Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact pocket comprehensive cricket companion
Once again, the Playfair Cricket Annual 2012 is a bargain. Its contents are compressed into the essentials. Test and county cricket statistics with historical details. Averages. 20 over and one day information. County facts and figures. Fixtures. Overseas cricket. Everything a cricket buff needs for a price of a few pints. Another marvellous production.
Published on 12 April 2012 by ACB (swansea)

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not yet ready ...
I was pleased to see this very useful book made available for Kindle, and thought the sample was at least promising. However, within 24 hours I have 'returned' it.

The principal reason is that large sections of the book are not fully formatted for Kindle: they cannot be searched and do not respond to the Aa button; they are moreover in a pale typeface that...
Published on 13 April 2012 by G.H.Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact pocket comprehensive cricket companion, 12 April 2012
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Playfair Cricket Annual 2012 (Paperback)
Once again, the Playfair Cricket Annual 2012 is a bargain. Its contents are compressed into the essentials. Test and county cricket statistics with historical details. Averages. 20 over and one day information. County facts and figures. Fixtures. Overseas cricket. Everything a cricket buff needs for a price of a few pints. Another marvellous production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not yet ready ..., 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was pleased to see this very useful book made available for Kindle, and thought the sample was at least promising. However, within 24 hours I have 'returned' it.

The principal reason is that large sections of the book are not fully formatted for Kindle: they cannot be searched and do not respond to the Aa button; they are moreover in a pale typeface that after a while I find difficult to read. Perhaps I was expecting too much. However, for example, for me, the 'Fixtures' section is crucial. In the book version, this section is in small type, fairly inevitably, but, to me, manageable. In the Kindle version, the fixtures (listed confusingly under 'Fixtures 2011')are pale and, after the first page, become even smaller than in the book. This condensation appears elsewhere, and to me is instant headache. The fixtures cannot be searched (either by date or by team would have been wonderful). Some of the text is perfectly readable and is formatted - but it is difficult to predict which parts. For example, under the county summaries, players are perfectly clear and readable, 2011 averages are small and pale, marginal notes (G. Smith batted once and scored 0*, etc.) are back to full readability.

I hope the publishers will have another go at this next year; I think this could be a wonderful electronic book. At present, my view is that it is not ready.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 42th edition and no change in production., 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playfair Cricket Annual 2012 (Paperback)
Well this is the 42nd edition I've bought and it's still the usual excellent content. However, it's still using the same printing process it did for the first edition I bought! Surely all the other cricket annuals are now produced on good quality paper with a much larger, clearer typeface. I suspect the average age of the reader for this book is probably in at least their 50s with possibly failing eyes.
I've written to the publishers many times asking if they could improve the quality of this publication but I've never even received the courtesy of a response. Off course I shall continue to buy it because, as everyone else says, the content is excellent and an invaluable reference. But please, please Playfair join the 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars playfair reveiw, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playfair Cricket Annual 2012 (Paperback)
Much the same as previous years, why change a successful formula? Annual published after the start of the domestic season the only criticism, Bill Frindall the previous editor would approve the lack of 'improvements'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Regular cricket bible, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playfair Cricket Annual 2012 (Paperback)
This year's edition of the annual contains all the usual features in a time-honoured manner. The esteem in which this book is held is noticeable in the number of spectators at a County Championship match who have it with them to consult and enhance their enjoyment of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Playfair, 17 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playfair Cricket Annual 2012 (Paperback)
Most people who buy this will buy it every year as its an essential part of any groups attendance at a County game. Make sure you're the one with the knowledge!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must to stuff in your bag, or pocket, for the cricket season, 13 April 2012
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playfair Cricket Annual 2012 (Paperback)
We buy one of these cricket annuals every year and they're always good value for money. Packed with useful stats. that are easy to scan through and there's no glitzy photos or silly articles to get in your way. Just a good, solid reference guide. The book is small enough, and light enough, to hold in one hand and will easily slip into a pocket or a bag without being obtrusive. I will add that this is a card/stiff paper cover and not a hardback so it does get battered around quite a bit if you don't put the book inside a protective sleeve. Doesn't bother us because we buy it to use. Would like to say though, the print this time seems particularly small and the paper's thinner which means the print's quite grey in places. Now; none of us are getting any younger but; I definitely need my reading glasses this year to be able to see the print clearly...it is very small. Just a functional, affordable cricket guide that's a must when you want something to do at tea or during the weather breaks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars re the playfair annual, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playfair Cricket Annual 2012 (Paperback)
i should really have ordered the current (2014) copy, but still it has hardly dated. In excelllent condition, it's a treasure trove you can open at any page at random
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The pocket cricket bible, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playfair Cricket Annual 2012 (Paperback)
Gives me all I want to know. Information about the teams, statistics of last year and the international and county playing scedule
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a great stocking filler for cricket lovers, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playfair Cricket Annual 2012 (Paperback)
Husband gets this every year and loves all the stats. I'm sure he's delighted with this. He still refers to it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Playfair Cricket Annual 2012
Playfair Cricket Annual 2012 by Ian Marshall (Paperback - 12 April 2012)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews