Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A riveting tale of being on the run
Steve Jones is a run-of-the-mill city-boy, corrupt, amoral & decadent. When a moment of greed presents an opportunity to get rich quick, Steve grabs it with both hands but rapidly regrets it. When it turns out the people he tried to extort are an international drug-syndicate, his name is soon on a list. Hunted by the police & international hitmen and left with no other...
Published on 21 Jun. 2011 by J. Morris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Morally Bankrupt Hero Saves the Day
In the current economic climate there are not many professions more loathed than that of the high rolling bankers. We watched as they plunged the world into debt, only for a vast majority of them to come back out of the woodwork and accept massive bonuses once again. Making your hero one of these shallow money hungry dimwits is not going to make your book an easy sell,...
Published on 3 Aug. 2011 by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A riveting tale of being on the run, 21 Jun. 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just Business (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Steve Jones is a run-of-the-mill city-boy, corrupt, amoral & decadent. When a moment of greed presents an opportunity to get rich quick, Steve grabs it with both hands but rapidly regrets it. When it turns out the people he tried to extort are an international drug-syndicate, his name is soon on a list. Hunted by the police & international hitmen and left with no other options, Steve and his on/off girlfriend Gemma go on a run that takes them across Europe and as far as Asia, but will he ever be able to stop looking over his shoulder?

Firstly, this is never going to win the Pulitzer prize, Geraint Anderson writes with vivid imagination but the plot is linear, threadbare in places and uses more expletives than a dockworker with Tourettes. Just Business obviously draws on Andersons experience working for corporate institutions in London and it shows; what's more obvious is his complete reversal now that he has left that scene; his prose is positively dripping with disdain for bankers and the 'Square Mile'.

What follows is a decent story of dodging customs officers, hitmen and the corrupt officials in London, a gripping read that really does make it difficult to put the book down. Extremely entertaining, heavily suspended in fiction but makes for one decent holiday-read. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Morally Bankrupt Hero Saves the Day, 3 Aug. 2011
By 
This review is from: Just Business (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In the current economic climate there are not many professions more loathed than that of the high rolling bankers. We watched as they plunged the world into debt, only for a vast majority of them to come back out of the woodwork and accept massive bonuses once again. Making your hero one of these shallow money hungry dimwits is not going to make your book an easy sell, but this is exactly what Geraint Anderson has done with `Just Business', the tale of a man who is bad being chased by people who are much worse. Steve Jones works long hours fawning to potential investors in the hope that he can retire early and live off one massive bonus, but he stumbles across a laundering scheme that is rife with drugs and killers. Steve has to go on the run to save himself and his family.

The major drawback of `Just Business' is that the main character of Steve is a deeply unpleasant man. Told from Steve's perspective, you are informed early on that you may not like him - and you don't. He takes drugs like it was still cool and pretends to hate money, yet spends the entire book chasing it. With such a loathsome protagonist you have to make the bad guys really repulsive. Anderson does just this and creates a cartel full of eccentric killers who would soon as look at you, as kill you. At times these men descend into farce; I would imagine that a successful drug cartel is like most other businesses, you have to have workers - killing your business partners every few hours is going to mean no one will work with you.

With an unpleasant hero and ridiculous enemy, `Just Business' is bordering on the plain daft. However, Anderson is able to claw back the reader's attention with his ability to write a good action yarn. Within the book the characters state several times that Steve seems to think he is in the `Bourne' films, and essentially he is. This is an action packed thriller that should be seen as a bit of fun and no more. Anderson does include details on the banking crisis at the start of each part to try and bring weight to the book. All this does is anger you as a reader and highlight the light nature of the book. Seen simply as a throwaway action thriller `Just Business' ticks the boxes, but it is no attack on the Finance Industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars entertaining, 15 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Business (Paperback)
Reading this book was a bit like watching a Jason Statham
movie that had been written by the writers of ` Spooks `.
In that its action-packed but pretty unbelievable.
Suffice it to say its not particularly highbrow and Mr Anderson
won't be winning any literature awards soon. However in
saying that it is entertaining and roars along at a fair old pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun - a real page turner, 20 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Just Business (Paperback)
A book with many flaws but the important issue is it is great fun to read. Anderson has a great turn of phrase and this novel had me laughing out loud on several occasions. Our protagonist Steve is on the run for much of the narrative and the plot is genuinely suspenseful - I spent part of yesterday reading it when I should have been working then stayed up late to finish it as I couldn't put it down. However, it is somewhat cliché ridden and the prose style is clunky at times - particularly the first twenty pages or so before the author gets into his stride. Some suspension of disbelief is called for. But battle through the first two chapters and you will be rewarded with a highly entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Enough is enough!, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Business (Kindle Edition)
What a waste of money. Despite enjoying City Boy the laddish attempt at humour is as stale as the Bankers' gravy train. Shame I bought it. Total tripe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Unconvinced, 18 Jan. 2013
By 
M. Gould (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just Business (Paperback)
Following Cityboy I was prepared to give the author a further reading unfortunately this has fallen well short of the potential provided by the original effort.

Very little background relating to the financial world and the female characters are poorly represented by rather hollow imaging.

Scuffling involving hit men fails to rescue this poor representation of adventure.

You will note from previous reviews that I am a generous critic but I struggle to justify the rating provided....enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting Story, 8 April 2013
This review is from: Just Business (Paperback)
I must admit I was a bit dubious when I picked this book, but after getting into the story I couldn't put it down. I had to see how it panned out in the end and I was not disappointed. The plot is not filled with useless characters but carries you along quite nicely.
The main character is believable and just normal which is something hard to find in adventure books. I will definitely be watching for more of these by the author.
A riveting read....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast and Furious Fun!, 20 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Just Business (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I had never heard of Cityboy before this book came into my hands and though it sounds only too true to life I don't feel compelled to read it - but Just Business I found brilliant.
Following stoned, drunken revelry in the first pages with disreputable business 'mates' he does not even like, our stockbroker hero, fearing dismissal and the loss of his enormous annual bonus, hacks into his boss's computer in a search for dirt on him, and bites off considerably more than he can chew.
A murder, with himself as chief suspect, sends him and his reluctant girlfriend on a mad race through Europe and onwards, pursued by drug barons, police and even MI5, and the delight of this story lies in Steve's progression from quiet desperation to full blown, justified paranoia, in which state he discovers just what he is capable of. He is a beguiling hero, for all his faults and stupidity. There is laugh-aloud humour, violence, language, laddishness and in the end justice is meted out - but not, significantly, to the top villains.
Through the book, Anderson has several rants about the evils of banks and bankers, and this is pertinent and only too believable, but this story stands on its own feet as a splendid thriller. Hope Steve Jones will ride again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anderson Stays On-Form, 16 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Just Business (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I enjoyed City Boy, despite it's flaws [the repetitive 'bloke-iness grated just a bit too much in places] and so didn't have any problem trying out this, a more straight-forward novelisation of the hero of Cityboy's exploits.

And it doesn't disappoint. Geraint Anderson's style is supremely suited to a vast moving, dare I say pulpish 'thriller' format and there is nothing wrong with that. This is a really good read and if you find it's a style that suits you, you'll crack through it in no time and be well entertained along the way.

Some people may criticise it for being more of the same, but so what. Anderson knows what his strengths as a writer are and plays to them with everything he's got. He subsequently won't win any posy literary prizes but again, so what. Sometimes when you're looking for a good read, you need a brand you can trust, and I reckon Geraint Anderson is going to provide us with just that. I hope he knocks out more of these books to help pass a rubbish-weather UK summer with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect holiday reading - fast paced and lots of fun, 25 July 2011
By 
A. J. Sudworth "tonysudworth" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just Business (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This was great - fast moving story with bags of action involving drug dealers , city bankers , and a cast of characters that scream ' make me into a film!'
I had not read the previous ones in this series but you really don't need to - Cityboy starts out as a hot shot banker and ends up dealing with hitmen in a way that had me laughing out loud.
The action rolls from London, to Jersey, Spain, Tangiers and onto India with bodies everywhere - not a novel of hidden depths but very enjoyable
One highlight was the description of a board meeting where a drug baron was moaning mentally about the good old days
The bankers are an easy target and this book makes no bones about its viewpoint - including a brutal epilogue that could have come straight from the Daily Mail. And it would have been refreshing to have found a 'city boy' that enjoyed their job instead of this endless soul searching ..
In summary - an excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Just Business
Just Business by Geraint Anderson (Paperback - 15 Mar. 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews