Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Final Sacrament
This is the third, and final, book in the trilogy which began with "Sacred Treason" and moved on to "Roots of Betrayal". As before, the story revolves around a document in the possession of Clarenceux, King of Arms, which proves that Anne Boleyn secretly married Lord Percy - and that, consequently, Elizabeth should not be on the throne. Clarenceux is a loyal Catholic,...
Published 19 months ago by S Riaz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elizabethan Novel
Whilst I found this an OK read with lots of twists and turns I did not think it compared with the John Shakespeare novels by Rory Clements for the feel of Elizabethan England or for its story. I was a bit surprised that I enjoyed Rory Clements feel of England more given James Forester's book on Elizabethan England written under the name of Ian Mortimer which is really...
Published 23 months ago by Ms. S. R. Gifford


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Final Sacrament, 21 Sept. 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This is the third, and final, book in the trilogy which began with "Sacred Treason" and moved on to "Roots of Betrayal". As before, the story revolves around a document in the possession of Clarenceux, King of Arms, which proves that Anne Boleyn secretly married Lord Percy - and that, consequently, Elizabeth should not be on the throne. Clarenceux is a loyal Catholic, who sees that there is more stability with a Protestant monarch than in unleashing war. However, Lady Percy is filled with fury that Clarenceux has not moved to use the document; especially as Mary, Queen of Scots and her husband, Lord Henry Stewart, offer a possible Catholic monarch - despite the fact that they are almost at war themselves. Now, Lady Percy, who still wants vengeance on Anne Boleyn for her loveless marriage, unleashes an army of desperate women against Clarenceux and his family.

Besieged in his house, Clarenceux and his family have these female assassins to contend with - as well as a man, called Greystoke, supposedly working for Walsingham, watching him at all times. Clarenceux does not know who to trust and feels unable to protect his wife, Awdrey, and his young daughters. He does know that he needs to bring matters to an end in a way which will end the violence. Overall, this is a good series, which I have enjoyed. At times I have found Clarenceux a rather irritating hero, but it is a realistic series and he never acts in a way which is less than believeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clarenceux, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After finishing Cornwell and CJ Sansom where next? I read first Rory Clements (brilliant) and Christopher Gortner (vv good) then picked up this trilogy. There were parts which were so shockingly off piste for a traditional novel of this type I put the thing down and couldn't read. It is really that good. Takes you straight into real Tudor life rather than adding a detective novel onto a thin historical background. Belief and faith are central to this, but not in a detracting way, he just reflects a real world of how people believed and lived accordingly. The storyline is so enthralling and ineluctable you can't put it down (for long). Please do some kind of follow up! Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To notch historical spy fiction, 20 Aug. 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Final Sacrament (Clarenceux Trilogy 3) (Hardcover)
If you love historical fiction set in Tudor England that weaves the wonders of a spy thriller in a time where a wrong step either way could see your own side kill you just as much as your foe. Add a dark twist with the key characters wife and one of his daughters missing which leaves the reader in no doubt that it's a game where one throw of the die is all you have. Live or die, conquer or fail, its all you have along with your wits.

What James also brings to the mix is a story that grips you from start to finish, brings the stench of the time to the readers nostrils and will have you watching your step with each new development. Finally throw into the mix solid pace, wonderful prose by an author who knows what the reader wants and all in its been a wonderful third outing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elizabethan Novel, 27 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst I found this an OK read with lots of twists and turns I did not think it compared with the John Shakespeare novels by Rory Clements for the feel of Elizabethan England or for its story. I was a bit surprised that I enjoyed Rory Clements feel of England more given James Forester's book on Elizabethan England written under the name of Ian Mortimer which is really engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three great books, 30 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The worst thing about a triology.....once you've read book three there is no more!

Really enjoyed this whole series....look under Ian J. F. Mortimer for other books by same author.

This book was the culmination of a great series with many twists and turns, read also Sacred Treason & Roots of Betrayal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Addictive Historical Novels., 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As this was the first time I had read this authors work I unknowingly, ordered and read this last book of the trilogy first, it is gripping I was so sad to finish it! I quickly orderd more and have just finished the first and second of the trilogy and am about to start The Final Sacrament yet again, the trouble is I'm turning into a night owl because you just can't stop turning the pages to see what happens next.
For the people who enjoy reading well researched historical novels they are brilliant books, James Forrester is up there with C. J. Sansom and S.J. Parris, you can read all these authors books again and again, intriguing and addictive.
A must read, but take it from me try not to read the last book in any of the author's series first as you will only have to read it in the correct order again. H.M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, still not as good as you-know-who, 27 May 2013
By 
Bookwoman - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
If you like this sort of thing - historical thrillers involving secrets that could topple the Tudor throne, with lashings of period detail - then you're certainly spoilt for choice these days. After reading Sacred Treason, the first in this trilogy, I said that I'd put James Forrester towards the bottom of the pile. After reading this, he's moved up it a little, but he's still nowhere near the top - a spot which, for me, will always be occupied by CJ Sansom.
The Shardlake stories are slightly different in that they're more murder mysteries than spy thrillers, and for all I know, Forrester could have been planning his series when Matthew Shardlake was still a gleam in CJ Sansom's eye. But comparisons are inevitable, I'm afraid, and Sansom wins hands down when it comes to both character and plot - for me, he's got the knack of creating a completely authentic-seeming sixteenth century, but he fills it with situations and characters which are understandable and relevant for the twenty-first, and Forrester lacks this gift. But Clarenceux is a bit better to understand in this one, and there are good depictions of Cecil and Walsingham. But I still found the plot device (what will he do with the Boleyn/Percy marriage contract) to be paper-thin, the twists and turns to be unconvincing, and some of the characters (like the weird boy Fyndern) rather odd.
In the end it all comes down to taste, for which there's no accounting - most reviewers have given this five stars - and I just didn't like this book much. But it's well written and obviously expertly researched, so three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Explosive Historical Thriller, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As far as historical thrillers go, this is one of the most enjoyable that I have read.

The author has produced a plot full of ifs and buts and tells it at a cracking pace. He takes the reader along, allowing them to feel the desperation that is engulfing the key character of the tale. There are plenty of twists and turns with many unsavoury individuals encountered on every page.

I hope the author picks up the pen again soon to write further novels. If this high standard continues, they too will be well received.

A delight to read.Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm reading it at the moment, 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Final Sacrament (Clarenceux Trilogy 3) (Hardcover)
I haven't finished the book yet, although I already suspect how it will end. As usual, I am enjoying the face-paced plotline and the sense of constant danger. My one reservation is that I don't really understand why William Harley is known throughout the book as 'Clarenceux' - obviously it is because he is Clarenceux King of Arms, but I don't think it was really explained WHY he takes this name and what it means. You meet another herald, Garter King of Arms, known as 'Mr. Garter' throughout the book. I think I need to research ito this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Finale, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was savoured a little at a time.....because I knew this was the last in Forrester's trilogy. The plot was intricately and very cleverly woven and the reader is gripped from the beginning. It is very difficult to discipline oneself to a limited reading.....I wanted to know what happened next NOW, yet I didn't want the story to end, as it must eventually. Forrester is a writer with an amazing capacity for historical detail and character reality. I loved this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Final Sacrament (Clarenceux Trilogy 3)
The Final Sacrament (Clarenceux Trilogy 3) by James Forrester (Hardcover - 16 Aug. 2012)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews