Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars48
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Once again, the Playfair Cricket Annual 2012 is a bargain. Its contents are compressed into the essentials. Test and county cricket statistics with historical details. Averages. 20 over and one day information. County facts and figures. Fixtures. Overseas cricket. Everything a cricket buff needs for a price of a few pints. Another marvellous production.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2012
I was pleased to see this very useful book made available for Kindle, and thought the sample was at least promising. However, within 24 hours I have 'returned' it.

The principal reason is that large sections of the book are not fully formatted for Kindle: they cannot be searched and do not respond to the Aa button; they are moreover in a pale typeface that after a while I find difficult to read. Perhaps I was expecting too much. However, for example, for me, the 'Fixtures' section is crucial. In the book version, this section is in small type, fairly inevitably, but, to me, manageable. In the Kindle version, the fixtures (listed confusingly under 'Fixtures 2011')are pale and, after the first page, become even smaller than in the book. This condensation appears elsewhere, and to me is instant headache. The fixtures cannot be searched (either by date or by team would have been wonderful). Some of the text is perfectly readable and is formatted - but it is difficult to predict which parts. For example, under the county summaries, players are perfectly clear and readable, 2011 averages are small and pale, marginal notes (G. Smith batted once and scored 0*, etc.) are back to full readability.

I hope the publishers will have another go at this next year; I think this could be a wonderful electronic book. At present, my view is that it is not ready.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 June 2010
The other reviews say it all. So much information in such a big little book. Whether you go to matches or watch on TV - this book has so much in it. The purchase every year marks the start of a new season and summer. The county cricket section is very detailed. A great price on Amazon...... a must have for all cricket followers.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2010
I have every year of this book since my love for cricket commenced early in 1970.

Easy to carry with you to matches, it has proved invaluable over the years, and the high standards set have not dropped. That said, sadly because of so much cricket being played each year, the 2nd XI fixtures/grounds and details is no longer there. I appreciate this information is available via the website but not really the point!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2010
Good to see the Playfair Cricket Annual is continuing after the sad and untimely passing of its long term editor Bill Frindall. There is little different to notice in the style and presentation of the new 2010 edition of the annual which has always been an indispensable pocket compendium of cricket stats and information.Long may it continue. Pity there isn`t a clear plastic cover available to protect it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2010
This is the right size to slip into your pocket whilst watching a game and then refer to all the figures and stats you need for each player.
Any true cricket fan needs the information at their fingertips like this book.

The best little guide to cricketers for 2010.

Regards

Paul
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Well this is the 42nd edition I've bought and it's still the usual excellent content. However, it's still using the same printing process it did for the first edition I bought! Surely all the other cricket annuals are now produced on good quality paper with a much larger, clearer typeface. I suspect the average age of the reader for this book is probably in at least their 50s with possibly failing eyes.
I've written to the publishers many times asking if they could improve the quality of this publication but I've never even received the courtesy of a response. Off course I shall continue to buy it because, as everyone else says, the content is excellent and an invaluable reference. But please, please Playfair join the 21st century.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2010
Playfair is as much a part of the cricket season as the cricket itself. Wondered with Bill Frindall's death last year whether the standards would be kept up - it is as good as ever. A book I just can't do without.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2010
The Playfair annual continues to be an invaluable pocket guide to all cricket lovers. It's great value even at full price so to get it at virtually half price through Amazon is an incredible bonus!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2010
Usual pocket cricket annual. Very good - only downside is that it doesnt now have second eleven fixtures and venues in, but these can be viewed on the new Playfair website.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.