Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a ride!
This was the first of Lisa Gardner's books that I have read, but I will definitely be looking out for more from this author. "Love you More" is a gripping thriller, set in New England that will probably appeal to anyone who enjoys the works of Linwood Barclay or Harlan Coben.

The book has two female protagonists, there's Tessa Leoni a Police Trooper who has,...
Published on 12 Jun 2011 by Angel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not her usual
Love Lisa Gardner books but was not impressed by this story. Very far fetched and the main character was more like superwoman. Disappointed as all her other books are brilliant.
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a ride!, 12 Jun 2011
By 
Angel - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love You More (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This was the first of Lisa Gardner's books that I have read, but I will definitely be looking out for more from this author. "Love you More" is a gripping thriller, set in New England that will probably appeal to anyone who enjoys the works of Linwood Barclay or Harlan Coben.

The book has two female protagonists, there's Tessa Leoni a Police Trooper who has, it appears shot her husband Brian with her own weapon, and D.D Warren, the detective on her day off who is called in to take on the case for two reasons; one she's a woman and tow the crime involves one of the Police's own. Why is Tessa strangely unwilling to co-operate so that the Police can find her 6 year old daughter Julia who has gone missing at the same time her step father has been shot? Can Tessa have committed even worse crimes? What follows is a finely crafted and pacey story with lots of twists and turns that is well worth the read.

I thought that the author did a good job creating characters that the reader could relate to, both main women were, in their different ways strong women facing the kind of issues women face; at the start of the book DD believes that she might be pregnant and is surprised at the feelings and issues this raises. There's enough focus on this to make her seem believable, without detracting from the story. Tessa too is a more complex and interesting character than you first believe, as is revealed through the book.

That's not to say that with the emphasis on female characters this is a feminist book or of no interest to male readers - this is a thriller pure and simply which is well written and a good read. This won't appeal to anyone who is easily offended by strong language or who doesn't like American settings, but to me, this is a book that, within its genre is as good as any I have read, and on that basis I am happy to recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put it on your 'to read' list!, 28 Mar 2011
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love You More (Hardcover)
Lisa Gardner's release prior to this one was entitled `Live To Tell' and if I am being 100% honest it wasn't my favourite of her books. There was a certain element of `supernatural' to that book and it just didn't sit right with me. Thankfully, she has returned to her former glory of producing a fantastic crime novel featuring DD Warren.

DD Warren is featured in a series of books and this latest book is number 5 in the series. Detective D.D Warren is a very headstrong woman working in a predominantly male environment. She is a tough, no-nonsense woman who seems to fluctuate between doing the right thing the legal way, and doing the right thing the illegal way. In the last book Live to Tell it seemed like DD had become this sex-starved workaholic. There was a certain element of believability about it but it seemed a little harsh for even her to become that bad. In this latest book she seems to have finally settled back to her normal self, with thankfully a man on the horizon. As well as DD being part of a murder case and missing child's case, she also has her own personal issues to tackle which make for a great thread which can be continued on to the next book.

DD is paired up with her ex-loved Bobby Dodge on a strange murder case. Brian Darby is found dead on his kitchen floor. His wife Tessa Leoni is a state police trooper and is claiming to have shot him in self-defence. It should be a simple self-defence case but Tessa's six year old daughter Sophie is missing. DD and Bobby soon become aware that this case is a little out of the ordinary. They are also aware that with a 6 year old child missing the clock is ticking.

Tessa has her own secrets and as such you see and hear from her as her story begins with walking into her kitchen that fateful night. Lisa Gardner has produced an outstanding book. Tessa is absolutely brilliant and you understand that this is written with the sheer though of how far you would go for your child.

The story is set into two parts that of DD and Bobby chasing the murder trail and Tessa trying to keep one step ahead the whole time. As usual I started out at a relatively sedate pace but soon couldn't help but keep reading. The ending came as a shock (which is always nice) and as Lisa Gardner is famous for, her crime scene descriptions and gruesome murders are very descriptive. Set in harsh Boston winter I felt like I was literally running behind them ain the snow, this book was an absolute corker and I was so pleased that the author has also given us the added bonus of a new dimension for the character for the next book.

This is a brilliant book which I loved and I cannot imagine any crime fan not enjoying it. Fast paced, with lots of twists in the plot, it never stands still for a minute. Get out there and grab yourself a copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love you More Lisa Gardner, 31 Aug 2011
This review is from: Love You More (Hardcover)
This was the first book by Lisa Gardner I have read and I was utterly gripped. I am now totally addicted and have been working my way through all her other books. Her characters are believable and her stories speed along in a mix between Linwood Barclay and Karin Slaughter.You need to read these!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeps you interested and more!, 28 Aug 2011
This review is from: Love You More (Hardcover)
This is not usually my kind of book but I thought I'd give it a try after hearing Lisa Gardner speak at a signing. The story is very good on character, background and voice. It is a thriller and has plenty of brutality and mystery in it, but it is the detail of people's lives that really keep you interested. The plot is well constructed and is based around a variety of voices giving you clues that keep you guessing. I liked this style very much. I also liked the characters - it was good to see how they behaved when the going got tough and we certainly get to see that. Some brilliant set pieces. For me, the prison scenes are electric! Well done. It is obviously thoroughly researched. Not my usual thing, but I will read more. She's a talented and versatile writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unreliable narrator - what is she hiding?, 30 Nov 2011
By 
Boof (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love You More (Hardcover)
I have been a fan of Lisa Gardner's books for a while now, but for some reason she doesn't seem to be as well known in the UK as other crime writers. I hope that changes soon as her books really are great! I am especially loving this series starring Detective D.D. Warren who is one of Boston's top homicide Detectives.

Love You More is a gripping thriller that opens with State Tropper Tessa Leoni being arrested for the murder of her husband and the disappearance of her 6 year old daughter. Tessa's narrative takes the reader back and forth through her relationship with Brian and their last moments together and it becomes clear early on that she may not be a reliable narrator, as her story often changes, but why does she do this? The reason does become apparant nearer the end - and it's a good one! Interspersing Tessa's story is Detective D. D. Warren and her race to find missing six-year-old Sophie. D.D. is a great character - she's fiesty, funny (without trying) and kick-ass; I love her. The switching between the two perspectives keeps the plot fast-paced and interesting too, espcially as you are wondering who to believe most of the time.

Verdict: As with all the previous books of Gardner that I have read, this one is equally as addictive and has twists and turns a-plenty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable crime thriller, 9 Jun 2011
By 
Alison "runninggirlcycling" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love You More (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The book begins a cryptic flashback - a man in asking some strange questions, "Who do you love?" and demanding a gun to be handed over. The description is patchy, who is in the room, who has Tessa's 6-year old daughter, then someone begins to shoot. What is going on? It's a gripping start and I was hooked in right away. The chapters then alternate between the third person perspective of Sergeant Detective D.D. Warren and the first person perspective of police trooper Tessa Leoni. I enjoyed the switch in perspectives; it keeps the story and plot interesting.

Everything is not as it seems and the need to find out what is going on keeps the pages flicking over. The author works this approach well, when I wasn't actually reading the book it often crossed my mind; what is going on??! D.D. discovers new clues and evidence which change what you know and then Tessa reveals new elements which also move the story onwards. In some ways the plot is far-fetched, but the last pages of the book tie everything together very nicely and with a little creative license allowed I enjoyed the book a lot.

The only downside about the book is that there is a lot of American specific language and abbreviations to do with police work and law enforcement. Most of the time this is straightforward to follow but there are some confusing and less obvious abbreviations that are not so easy to follow. If you are used to reading US police fiction then this may not be an issue for you but sometimes I was left feeling confused.

Overall a really enjoyable crime thriller with some great plot twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 25 Mar 2011
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love You More (Hardcover)
So far this year, this book has to be in pole position as the best crime thriller of the year.

I haven't read all Lisa Gardenr's books but those that I have, I have enjoyed. This one, however, seems even better.

It is written from two perspectives: the one following the investigation of a possible double murder written in the third person and the other, written in the first person, from the perspective of the so-called guilty party.

Once you realise how this book is structured, it is almost impossible to put down. Regular fans of the author will know D.D.Warren and her partner and ex-lover Bobby Dodge from Boston PD. She is a hard case supposedly but she meets her match when State Trooper Tessa Leoni is the one accused of the double murder.

The author's ability to introduce little pieces of extra information as to how Leoni got to be in the position she is works extremely well, for it makes the reader realise that little by little just maybe not all is what it seems.

Then, as we learn even more, it becomes all too apparent that Warren and Dodge have got it wrong and Tessa Leoni has a much different story to tell - and to deal with. It is of great credit to the author that the book builds up the suspense, whilst leaving the reader still wondering just what took place at the scene of the crime. When an earlier crime is also judged to have been badly handled by the police, it is Leoni's past that points the way forward and that, once again, the victim has to do her own dirty work.

Leoni is the prime character in this book even if that were not the author's intention. D.D. has her own domestic problems though, thankfully and as a welcome change, her partner seems happily married. Whether Leoni will re-appear seems unlikely but stranger events take place in the fictional world of make-believe.

I really enjoyed this book. It grips from the beginning and doesn't let the reader out of its clutches until the last few pages and then, when reflecting on the storyline, you realise what a superb book this is. So well crafted, much character devlopment, excellent dialogue and plenty of action. Even the police work seems entertaining!

If you read only one crime thriller this year, make it this one. It's a pity only 5 stars are allowed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful Thriller, But Don't Need Gynecology While Wondering Whodunit, 14 Jun 2011
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love You More (Paperback)
"Love You More," is a new psychological thriller/police procedural/mystery. It's the latest in the Boston, Massachusetts-set D.D. Warren series, apparently the fifth, and comes to us from best-selling author Lisa Gardner; it appears to be her 12th book, of which I've read the Oregon-based thriller Alone in another of her series, and the most recent D.D. Warren police procedural, Live to Tell. It centers on Warren, a Detective Sergeant with the Boston Police Department, and another highly-motivated female cop, Massachusetts State Trooper Tessa Leoni.

The book opens as Trooper Leoni has apparently killed her abusive husband Brian Darby with her service gun, a Sig Sauer. Leoni claims to have shot him in self-defence, and she has some pretty serious bruising and broken bones to back up her contention. Furthermore, her six-year old daughter Sophie is missing. Warren, who finds herself pregnant by a new lover, and forced to partner with former lover Trooper Bobby Dodge, considers it a straightforward case, and suspects Sophie may be dead, possibly also at her mother's hands. She charges Leoni with murder, sends her to jail, and initiates a statewide search for little Sophie. Meanwhile, Leoni will try every trick in the cops' handbook, in which she's been instructed during her training four years previously, as she privately follows her own course of action, to what she believes must be done.

Gardner, who won the 2010 International Thriller Award for Best Hardcover, does powerful work in giving us a wintry Boston: its weather, its roads and traffic, what its snow-bound residents will munch upon. She's a strong writer, truthfully: enjoyable, suspenseful narrative, descriptive, dialog, well-drawn characters: she deserves her best-seller status. And in LOVE YOU MORE, thankfully, she spares us the special pleading and supernatural folderol that marred LIVE TO TELL for me. Finally, in this book her plot starts out strong, and seems quite original. At least I don't believe I've read anything like it before. Yet, somehow, she ends up with the predictable villain, whom I'd guessed half-way through. Granted, I'm a heavy mystery reader, but this guess sure didn't take much effort on my part. I also found the author's focus upon fecundity, pregnancy, childbirth and children to be a bit repetitive, and just too gynecological. I've enjoyed many a female-oriented mystery, but don't see any need to get into female plumbing while wondering whodunit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love You More, 25 May 2011
By 
book fan (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Love You More (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lisa Gardner always turns out consistantly good novels and this latest release "Love You More" is no exception. Since her first novel written when she was about twenty, she has climbed the crime fiction ladder to become, I believe the Queen of Suspense. If you haven't yet read anything by her, but love thrillers by such as Karin Slaughter, then you would know the kind of novel to expect, also I think she bears comparison to Harlen Coben with the way her plots develop, which is a good thing. This book starts with state police trooper Tessa Leoni shooting dead her husband on the kitchen floor, she claims it was self defence and she is covered in bruises so it could well be true, but where is their six year old daughter Sophie? She has disappeared and Tessa doesn't seem to have any idea where she is. Did her dead husband Brian have anything to with it? Detective D.D. Warren and her former lover Bobby Dodge, both well known from some of Lisa's previous books are assigned to the case and soon become embroiled in the family secrets from Tessa's past. It soon becomes clear as the story progresses, that Tessa had a deeply disturbing past, but she truly loved her husband, so what went wrong? Also everything is not as it seems in this tale. Lisa has written here another heart stopping page turner that grips like a vice, you'll not be able rest until the last word and this is the way she always writes, her novels are full of fantastic, emotional storylines that deliver every time. I strongly recommend this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love You More (Detective D.D. Warren 5) (Paperback)
as new, quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love You More (Detective D.D. Warren 5)
Love You More (Detective D.D. Warren 5) by Lisa Gardner (Paperback - 2 Feb 2012)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews