Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't disappoint..., 23 July 2012
By 
John "John75222" (Leeds, Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such is my liking of Tremayne's writing and the characters of Sister Fidelma (or Fidelma of Cashel as I suppose she is now) and Brother Eadulf, this was on pre-order from the minute it was put in the catalogue.

Tremayne is an acknowledged expert of Ireland in the age in which the Fidelma mysteries are set, and this shines through in his novels as well as his obvious affection for the Ireland of that age. The Ireland as described was a far more enlightened place than anywhere else in Europe at that time, with a comprehensive, fair, egalitarian society and sensible legal system, and the Fidelma novels are set against that cultural backdrop.

The mystery starts as what should have been a routine and safe investigation of a dead body found just outside her brothers fortress of Cashel. As ever as the mystery begins to take on a life outside of the routine it is interwoven against a background of internecine rivalry between the various petty kingdoms and chieftains the make up the borderland to Fidelma's brother's kingdom and as clue after clue and incident after incident begins to pile up Fidelma finds herself smack bang in the centre of things. The solution has a neat unexpected twist as Fidelma in her role as an advocate of the court pulls together the story and unravels the strands of the mystery.

Tremayne has created a character that rather like Ellis Peters Brother Cadfael will endure for a long time. I can't understand why no one has picked them up for TV except that it shows Ireland before the Roman branch of the church took precedence to be a tolerant, vibrant, intellectual, artistic and above all a fair society that preached equality for women, rehabilitation and restorative justice rather than subservience and retribution long before modern times. Maybe we're not quite ready for that yet.

I only add a caveat here, and it doesn't detract from this novel as it can be read as a stand alone; but I would suggest that anyone who wants to read this as a first Fidelma book may be better advised to fill in the gaps as this is number 23 in the series and as such some of the nuances that exist between the characters that have been developed in the earlier novels may be lost. However, conversely, reading the latest in the series may also serve to stimulate an interest in filling in the gaps. I would hope that this is the case because the entire series is a delight to read and apart from one book Behold a Pale Horse (Sister Fidelma Mysteries 22) and an anthology of short stories Hemlock at Vespers (Sister Fidelma Anthology 1), Tremayne keeps to a very strict timeline so the series follows a chronological order starting with Absolution by Murder (A Sister Fidelma Mystery: A Celtic Mystery).

An absolutely cracking read, I can't wait for the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Revelation, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always enjoy these mysteries as I have an afinity for Ireland. Here Fidelma has left the the life of religion to persue her legal interests while Brother Aedulf remains tied to his religion and his medical skills. The story itself concerns a rebelion brewing in the bogs with a massive fortress being built on the site of a monastry. One of my doubts is how Colgu, the king, remained ignorant of this since he must have had some form of an intelegence service if he intended to stay alive and in power. The story moves along well with enough battle murder and sudden death to keep the interest alive. There is also the case of Colgu falling in love with a most unsuitable lady but all matters resolve themselves in the end and as things have been so they remain, till next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves Seven Stars, 11 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Any author who can hold my attention for 23 books has got to be good. The Sister Fidelma series is authentic, well written and expertly plotted. If I have any quibbles about the series it's the author's penchant for describing Fidelma's adversaries as almost always thin-lipped or mean looking or of an arrogant nature. That aside each of the books presents a unique mystery that is complex (but not overly so) and interesting. This particular entry falls into that category and deserves high praise. I look forward to more of the good Fidelma's adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Book which deserves a trumpet score of praise!, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'The Seventh Trumpet' is another triumph, Tremayne's ability to take us back in time to witness the world Fidelma and Eadulf lives in is not only sheer entertainment but also highly educational and in a an easy and totally absorbing way!

We are also, thanks to his ability in creating such well rounded characters, that have credible and established back-stories, able to empathise and live the moments these character experience; moments of joy, anguish, happiness, horror, delight, fright, bereavement and jubilation. All the aspects of the human condition, something The Bard also did so well in his plays. Don't want to drop 'spoilers' for those who haven't read it yet, but you won't be disappointed, it is another riveting read.

Tremayne's books are superb, and as always we look forward to the next novel in the series with baited breath. He is also underrated, this series should now have special editions, it should be on the radio and on TV. His readers have been saying so with years, lets hope the movie and TV executives wake up and realise what a great and gripping mystery series this is and one which would create blocbuster series and bestselling dvd boxsets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars eadulf to the rescue, 11 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Peter Tremayne has created two characters, in Fidelma and Eadulf, who leave us waiting, impatiently, for the next installment. The books are not only a window to 7th Century Ireland but also tells us a lot about Bréhon law.
This story dishes up betrayal and love in equal volumes. Fidelma is abducted and Eadulf has to rescue her.
This is a brilliant read - one that rivals Ellis Peters and the brilliant Cora Harrison.
The series just gets better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seventh Trumpet (Sister Fidelma) (Paperback)
I collect all of Peter Tremayne books.They are great books and are not only good mysteries but you learn about history as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Seventh Trumpet (Sister Fidelma Mysteries 23, 20 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoy reading more and more of these books. Please keep them coming. Really great reading, Thank you again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic as always, 2 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a joy! I can never have enough of Sr Fidelma. Brilliant! More Peter please, your book gives such a wonderful picture of a remarkable culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Seventh Trumpet, 7 Jan. 2013
By 
J. Plank "jplank" (Des Moines) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a religious myself, I was wondering where this scripture verse was going to take me in the story, I liked it a lot, but I wonder if it would be hard to follow for someone less familiar with Fidelma and scripture. It is not the book to read if you are buying your first Fidelma mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another informative tale about the law and life in Ireland of the celtic church times, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seventh Trumpet (Sister Fidelma) (Paperback)
Peter Tremayne has as usual drawn on his great knowledge and research of the Brehon law. I have followed the lives of Fidelma and her partner now for many years and each book has interesting facts and a good story leaving me looking forward to the nect one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Seventh Trumpet (Sister Fidelma)
The Seventh Trumpet (Sister Fidelma) by Peter Tremayne (Paperback - 28 Mar. 2013)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews