Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars215
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Though ‘The Einstein Pursuit’ is the latest of Chris Kuzneski’s successful Payne and Jones best-seller series the format of two ex- special services soldiers coming to the rescue gives the impression of being worked out - it is tired and tortuous. The banter between Payne and Jones starts as humorous but ends as irritating. Readers wanting action-packed gore and mayhem will not be disappointed but the plot is too far-fetched and it lurches along with increasing implausibility. The story unravels from three main perspectives - obviously from Payne and Jones, but also Interpol - and of course the various villains.

The story stars with the destruction of a laboratory in Sweden and the killing of eminent scientists - but why - what were they doing. Options are considered - cultivation of a super disease, biological weapons , etc. - it had to be bad and it had to be stopped - bravo Payne and Jones and their violence. They roam the world and there are evocative descriptions of places such as Stockholm and Prague, but little relieves the brutal intensity of the narrative. Reliance on scientific elements and reference to Einstein allows author Chis Kuzneski to mention real events and real persons - even including himself - described as pretty! For me this was pretty awful, and it confirmed my view of ‘The Einstein Pursuit’ as pulp fiction - average at best and hence 3-star rating.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 17 September 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I do realise that the storyline is just a work of fiction but the author, Chris Kuzneski, portrays the main characters, Payne, Jones and Dial as occupying the moral high ground when in fact their characters are written more like violent vigilantes. The characters are written in such a way that they have no regard for human life and as they seem to get enjoyment out of their activities I think they border on the psychotic.

If the author wishes to write a book about violent killers, with no regard for judicial process, then please spare the reader (at least me) the pointlessness of trying to portray the same people as responsible members of society. Payne and Jones basically acted as judge jury and executioner while being aided by the chief of the Interpol homicide division.

The book itself was about average although confused with a hackneyed plot that encompassed many varying aspects that I won't elaborate on just in case it spoils the book for others. The storyline seems to alternate from history lesson (maybe the best bits) to overly long fighting scenes.

I did take exception to the use of the term "spastic". Although this, like many other words, may have started off without causing offence it has developed into a word that is extremely offensive and there was no need to include it in this book. If the term has been taken out in later corrected versions then I would obviously withdraw my comment.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 August 2015
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Another great story from Kuzneski. Cutting-edge science, very topical, good international settings. A secret sceintific lab full of brilliant scientists gathered for a briefing, is destroyed in a dreadful explosion. Payne and Jone (with their friend Dial, now part of Interpol, and a Swedish detective who is a great guy) set to find out what has gone on. I loved the description of Stockholm. Payne and Jones are a bit irritating with their continuous banter, which is funny for only 50% of the time, but they make up for it with hard action. Good characters throughout, and cruel assassins to make this difficult.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 5 May 2015
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is apparently the eighth of a series featuring Payne and Jones. However it is the first I have read and is a standalone novel provided you can suspend belief and take on board a billionaire with a double life and his best friend and faithful sidekick - yes, I know, it all sounds a bit like Batman and Robin!

Things kick off with the apparent assassination of a group of brilliant scientists for reasons which are not immediately apparent. Interpol, in the person of veteran investigator, Nick Dial, soon becomes involved due to the international background of the victims. It quickly becomes apparent that there is a conspiracy of some kind and that the perpetrators are looking to tie up loose ends. That is where our heroes, Payne and Jones get stuck in.

It's a good romp and provided you can suspend disbelief and ignore the occasional plot hole, an enjoyable one. This reviewer made the mistake of leaving writing his review for a few days at which stage he struggled to recall the details of the plot! However, for all that it's a fast moving story which sweeps the reader along, and I would certainly not be averse to reading more stories about this dynamic duo should they come my way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 September 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
When two former US ex-Special Forces commandos come to the aid of a Swedish scientist in fear for his life following the deadly bombing of a laboratory in his home country, little do they know that in seeking to understand the reasons for the attack they will end up bouncing around the US and Europe trading bullets with mercenaries in the employ of a shadowy individual whose motives are as big a mystery as the existence of the laboratory that was bombed.

The Einstein Pursuit has similarities to the previous novel I read by this author, "The Hunters", with international borders, laws and access to special equipment being minor problems for the heroes in their quest. Like "The Hunters", there are other elements of the story that stretch credibility almost to breaking point, but the action moves at a pace that keeps the reader engaged with the story, despite several "yeah, right" moments.

It's full of macho banter, Hollywood violence and peppered with implausibilities, but it's dumb fun and worth picking up if you're after an easy read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 September 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Having read one of his books before I knew what to expect in terms of pace and depth of story. I just found this one just lacked the descriptive element that the previous one had. Don't get me wrong I enjoyed it and if I hadn't read one before to compare I might have given it one more star.
Where for me it was a let down was that when a confrontation or a set of actions took place, they seemed to be over before they had started, or it felt like that. In one sequence the two main characters had a host of men against them and almost in the next sentence it was all over. it's always better to not over describe, but in this case maybe for me just a bit short. All that apart I enjoyed the book and the original touches with the story. There are 4 main players, two from Interpol and two highly trained soldiers equivalent to the Navy Seals against a ruthless foe. there seemed to be two stories on going but they merge as the story progresses to the final conclusion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This was my first and to be honest my last Chris Kuzneski novel. Don't get me wrong. The book isn't bad but ultimately it felt like so many other thrillers - essentially derivative but fast moving, action-oriented, indefatigable protagonists etc Yet ultimately lacking any sense of realism. I have often dipped into the thriller genre over the years and nothing has really changed. It's just not for me and apart from a couple of authors who have more depth to their writing and plots I don't ever read the stuff. except when I'm on holiday. This is undoubtedly best suited to a long haul flight or a sunny beach where you need something which doesn't require much concentration. In that context it passes the time very well (I actually read it on a very long flight) which is why I've given it 4 stars. It may not be my cup of tea but Chris Kuzneski does tick all the necessary boxes. In that sense it's the equivalent to a Hollywood blockbuster.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 October 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
If you have read Kuzneski before you know exactly what you are in for. If you haven't then you should probably start with the first in the Payne and Jones series, 'The Hunters', and work your way through. It is definitely worth it, if you like you action fast and far fetched and pure escapist fun.

The whole series has been written with a keen eye on detail and an obvious desire to turn out quality action novels. It isn't exactly the most believable at times but then that is part of the fun of this genre. If you like Clive Cussler then this will definitely appeal. The fast pace mean this probably won't take you long to read - admittedly I read fast so I was done in just over 2 nights worth of reading - but that is no bad thing. Something that keeps you itching to push on for just another chapter can't be bad.

Enjoyable read and kudos to the author for still keeping the quality high in this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 August 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Another great action packed Payne and Jones Kuzneski. One cannot help but like the two main characters, and Kuzneski continues to develop the strong buddy relationship and banter. Payne the filthy rich heir of a major corporation and his army buddy Jones who has started his own detective agency that Payne has given space in his own HQ. This time a mystery of who and why a lab with a whole flock of top scientists who would normally be each running their own high powered departments have been murdered as the lab was blown up in spectacular smithereens. Called in to help an old man, a retired scientist who was an employee of his father, who was being targeted by assassins.
All improbable stuff, but high octane, fast moving, and very entertaining. It won't move your little grey cells one iota, but will certainly get your adrenaline shifting a bit and you heart rate throbbing a tad or two faster.
Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
Too much action and not enough subtlety. It started quite well, but As books like this do, it accelerated a decent plot and acceptable action levels too much. I just started skipping through as it was all about the action and little to do with the plot. As a result, I'll not read another book by this chap.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.