Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real old-fashioned page turner!
Inspector Ikmen is, in my opinion, one of the very best of all the fictional detectives. Barbara Nadel's latest Ikmen mystery is a true must read for fans of crime fiction. All the local colour associated with this series is here and as always the characters are beautifully drawn. The plot is ingenious and involves a mystery within a mystery! To find out more you'll...
Published 20 months ago by Gr0svenor

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
I was very much looking forward to the new 'Inspector Ikmen' novel but sadly I found it disappointing. The plot was ok but on the other side a bit far fetched.
What about some family update on the main characters? That was completely missing.
Published 19 months ago by Gabriele Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was very much looking forward to the new 'Inspector Ikmen' novel but sadly I found it disappointing. The plot was ok but on the other side a bit far fetched.
What about some family update on the main characters? That was completely missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real old-fashioned page turner!, 29 Jan 2013
Inspector Ikmen is, in my opinion, one of the very best of all the fictional detectives. Barbara Nadel's latest Ikmen mystery is a true must read for fans of crime fiction. All the local colour associated with this series is here and as always the characters are beautifully drawn. The plot is ingenious and involves a mystery within a mystery! To find out more you'll have to read the book! This is an early contender for the best crime novel of the year.
Like all the novels of this series "Deadline" would work brilliantly as a TV mini-series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deadline, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First the good points: the story is back in Istanbul. Ikmen and co are so much better in their natural environment. Nadel obviously knows Istanbul very well, and this comes through in all her novels in this series. There was a good tie-in with one of the early Ikmen stories too. It was good to meet again so many of the familiar ploice team.
However, unlike many of the other novels, this was basically one story, rather than the two or three entwined stories that I'm used to reading in this series, so that was a little disappointing.
On the whole, an enjoyable read, with quite a few unresolved issues which I hope that Barbara Nadel will return to in her next novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Cracker, 25 Feb 2014
By 
J. Reeve "jimreeve" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deadline (Inspector Ikmen Mysteries) (Paperback)
Oh, this is clever – clever, compelling and very, very good. The story of a breathless thirteen hours in Istanbul’s magnificent Pera Palas hotel, where a fundraising murder-mystery evening is suddenly overwhelmed by gory reality, this is the best episode of the (never less than thoroughly entertaining) Inspector Ikmen series for quite some time.

Nadel starts with an apparently simple premise, but in this novel appearances are very often deceptive. Underneath lies a subtle and multi-layered plot which kept me guessing throughout, was at times almost unbearably tense and, as each new layer of information was gradually revealed, occasionally wrong-footed me quite spectacularly. As I say – this is clever stuff.

Why is Ikmen being forced to play a real-life version of the murder-mystery game? Does the fictional plot of the play contain oblique clues to what is now happening in grim reality? What is the real purpose of the black-clad gunmen? Most intriguing of all – and I promise, there’s no spoiler here, as this begins almost from page one – why does the spectre of a character from a much earlier book – a charismatic psychopath last seen more than a decade ago – seem to loom over the events? Are we reading a whodunnit where the ‘who’ is revealed at the very start, leaving us with an intriguing whydunnit and howdunnit? Or is Nadel playing a deeper game with the reader, a deliberate misdirection designed to lead us away from the real answers to the clues with which she peppers the narrative…? Is the solution to the mystery in plain sight? Read the book and find out.

Another review on here describes this book as a contender for crime novel of the year. I couldn’t agree more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ikmen, 14 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. Ishbel Macaulay "molly" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read several previous Ikmen stories I was disappointed with this one. It lacked the pace I had expected. I don't know if it was . the fact that it was set in one place .I missed the descriptions of the city and the interactions Ikmen has with his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Managed to finish it, 25 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: Deadline (Inspector Ikmen Mysteries) (Paperback)
Well I finished it just to find out what happened but a real struggle, not one of Nadel's best. Very far-fetched dark but limited plot heavily dependent on evil and sadness. Again I wondered if the Nadel books are being written by a consortium because there is just so much variation in quality between these novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ikmen can't retire....., 29 Jun 2013
This review is from: Deadline (Inspector Ikmen Mysteries) (Paperback)
I don't know which I love better - the adventures of Istanbul's Inspector Ikmen or the doings of his ensemble cast of deranged characters. This novel is set in the beautiful Pera Palace Hotel in the European quarter of old Istanbul, and takes place in only a few action-packed hours. Hostages in crisis (or worse), old criminals re-emerging, the never-ending romantic conflicts of Ikmen's no-longer-so-young female sergeant, tragic reminiscences, jealousy conflicting with duty, transsexual heroines - all vie for the stage as they play out their roles surrounded by the old hotel's shades from bygone times,including that of Agatha Christie, in whose old room a typically ghastly Nadel murder occurs. Ikmen himself is left in deadly suspense at one point, at risk of plunging many meters down into the hotel's glass and iron heart. (In one of her Hancock series' books,Ashes to Ashes, Nadel also puts all the action into one night, this time in St. Paul's Cathedral during the Blitz. She definitely has a knack for it.) The only potentially bad news in this book is the strong possibility that Ikman may retire after this particularly strenuous adventure; he seems to finally acknowledge that he isn't getting any younger, or healthier, and that he risks his rather fragile life entirely too often. I sincerely hope Ms Nadel makes him reconsider: I need to know what happens to the entire cast of characters first, and whether all of Ikmen's remaining children make it to University.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Deadline, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An intriguing read with lots of twists and turns right up to the end

An intriguing read that had twists and turns right up to the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is no multi layered plot in this book, just one gripping, intriguing tale. Krikor Sarkissian's murder mystery fundraiser is hijacked by men with Kalashnikovs and unless Ikmen and Suleimann solve a real life murder everyone will be killed. The solution may be a bit unbelievable but the journey is compulsive and extremely well done. What I really like about this series is the characters - they are all well drawn and realistic and the setting - Ms Nadel gives life to Istanbul and its contradictions. I recommend this book as an easy and interesting way to spend a few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ikmen with a twist, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deadline (Inspector Ikmen Mysteries) (Paperback)
If you are not already a reader of the Ikmen series then I think this volume will not work for you -- too much back story.
However, if you've been following Ikmen from the beginning then this offers some real insights into the ongoing characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deadline (Inspector Ikmen Mysteries)
Deadline (Inspector Ikmen Mysteries) by Barbara Nadel (Paperback - 20 Jun 2013)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews