Customer Reviews


637 Reviews
5 star:
 (409)
4 star:
 (128)
3 star:
 (63)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


272 of 277 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving portrait of a relationship
This is the first book I have read by Victoria Hislop and I shall definitely be reading her others. Young Dimitri visits his grandparents in Thessaloniki in 2007. He would really like them to come and live with other members of the family now they are old and frail but they tell him they are happy where they are.

Most of the book is taken up with the story...
Published on 27 Oct 2011 by Damaskcat

versus
47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Thread
I was so looking forward to reading this, because so many of the reviews had whetted my appetite for a really meaty historical novel that would entertain as well as help me learn something. But my final verdict is that it didn't really work, either as a book about Greece or as a family saga. The problem might be to do with the characterisation. We don't really get to...
Published on 5 Jan 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 16 7 864 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Good read well researched book, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thread (Paperback)
Good read, characters well drawn. A bit dwamn out with everything brought to a "all loose end tied up" very quickly in the last few pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Tread, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thread (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book. Avery good story well told. I wish I had written it. A good book, but I love all Victoria's books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thread (Paperback)
Having read Victoria' previous two books and thoroughly enjoyed them I bought this for myself. I loved it! Please write some more, Victoria.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and informative, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thread (Kindle Edition)
A well structured tale of the horrors that Thessaloniki suffered over the past 150 years, showing the courage and strength of the main characters and their unwavering love of their city despite what seems to be one catastrophe after another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thread (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable read but too many coincidences. If you have been to Greece then the scenery is easy to identify with as is the history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 2 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thread (Paperback)
I had read "The Return" and loved it so wanted to read another of her books,this one didn't disappoint.I think she really do a lot of research and it makes the story better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Thread, 29 Mar 2014
By 
A. L. Gibson (Blaydon-onTyne. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thread (Kindle Edition)
A very good book, informative as well as a good story. I was impressed by the amount of research that the author must have done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Thread, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thread (Kindle Edition)
This is an easy book to read especially for holiday or just for light reading. Try it as Victoria Hislop is a delight to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Thread a jolly good read., 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thread (Kindle Edition)
As usual Victoria Hislop takes you to greece and the Islands so that you feel you know them. The Island moved me so much that I went to visit Elounda and spinalonga a moving experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book for Stitching Group, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thread (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend this book to people who liked historical novels.

I liked the way that significant historical events of Salonika were interwoven with the lives of ordinary people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 864 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5e6eec4)

This product

The Thread
The Thread by Victoria Hislop (Hardcover - 27 Oct 2011)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews