Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars33
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 August 2013
Peter Tremayne is one of the many historical mystery writers I've followed since their first book, in this case Absolution by Murder (A Sister Fidelma Mystery: A Celtic Mystery). One of the reasons why I buy his books is that his novels are extremely entertaining, well plotted and are a potted history of the traditions and peoples of seventh century Ireland, an enlightened and balanced civilisation not yet subsumed into the more barberous traditions of the Roman branch of the church. In this period the law of the Fenechus still holds sway and is about justice and rehabilitation not revenge and retribution.

'Atonement of Blood' continues on from The Seventh Trumpet (Sister Fidelma Mysteries 23) and concerns the unravelling of a mystery involving Fidelma's brother Colgu, a battle fought at Cnoc Aine and the continued machinations of members of the Ui Fidgenti to destabilise the Kingdom after a four year peace. That's it for spoilers. Tremaynes knowledge and love for Ireland of this period shines through the pages, although this is explored with a pragmatists eye, as even Tremayne recognises that although Irish law was comprehensive there were those who sought to circumvent it and interpret it to their own ends. Even Fidelma in this outing turns a blind eye at the end in a rare utilitarian act for a committed dalaigh.

This is another good read, lots of action and plenty of twists, turns and red-herrings. As always when reviewing books that are well into a series (This is No. 24) this is the better for having read the series, as the relationships between characters is now well developed and regular readers will pick up on the nuances, that said, this can be read as a standalone novel.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
Atonement of Blood is gripping novel which will capture your attention so completely that you will find it near impossible to put down until you have finished reading it, and then you will be looking for more. This is the 24th novel in the groundbreaking Sister Fidelma series and it is simply breathtaking. As Fidelma and Eadulf set out to solve the mystery behind an assassination attempt on Fidelma's brother - king Colgu of Munster, we are taken along to witness the events as they unfold as if we had stepped back in time through the annals of history. Tremayne's knowledge of early Irish, [and in his other novels from time to time, also British and European histories] has served him well in his portayals of the different backgound aspects of everyday living in the 7th Century in his series. Yet the books are not bogged down in academic descriptions or debates, they are wonderful adventures with nail-biting detecive work as Fidelma and Eadulf attempt to solve more mysteries as they add to their own detective and judicial skills. And what a ride that is! Beautifully written - expertly realised scenes from a past that dare not be forgotten, not while we have writer/scholars in our midst like Peter Berresford Ellis [Tremayne]. Highly recommended!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
Sorry do not like doing revews
This was a great book and fully came up to my expectations.
Thank you.
Best regards
E C Young
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
The moment the latest Fidelma novel comes through my letterbox is always a high spot of my year, and Atonement of Blood is no exception. As usual the background details are superb, giving us a fascinating insight into 7th Century Ireland - a world I knew nothing about until I began reading this series of novels. The laws and customs of that particular time and place are fascinating. It is a shame that in England and probably most of the rest of the world outside Ireland, unless you are an academic specialising in that era of Irish history (or a reader of the Fidelma series!) you are likely to have never heard of the Brehon Laws by which Ireland was governed until they were suppressed by English invaders. Having learned English history and known ancient Ireland only from the viewpoint of English conquerors, I was amazed to discover that such a complex and highly civilized society had existed 'next door' before England as a unified land had even come into being.

The history of the time is woven seamlessly into the story, making an understanding of Fidelma's world integral to the solving of the mystery. But it is not just the history, or the mystery, but the characters who make me want to keep on reading. I had no doubt Fidelma would solve the mystery, but would her brother Colgu survive? Why did the assassin want him dead?

If you enjoy a really entertaining read, read the book and find out the answers for yourself!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
Not sure if long series are a good thing. However, Fidelma was somewhat less irritating in this book, but for fans of the series still worth having.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
I am a great fan of Sister Fedelma and have read every one. This is the best yet. I eon't give too much away, but let's just say there is a life in the balance, a tenderness in Fedelma's and Eadulf's relationship. Oh -and Eadulf grows a backbone.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
This one had me guessing throughout and showed the marvelous flashes of Fidelma's wit and courage in the face of other threatening characters. Danger is everywhere and she continues on in spite of it to solve the mystery that must be solved.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
I cannot get many of peter tremaynes books from the library so just have to buy them. The history and background that he finds out is a history lesson in itself.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2014
Didn't float my boat, I'm afraid, for a variety of reasons. For one thing, if you're going to put this many words from a language other than English into a novel written in English, you're better off including a glossary rather than disrupting the narrative flow to slip a translation in. For another, I found the ratio of talk to action too often overbalanced in favour of the former, with conversations or discussions going on for too long and frankly becoming tedious. This was my first and will be my last sampling of this series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
An academic takes us into his world, but remains obsessed with explaining his subject. The plot is satisfactory but I'd rather be taken back to the mythical world as described in Daughter of Dedannan and the Cauldron of Undry. A novel needs to hold my imagination. Atonement of Blood gave me some insight into Irish history but little else.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.