Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Cricket Companion For Enthusiasts.
This annual edition is a must for a cricket follower, whether armchair (warm) or more bracefully risking the elements. Like tea and toast, this blends with the ultimate game. I feel sorry for the reviewer who bought this on Kindle as I cannot imagine trying to find at fingertips the necessary information on a cricketer or county. Viewing matches or wanting quick...
Published 16 months ago by ACB (swansea)

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT GET THE KINDLE EDITION!
It's taken me five minutes to discover that this book is hopelessly adapted to Kindle. The pages of statistics and fixtures, the basic raison d'etre for this annual, are unreadably faint and do not respond to changes in font size. The main market for this book is followers of county cricket - you want to be able to quickly look up the details for the teams of the...
Published 16 months ago by Inducker


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Cricket Companion For Enthusiasts., 11 April 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Playfair Cricket Annual 2013 (Paperback)
This annual edition is a must for a cricket follower, whether armchair (warm) or more bracefully risking the elements. Like tea and toast, this blends with the ultimate game. I feel sorry for the reviewer who bought this on Kindle as I cannot imagine trying to find at fingertips the necessary information on a cricketer or county. Viewing matches or wanting quick information, the paperback is ideal. Even worse would be Wisden on e-book. This slips alongside the flask, into the pocket or wherever. A marvellous book that continues to be superb value for money with a mine of information. If you love cricket, the best of sport for me, this is for you. Price of a pint or two to enjoy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All round, 8 July 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Willson "Uvavu" (Bath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playfair Cricket Annual 2013 (Paperback)
This little book has everything you need to drive your wife crazy. When you are sitting in the bubble watching cricket and she comes into the room and asks a question you can pick up the book and start to answer with a cornucopia of data. She goes away quickly and you can get back to watching the cricket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cricket Annual, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playfair Cricket Annual 2013 (Paperback)
Keeps it's simple easy to read and assimilate format. Is consistent each year with no introduction of gimmicks found in other publications!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT GET THE KINDLE EDITION!, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's taken me five minutes to discover that this book is hopelessly adapted to Kindle. The pages of statistics and fixtures, the basic raison d'etre for this annual, are unreadably faint and do not respond to changes in font size. The main market for this book is followers of county cricket - you want to be able to quickly look up the details for the teams of the particular match you are watching. However, you cannot navigate directly to a particular county's section - you either have to do a word search or scroll through all the pages in the county section. Unfortunately I will now have to return this and get it in print format as I usually find this book an invaluable adjunct to the cricket season. Do not make my mistake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's what you expect, 20 Feb 2014
By 
P. Mayor (Warwick, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playfair Cricket Annual 2013 (Paperback)
I have every Playfair Cricket Annual from 1963 to 2013. Nothing unexpected then this year, but it remains completely essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Poor Man's Wisden, 21 Jan 2014
By 
A. Sturley "Tony Sturley" (Telscombe Cliffs, Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playfair Cricket Annual 2013 (Paperback)
I've bought annually and kept every edition barring the first two. Gives the cricket fan all of the basic statistical information one needs plus mini-career records of current players and fixture lists. Compact and still pocketable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cricket Annual, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Dr. Raymond L. Kahn "Caesar Augustus" (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playfair Cricket Annual 2013 (Paperback)
It is what I have come to expect and that is why I order it so I might continue my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As Good As Ever, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playfair Cricket Annual 2013 (Paperback)
Contains all the statistics required when looking back on the past season. Essential information on the current season is also clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cricket fans bible, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playfair Cricket Annual 2013 (Paperback)
I Buy this book every year,it is full of so much information about cricket all over the world and is great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playfair Cricket Annual 2013 (Paperback)
The stats are pretty exhaustive, with everything you could wish to know and it's a great read for cricket lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Playfair Cricket Annual 2013
Playfair Cricket Annual 2013 by Ian Marshall (Paperback - 11 April 2013)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews