Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised
Ok so I have read all Anita books, the beginning of the series was amazing but over time the story has become very sexualised and at times repetitive. I guess I read the stories as I do like Anita, Jean Claude, Micah and my most favourite Nathaniel.

This book linked back to Anita doing her job and I liked that, the sex was toned down which let laurel write a...
Published 23 months ago by Showgirl

versus
58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The end of the line
I must start this review by admitting that I only got half through before giving up in total horror but I can sum up that first half in just three words: Utterly boring drivel!

This novel is a long list of Character Bios and little else, or at least the first half is. From what other reviewers have said the second half is mostly sex scenes and it was midway...
Published on 14 Jun. 2012 by Andromeda's Twin


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The end of the line, 14 Jun. 2012
I must start this review by admitting that I only got half through before giving up in total horror but I can sum up that first half in just three words: Utterly boring drivel!

This novel is a long list of Character Bios and little else, or at least the first half is. From what other reviewers have said the second half is mostly sex scenes and it was midway through the first of those that I gave up. The sex doesn't bother me, I rather enjoy it in other books, it all just seems too clinical from LKH. It reads more like a list of instructions rather than a sex scene. (So it seems to me).

The breakfast scene 'back at the ranch' after super Anita killed the 'bad guys' (and mused much on her own monster'ness' on her way home) was sooooooooooooooooooo boring I almost gave up there and then. Everybody bickering over who gets to hug and kiss Anita first! OMG! It could have been written by a 5 year old. The first sex scene develops after they all enjoy their yummy breakfast so I really could have stopped with the bickering children and wish I had.

The main theme of this book is Anita bemoaning her situation and rethinking everything in her head: Should she do something, why did she do something, maybe she's overthinking it, sure she is but that's not her fault, it's everybody else, they are all so jealous of her, blah blah blah.

If you have been bored by this review then I would recommend that you skip 'Kiss The Dead' because my review is totally riveting in comparison to LKH's latest horror!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bland and blah, 28 Aug. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "Lady Alicia" (Belfast, Norn Ireland, or my head, no ones quite sure...) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiss the Dead (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 21) (Hardcover)
I keep doing the stupid thing of hoping that the Anita Blake books will get good again or even get back to not being train wrecks of porn, porn fight, complicated emotions, porn fight, fight and maybe some porn. Every time I'm disapppointed. That kinda makes me the fool I fear for continuing to buy these books when there are better ones out there.
I finished the book in about four hours and can honestly say, I have no wish to read it again which I used to get with the Anita Blake books.
Anita is now standing up for vampire and lycanthrope rights and is still being the monster for everyone, Ahhh poor girl. And even though I've just put down the book I can't think of much more to say. The plot of ANOTHER bad vamp in town has been done so many times now its getting hackneyed.
Please Ms Hamilton either get something new into the mix or just leave it, I don't think I will be buying another of your books, and frankly wouldn't reccomend anything above book 8 to anyone wanting a decent novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps it is time for Anita to say goodbye or for Hamilton to start a new series..., 14 Jun. 2012
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss the Dead (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 21) (Hardcover)
Maybe it is time for the Anita Blake books to either take a different turn in the road or Hamilton should consider laying her to rest. It is almost as if the author doesn't want to say goodbye to the characters, because they mean so much to her.
How about a side series with just one of the characters?
Anyway despite being an avid reader of the Blake books I have been underwhelmed with the last few offerings. Some of them have been very short. This story is repetitive and lacks Hamiltons original spark.

Although there are glimpses of the original feisty vampire hunter unfortunately they are lost between the usual 'think, think, think' dilemmas Blake usually has.
You would think by now, book 21 she would have figured out whether she is indeed a monster or just a monster killer. She spreads so much loving around it is a wonder the woman can stand up in the mornings. Although saying that there are less naughty scenes than usual.
Where is Olaf? He is one of the most oddball interesting characters and I believe Skin Trade (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 17) was one of the best in the series.
I like Hamilton and her creative ideas, so I will still buy her next offering. I just hope she will either clean the slate and start fresh with a new concept or take Anita back to the vampire hunter we love to read about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No more Anita Blake for me, 19 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I very rarely read books with a female protagonist because for some unknown reason, authors can never get it right. The character is usually so unlikeable/unsympathetic and antagonistic, which some authors seem to mistake as 'fiery, fiesty' that I find it hard to believe that every male in the book would find her attractive let alone intriguing or interesting. I never do and I have even more insight into the character as I get the privilege of reading her inner monologue, yea, which is filled with all sorts of idiocy.

Enter Anita Blake. From around Book 7, this turned into a series about a short, angry, half Mexican woman (this description of Blake is given repeatedly) who:
*has sex with and metaphysically bonds with lycanthropic and vampiric heartthrobs
*and feels bad about having sex
*then makes her peace with having sex by falling in love with the heartthrobs
*but feels like she can't love all the heartthrobs
*but then questions whether they love her or the aurdor/odor
*but then decides they love her but she can't love them
*but then ...

You get the picture. If it annoys you reading my description, think how you'd feel reading the book! I'm more annoyed with myself as I should have given up long ago on buying these books and not given this author my money. This is my last Anita Blake book.

Shame that a good series turned out so badly. But as my mum always says, if you don't like something, vote with your feet. So, I'm walking away from this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointment, 21 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Kiss the Dead (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 21) (Hardcover)
I've been reading Hamilton's books since I was 16 years old. Since then I bought all of them and waited eagerly for a new book to come out. Unfortunately, things have changed drastically.

The last few books she wrote weren't awful, but I believe Hamilton lost her touch. There was still some action and the battle between good and evil kept me reading. Some books had waaaaay too much sex as others didn't have enough, but that wasn't what bothered me. I still liked those books. Kiss of the Dead, however, was a disappointment.

Hamilton is known for her long descriptions of the characters and I didn't mind in the least, but in this book it looks like she had a lack of inspiration, often repeating herself and mentioning things we have heard at least several times in former books. The character of Anita Blake has changed drastically from the monogamous girl to the polygamous, bisexual sex addict (I get it, it's all because of the Arduer). I get the idea you can love several men, but in every book more and more men get into her bed and whenever she's with one of them, you just know a sex scene is coming up. The main characters the series started with are dragged to the background and we didn't even see Richard (not that I'm a Richard fan, but still...)

The thing that bothered me the most was the lack of story. In Hit List the mother of darkness was defeated and that should have been the end of it. Kiss the Dead is about vampires who want to live free like normal humans and just go on a killing spree as if that's the human thing to do. Anita Blake comes to the rescue and I admit there is some action, but I merely kept on reading in hopes something more interesting could happen. Then the scenes where she was at home with her sweeties were just utterly boring. And I mean boooooring!

I'll still buy Hamilton's books, just to support her and to know what will happen, but perhaps it's time to put a stop to Anita and focus on Merry Gentry or a new character. I love Hamilton's work but 21 books about one character is just too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This time it's "cashing in!", 16 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Kiss the Dead (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 21) (Hardcover)
The last 5 or 6 Anita books have been poor, let's face it. However, I keep thinking of the early books, the great and exciting story lines, and there I go again and buy the next one in hope of something worth reading. Well I'm afraid that's it. Ms Hamilton won't be getting any more of my hard-earned money. Soulless, unexciting, more of the same, never write a sentence when 8 pages of boring technical detail will do (particulary the exceptionally un-erotic sex scenes). Whatever happened to the author who wrote that initial fabulous scene of Anita and Jean-Claude finally getting it on in his bath - wow?!! Anita has had her day and I'm afraid that Ms Hamilton has run out of steam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother........no really don't, 3 Jan. 2013
I'v read all the Anita blake books. Loved the early stuff, liked the midway stuff and just tolerated the drivel that has been the latest stuff but this one will definately be the last Anita book I buy. Put simply it was utter crap that lacked any real story what so ever. It was however full of the rubbish that Hamilton seems so fond of padding these books out with these days....Anita putting herself down, Anita bigging herself up, cringy sex scenes and a boat load of mardy whinging.....don't waste your time or money, I know I won't be anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than some, worse than others., 9 May 2013
By 
Carl Mawson "Phoenix heart" (Worksop) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have read every entry in the Anita Blake series, through its ups and downs. Despite some poor reviews, this isn't the worst book in the series. The sex (always a controversial subject in the series), although still there, is not as prominent as it was a few books ago. Sadly, Anita's personal angst raises its head once again - how someone can be this insecure in their life and relationships and yet still be hugely successful and popular makes my brain hurt.

There is some great stuff here - the opening chapters, with the hunt for some (more!) rogue vampires playing out very well. Hamilton should definitely pair Anita up on cases with Zebrowski more often (although ditching the repeated reminders of how Anita is just 'one of the guys' would be advisable) as they make for a good team and the new Marshall, Brice, is well written - although, given how easily Anita accepts him I half expected him to be a plant/double agent. Teaming up Anita's necromancy with a sniper worked brilliantly. There are some solid ideas in evidence here, let down by another "rogue vampires? Again?!" bad guy.

And then Anita goes home and suddenly we're smack bang in the middle of Eastenders with fur and fangs. Now, I understand the need for it, Hamilton painted herself into a corner several books back and all of that preternatural baggage can't just be abandoned. But just as she establishes that Anita is mastering - or at least controlling - things like the ardeur she promptly throws another spanner in to the machinery. The drama needs to be toned down, it detracts from the first section of the book.

Then suddenly, after several sex scenes, the action lands back on the doorstep with a heavy thump. Once again, we get a nice use of Anita's powers and her connection to the men in her life to save the day. It builds up wonderfully and the chapter ends on a dramatic cliffhanger - and then we get a chapter that is, I kid you not, one and a half pages long and amounts to a bunch of were's jumping on the bad guy, Anita rushing over and shooting him in the head. We then get another of the patented Hamilton Information Dumps in place of actual story development/pay off and some more personal drama.

The police stuff works really really well but, once again, the increasingly tedious personal life stuff bogs it down. You could easily tear out about a third of the book and you would miss nothing relevant to the story. As a writer that should be a wake up call (and one to your publishers too!) to make you assess your writing.

So, a mixed bag. Some great action, some tedious relationship blathering. A nice, middle of the road score seems suitable for a middle of the road offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lost without a map!, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought the first Anita Blake books were fantastic - fast paced page turners. As the characters became established and more of the plot was opening up I was very exited to see where Hamilton would take it all.
Nowhere, would seem to be the answer!
I had hoped we'd meet Belle Morte after all that build up about how lethal and powerful she is, and her desperation to reclaim Jean Claude and Asher. But she's just dropped off the radar. Along with all the members of the Vampire Council, who I thought would be the central antagonists. Nope, they haven't been killed, but even though they feel threatened by Jean Claude and the triumvirate, they've gone all hush hush. What the hell is that about?
Then of course there's the suggestion in previous books that Valentina will go on a big torture spree at any minute . . . nothing! Another damp squib is Gretchin. I had hoped her obsessive violent tendancies might need to be "dealt with" - but she's also quietly playing nice now, I can only assume.
Why is Edward all of a sudden becoming so emotional as well? Not to mention Anita herself, who bursts into tears at the drop of a hat now but still thinks she's a bad ass. Unlikely, Blake!
And when does she ever fulfill her duties as Lupa and Bolverk? Or Nimir Ra for that matter?
And why hasn't her necromancy been explored more? That's what gives her her edge in the first place isn't it?
Where is Ethan? Where the hell did London disappear to? He's perfect food for the Ardeur, he needs it, yet Blake would rather keep a long line of non-addicted and non-perfect-ardeur-food men waiting in line.
There's a lot more I could go into, but I'm just making myself angry thinking about it! :p
Olaf has got to be one of my remaining favourite characters! Absolutely love his creepy-ness! So disappointed we haven't seen his were-lion self in this one. I hope he'll be in Affliction, which I will read, but I know I will have to struggle to do so, like I did with Kiss the Dead. Slow slow slow. Flimsy plot, anti climactic resolution.
Here's hoping Hamilton brings back the Executioner we all know, love, and certainly miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing but easy to read, 3 July 2012
By 
Marleen (Cavan, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiss the Dead (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 21) (Hardcover)
That rating would be 3.5 stars, if possible.

Anita Blake is an equal-opportunity executioner. She kills every vampire, regardless of apparent age, race, sex or religious affiliations.
As a vampire hunter, necromancer and US Marshall Anita Blake is always on the trail of the dead, the un-dead, the not-quite-dead and the not-quite-human although most of those closest to her fall in exactly those categories.
Now that laws have been passed legislating how to deal with non-human criminals, it is no longer allowed to just shoot and kill any-thing/-body not human.
When a group of vampires abduct a fifteen year old girl though, determined to have her join their ranks, all bets are off and Anita and her police and Marshall colleagues pull out in force to rescue the girl before it is too late. Two dead police officers later the vampires have sealed their fate; they can all be executed without any need for an official warrant.
What surprises Anita though is that all the vampires in the group she encounters were recently turned and very ordinary. They look like teenagers, soccer mums and grandparents, unthreatening on the surface but lethal in practice. And all of them refuse to submit themselves to a vampire master.
Because Anita is connected to Jean-Luc, the Master vampire of St. Louis she is perceived as the ultimate enemy by these free-thinking vampires and with not all of them captured during the raid and their creator unknown, the danger is far from over after the last shot has been fired.

The above is really only half of the story. The first 150 or so pages of this book deal with Anita and her colleagues hunting, fighting and killing the rogue vampires. And then the story turns into something else completely. Suddenly it is a book about Anita and her relationships. It turns out that she has multiple partners, so many in fact that I decided to not try and keep count. And, over the course of the next 150 pages she has sexual relations with quite a few of these partners; relations which are described in quite some detail but didn't quite work for me as erotica.
This is the 21st book in a series in which I've only read seven previous and much earlier titles. And, I have obviously missed a lot in the stories that were told in the books I didn't read.
I have no idea how Anita ended up with, at the very least, 8 lovers, quite a few of whom she considers her partners and claims to be in love with. I imagine that Hamilton introduced the various characters in previous books and then couldn't bear to get rid of them again, but I have to say that this many relationships and close body action was a bit too much for my liking.
In the last few chapters of the book the reader is suddenly back in the (non-sexual) action part of the story when somebody related to the rogue vampires gets a hold of a few of Anita's partners and she has to use her special connection to her lovers to save them.

So, what to say about this book? It wasn't a hard book to read. The writing is smooth and the story moves along at a steady pace.
On the other hand, the book as a whole didn't really feel like one story. In fact, this could easily have been two separate books; one about the vampire hunting and another one about the various intimate relationships the main character has. If either part had been published as a stand-alone story you would not have missed the other part because they just didn't feel that connected to each other.
I would say that this is a book that should probably be read by those who have read all the previous books in the series since there are a few characters mentioned in the book that have no part in the story but (probably) reflect back to earlier events. It is therefore quite possible, if not likely, that up-to-date fans of Laurell K. Hamilton get more out of this book then I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kiss the Dead (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 21)
Kiss the Dead (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 21) by Laurell K. Hamilton (Hardcover - 7 Jun. 2012)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews