy, rocking the reading world once again. I love a good legal thriller and Dismas Hardy, along with Steve Martini's Paul Madriani are two of my favourite literary lawyers. In this outing, his niece Brittany is raped and Dismas finds himself in defence of Brittany's father Moses, standing accused of the murder of the rapist. With past events threatening to come to light, this is a race against time to save Moses and to ensure the future safety of Dismas and his friends.

As usual it is brilliantly written. This is, I believe, the 14th outing for Mr Hardy in his own right and the standard has not slipped - indeed if anything it has improved with each story. Dismas is not young now but he is still impressive in stature and intelligence. Mr Lescroart explores family here - not only blood family but the family we create for ourselves as we move through life. Over the course of all the Hardy novels, these relationships have developed, changed and if you read them all will become almost like your own. Other novels follow other major characters and as a whole, this authors catalogue is magnificent - A whole life story for Mr Hardy and those that surround him. Anyone who has followed them all will LOVE "The Ophelia Cut" - there is nothing bad here. If you have yet to enjoy these books, I would recommend reading them in order - Dead Irish is the first - and I promise you will very quickly catch up because one will follow another. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Dismas delight!, 21 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's four years since the last book featuring Dismas Hardy in the main role. Well worth waiting for, "The Ophelia Cut" is a brilliant legal thriller in true Lescroart style and quality. It may be a bit different from the other books in this series inasmuch as it includes most of Hardy's closest friends and family also in the very thick of it. And doesn't all life's occurences, not at least when it touches the law, strike very much differently when it happens close to home...

I shall not go into the synopsis, only emphasize that the book has got it all. Crime, suspense, politics, Federal protection program as well as the whole register of human feelings; love, friendship, family, faith, doubt, anger, frustration.... "The Ophelia Cut" has got it all.

There are lots of details which might easily have become tedious had not the author had this blessed gift for story telling and making people come alive. For me, and I suppose everybody who have read all his books, Dismas Hardy and his family, friends and colleagues in San Francisco are by now like old and dear friends. This book gives enough information to make it stand alone for new readers, however, I would recommend to at least read "The First Law" before this one. It contains important background information for "The Ophelia Cut".

John Lescroart does not only write about the law, the police, lawyers and politics. All the stories in his books contain real people, beautifully characterized and so easy to feel close to. To those who are new to this author, I recommend all his work warmly. Lots of wonderful reading hours await you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another quality story from John Lescroart. He again keeps up a consistently high quality story line with well formed characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting, 3 Feb 2014
Through The Ophelia Cult, John Lescroart once again proved his mastery of the thriller genre. The quality of the plot, the depth of the characters and pace of the story made the reading The Ophelia Cult a pleasurable experience. Smooth writing, fabulous descriptions, amazing dialogue and gripping pacing. Like Triple Agent Double Cross, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, or The Kite Runner, it kept me going until the final page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lescroart does it again!, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ophelia Cut (Dismas Hardy) (Paperback)
Excellent story with loads of tension. Thought Lescroart slightly missed an opportunity for Dismas and his friends-in-arms to bring closure to their dilemma, hoping that the plot would lead to laying the blame firmly at the door of an underground Mafiosa gang. Ah well, we'll have to continue to worry about them getting found out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ophelia Cut (Dismas Hardy) (Paperback)
I have read most of the authors work and this is a different approach but nevertheless it is very good. Moses will be missed but perhaps he's better off away from his daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIRST CLASS, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the great benefits of owning a Kindle is the ability to graze and try lots of titles that you would otherwise miss out on. I have been able to read lots of thrillers by writers I had not previously heard of, some good others not so. Then comes a new book by one of the masters of the genre. John Lescroart has returned to his roots and the characters he and we know best and the Ophelia Cut is a beautifully written, multilayered mystery whose secrets are gradually unveiled as the plot develops.

I was totally engrossed and this is one of the most engaging and satisfying books I have read this year. Wonderful stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LOOSE LIPS SINK CAREERS, 7 May 2013
By 
Red Rock Bookworm (St. George Utah USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ophelia Cut (Hardcover)
As an undeniable fan of legal thrillers, I was definitely intrigued by the premise of John Lescroart's latest entry into his Dismas Hardy series, THE OPHELIA CUT. This time the San Francisco based legal eagle finds himself in a murder case that involves family members and a plot guaranteed to keep new readers paying close attention as they follow the many connecting threads. Some regular readers of this series may be a bit put off by what could be perceived as unnecessary back-story, but for those experiencing their first introduction to Dismas Hardy, Moses McGuire, Gina Roarke, Abe Glitsky and the gang, it is absolutely necessary to recall the personal relationships and incriminating secrets that these folks share. Who they are and how they react to the current dilemma is based on their common history.

What is great about the Dismas Hardy books is not the characterizations or even the tough moral dilemmas these deeply human characters, who are very much like ourselves, face but the fact that even when the action is verbal and not physical it is still engaging. Lescroart mixes up a cocktail of crooked cops, backroom deals, alcoholism, murder, federal witness protection, rape, vigilante justice, ingenious courtroom gymnastics and general social commentary and serves it up in a measured narrative that delivers page turning excitement.

As legal thrillers go, this is one of the better offerings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent complex legal thriller, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good story though rather too long the plot is well developed for 95 per cent of the way. I did not like the epilogue which seems to have been added to provide the book's title and think the prologue is misleading, which is why I give 4 stars not 5.
I recommend not reading the prologue you will follow the plot better without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lescroart at his best! Absorbed until the last, 16 Aug 2014
By 
S. Lawson (wilts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ophelia Cut (Dismas Hardy) (Paperback)
Lescroart at his best!Absorbed until the last page
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ophelia Cut (Dismas Hardy)
The Ophelia Cut (Dismas Hardy) by John Lescroart (Paperback - 21 Nov 2013)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews