Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creeptastic Zombie Fiction
With Zombie books all the rage they tend to be either out and out hard-core slay fests or a comedic version set to entertain. Whilst this title by Madeleine does has the qualities of a Romero film, the overall arc of this title is about the survival of the titles female lead as she seeks to help her friends find a safe location to wait out the days that the undead walk...
Published on 25 Feb 2011 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A quick guide on coming to terms with a zombie apocalypse.
Could also be called "child misses mother, learns to love axe".

This is an attempt to show the human side to the mass devastation that would be a zombie invasion - it's about coming to terms with grief and adapting ones self to an entirely new world. Relationships are fleeting and, given the circumstances, bonds are formed quickly.

I didn't really...
Published 10 months ago by Pascal De Ritter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!!, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
different twists throughout the book would recommend to anyone who loves a good zombie story! exciting and brilliant loved every second reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Z-fiction!, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allison Hewitt is Trapped (Paperback)
So often scoffed at by the uninitiated, blogging has become a pivotal way in which we as a society spread our news and views. With the medium now so prominent, it makes sense that, if an apocalypse ever was to dawn, at least some survivors would turn to the blogosphere for some much-needed advice and guidance.

And in Madeleine Roux's novel, Allison Hewitt is Trapped, that is exactly what the eponymous heroine decides to do. The book begins with Allison and a small group of survivors trapped in the backroom of a book store. Roaming the main shop and the dishevelled streets outside are swarms of shuffling undead, each of them as hungry as they are gruesomely described. In the face of such relentless horror, Allison turns to the mysterious SNet, a surviving internet connection, in order to document her group's ordeal and to seek help from other users.

The novel's, written-as-a-blog format certainly makes for a fresh take on the zombie genre, and the comments at the end of Allison's posts from other survivors really add to the appeal, and to the book's ability to draw the reader in. However, the format is far more than a gimmick; giving Allison a way to vent her inner most feelings really adds to the experience, and, interestingly, it even feeds into the plot when other characters realise she's using precious power to run her laptop and to write about them.

Allison herself is an excellent character; determined yet caring, ruthless but saddled with a conscience. The supporting characters are also developed beautifully and are undeniable proof that Allison Hewitt is Trapped is an excellent idea, brilliantly executed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic !, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allison Hewitt is Trapped (Paperback)
I love zombie books, this one is written from a completely different perspective as any of the other books I have ever read. A must if you like horror/ scfi books. Even though it is a horror book it is written from a very practical view point and has a mix of all different elements in, romance, humour, action etc. Cannot recommend enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!!, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. K. Perry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved it!! read this on my holiday recently and absolutely enjoyed it and couldn't put down. Any Zombie fan would enjoy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely recommend., 15 Aug 2013
By 
emma (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this. I fell in love with Allison almost immediately, she's a great character and it's fantastic making her journey. I enjoy the fact that it's not a style I've seen before with the way they communicate, I'm not sure it would be possible in real life but I liked it. Every character had their own personality that was shown wonderfully. Would definitely recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different for the normal genre, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allison Hewitt is Trapped (Paperback)
Much different from the normal genre, a strong female lead that isn't relying on anyone to save her. Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Axe yourself, do you feel lucky punk?, 11 May 2013
This review is from: Allison Hewitt is Trapped (Paperback)
I've realised that I'm generous with ratings. Usually if I can't put a book down or it lets me escape reality for a while then as far as I'm concerned its a guid 'un and I'll rate it five stars, i'm trying to wean myself from this habit. This one really deserves it though. Allison is trapped with some colleagues in the break room of the bookshop she works in, outside the door all hell has broken loose, zombies everywhere, and these people who are unfortunate enough to work together are safe in the break room. For now.
Allison has a laptop and manages to get wifi from somewhere so she starts blogging, this is the format of the book and to me, it was "i'll just read one more entry" etc but i couldn't put it down. Obviously they'll starve if they stay there and so the decision is made to find somewhere more comfortable with better provisions etc. group dynamics change as managers and assistant managers are all too happy to let Allison and Ted (a co-worker) lead the way, take risks and clear the way, Allison finds she's quite handy with an axe and it dispatches many a zombie throughout the tale (i much prefer tough heroines to ones that fall about helplessly). The book, which actually started as an online blog, puts Allison and comrades (I'm not telling you who lives, dies and/or becomes undead!) through their paces, danger coming not just from the undead but also from those surviving in this new world. Alison's blog gives hope to other survivors around the world who comment on it and you find yourself rooting for them too. Even though you know she must get out of tight spots because she's recounting things in the blog, i still found myself anxious to keep reading and find out how she survives every time the s*** hits the fan. I really liked the sense of humour throughout, Allison is a kick-ass heroine with an axe and, i think, a bit of a death wish, she puts herself in danger several times, recklessly it seems, but it's always for good reason. A cracking good read, just wish it was longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the zombie genre, and this is one of the best. Thoroughly enjoyable

The characters are excellent as is the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars zombie lit, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant example of zombie lit - written as a blog from the perspective of the main character. Lots of zombie action as expected but also features some very well drawn characters, so much so that you actually care when one of them is munched!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I picked this up, I wasn't expecting much. I love post apocalyptic stories and the cover art happened to catch my eye. After the first few chapters, I was hooked and finished the Book fairly quickly. I love how.. real the struggle seemed. Sure, you could go on a path of hugely heroic actions which sparked a revolution or uprising but no. This is a story about Allison; one woman and her struggle to survive, facing not only the undead but also get own morality.

I suggest anybody who is our isn't interested in zombie books to read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Allison Hewitt is Trapped
Allison Hewitt is Trapped by Madeleine Roux (Paperback - 24 Nov 2011)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews