Customer Reviews


1,363 Reviews
5 star:
 (831)
4 star:
 (371)
3 star:
 (113)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


264 of 275 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical (but probably not for everyone)
Mabel and Jack cannot have children. They move to Alaska to start a new life, one without the pressures of polite society. However it is not easy, the farm work is hard for her husband and money is tight. They struggle to survive the dark, cold winters and start to move apart. One night, as the snow falls, Mabel is overcome by a childish urge to make a snowman, no, a snow...
Published on 10 Feb. 2012 by Curiosity Killed The Bookworm

versus
106 of 113 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I prefer more pace and action.
This is a difficult book to review as it's simply not the kind of book which I would usually be enthusiastic about. You might wonder why I picked it as my Audible download of the month, in that case, right? Well, the blurb intrigued me and the cover enchanted me. I had hopes of a haunting narrative, evocative of old, dark fairy tales. What I got was something...
Published on 24 May 2012 by @Scattered_Laura


‹ Previous | 1117 118 119137 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book., 21 April 2012
This review is from: The Snow Child (Hardcover)
There has been so much hype about this book that I was worried that I would be disappointed. It is not perfect- at times it seems too long and the reality/magic does become a little frustrating. It's also clear that a totally happy ending is unlikely.Having said all that I thought that the characterisation was strong;The Alaskan backdrop was stunning and overall the story is uplifting . The thing that made it 5 stars was that it was unputdownable and there is something magical about it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreakingly Beautiful, 14 Jan. 2012
By 
Ms. C. A. Anderson "Cassandra220689" (East Kilbride, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Snow Child (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Jack and Mabel we learn literally straight away have moved to Alska to set up home and work the land in the hopes of a new life. One that can put the sorrow of loosing a child to bed, start afresh and rekindle their love.

We come to realise that the Alaskan dream is not all beautiful mountains and rivers but harsh winters and blizzards, making working on their homestead more than just some hard work. Jack desperately tries to make a go of working the land but with his age creeping upon him he is no longer the young healthy man he used to be. The work is hard, tiresome and lonely as he takes on the burden of their future on his weary shoulders. Mable too begins to feel the strain of the Alaskan life and it is at the start of the book we are shown that she is struggling with life and the loss of a life she and Jack had created.

We as the reader, watch helplessly as this couple try to deal with their grief and struggle to move on and start anew. We take Jack and Mabel into our hearts and plead and flip the pages as desperately as they feel in the hopes that their loss can be over come and their life start to look up.

And it does. With the arrival of a new set of friends; the Bensons and a mysterious and other worldly girl who we come to know as Faina. The Bensons; Esther and George and their boys begin to become part of Jack and Mables family. They are the complete opposite but Mabel in particular takes comfort in the fact she does not have to act proper and can be herself with them. So much so that Esther and Mabel become unlikely best friends and of course Mabel tells her of the mysterious Faina from the woods.

Faina is a beautiful young girl who lives high in the mountains and started to visit Mabel and Jack when the first snow came. Mysterious, quiet and at times as frightened as a rabbit in headlights. Faina soon comes to fit into the life of visiting Jack and Mabel as she visits all winter, disappearing in summer and coming back in winter. And so the pattern continues for many years. Over which, it is clear that Mabel and Jack look upon Faina as a daughter. A second chance at the one they lost.

In the mountains she stays, and often they try to convince her to leave and stay with them but more often than not they try not to pressurise the girl into questions and decisions as they have come to realise how at one she is with the forest and the snow. How she describes it as her home. And they accept this and that they should be grateful for all the beautiful moments with her they have.

But when Faina one day meets and begins a friendship with Garret one of the Bensons sons who has been helping out on the homestead everything they feel that they have attained seems to be in jeopardy. Soon Fiana and Garret embark on their own life with both a beautiful and heartbreaking ending which will have you both reeling, smiling and wishing for it not to be so.

If you are looking for a fast paced book, this isn't it. This book however takes it slow, lets you delve and settle in to see the world of Jack and Mabel who are an older couple who have moved to Alaska bit by bit. As well as easing you in to get to know Fiana as Jack and Mabel are getting to know them. You are pulled into a magical and atmospherically beautiful place where it seems anything can happen. All credit goes to Ivey who as a first time author has made this book something beautiful to behold with her beautifully stunning descriptions of the vast homestead that Jack and Mabel live on and its other worldly and magical qualities and characters such as Fiana, like they are just there in front of you. It was easy to imagine being there, I felt as a reader that I was in the corner of their homestead watching everything unfold before my very eyes.

Heartbreakingly beautiful.

Cassandra220689
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snow Child (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing and beautiful, 5 July 2012
This review is from: The Snow Child (Hardcover)
I'm not going to go on and on about how brilliant this novel is; you should just get it and read it. It is a fairy story set in the everyday struggle for survival. Ivey has managed to combine the seemingly disparate aspects of two seemingly disparate genres so cleverly that it totally emerges you in a world which is both real and totally alien. The characters are honest and human, but not unlovable. And if you aren't moved by this book, well, you must have a heart of stone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful story, 24 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Snow Child (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this book and felt I just had to write a review, as this is a book that no one should miss. The story of the Snow Child is a beautiful tale that will keep you spell bound right to the very last page, the authors almost dream like writing, transports you to the snow covered wilderness of the bleak Alaskan mountains where magic takes place and snowflakes flurry through every page. A wonderful and enchanting tale that is an absolute must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snow Child (Paperback)
Great thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snow Child (Paperback)
good. nice read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply the best book i have ever read, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snow Child (Paperback)
Beautifully written prose, a magical and fascinating story which has left me wondering, characters who are so well portrayed i feel i have known them all my life - and a plot which pulls me along with it despite the fact i don't want the book to end. A miraculous and wonderful book which i couldn't put down and wanted to reread as soon as it was finished. Just lovely, a treat for the senses. Can't wait to read Eowyn's next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tough fairy story, 15 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snow Child (Paperback)
I really could not put this book down and fortunately I had a couple of days off from work so didn't have to rush it. A lovely atmospheric story with wonderful descriptions of the Alaska wilderness. However as a vegetarian/animal lover I wasn't too keen on the hunting and killing scenes which I found a bit sickening but I skimmed over those. It is a cross between a lovely fairy tale and the harsh realities of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely little winter warmer!, 30 Nov. 2012
By 
jenny (hampshire uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snow Child (Paperback)
perfect with a mug of hot chocolate on a cold
night, there's something quite sweet and magical about this book
and the author's way with descriptive words is just outstanding
you could feel yourself running through the landscape with them,
it's very well written! the ending was a little hit and miss if i'm
honest but for a first novel it's fantastic, i look forward to another

:) x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1117 118 119137 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Snow Child
The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey (Paperback - 30 Aug. 2012)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews