Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable visit
I always enjoy spending time with Alex and Milo. This one focuses a little more on Alex's clinical work, with gentle barbs at the US legal system - a well rounded, thoughtful and intelligent thriller with a very engaging protagonist once again demonstrates nuance, insight and the kind of comments about wider society that Travis McGee would nod in agreement with. Those two...
Published 8 months ago by Nigel Stevenson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars COULD ALEX BE GETTING OLD?
If you have followed the Alex Delaware/Milo Sturgis series from the start this will be familiar territory for you. A quick easy read with clipped prose and snappy dialogue as expected. Except in this case some of the dialogue is just plain off the mark - adding little to the story and just filling in pages.

In contrast Kellerman has a unique way of describing...
Published 14 months ago by little lady blue


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable visit, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always enjoy spending time with Alex and Milo. This one focuses a little more on Alex's clinical work, with gentle barbs at the US legal system - a well rounded, thoughtful and intelligent thriller with a very engaging protagonist once again demonstrates nuance, insight and the kind of comments about wider society that Travis McGee would nod in agreement with. Those two would get on famously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling reading, 11 Feb. 2014
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Killer (Alex Delaware) (Hardcover)
If you have read previous installments in this author's ongoing series about Alex Delaware then you know what to expect here - a well written, cleverly plotted suspense novel. In this book you get exactly that and it is a gripping read. Even if you haven't previously read any of the novels in this series I suspect that you will find it easy to follow as there are very few references to previous events and the book stands well on its own. I have read all the Alex Delaware books and this is definitely one of the best.

Our favourite psychologist is involved in giving expert evidence in court in a custody battle between two sisters. The story starts with one sister threatening to kill him only for her to end up dead herself very soon afterwards. Alex finds himself paired up with his old friend Milo Sturgis and not only in fear of his life but beginning to think that the assessment he has made about the case may have been very wrong.

The book concentrates on the case and Alex's reactions to events and has a reasonable amount of action. The author also uses the book to make some pertinent points about the American justice system and the way in which child custody cases are handled. The strong point of this series is the insight which the author via Alex gives you into people's thoughts and behaviour. The plot is very much driven by the characters and the puzzle isn't always to work out who has done it but to find out why.

This books is well paced, full of action and has some interesting twists. Its best feature is that it is a very readable story. I very much enjoyed reading it and thank the publishers for a free copy via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another great read from a great writer thoroughly enjoyed it lots of twists and a surprise ending really good story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANTLY CRAFTED MYSTERY THRILLER!, 3 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Killer (Alex Delaware) (Hardcover)
Killer: An Alex Delaware Novel by Jonathan Kellerman is yet another exciting episode in the child psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware series in which Alex is consulted on a child custody battle between two diametrically opposite sisters - a fun loving, free-spirited single mom Cherie and her older sister Connie who is a successful pathologist. When Alex gives his opinion in favor of the real mother, the irate pathologist put out a hit on him setting off a chain of events which become too hot for Alex to handle alone.

Jonathan Kellerman brilliantly crafted a mystery thriller, building up the suspense and turning what initially appears to be a simple case of child custody suit into a full blooded story of kidnapping, murder and mayhem. It is a puzzling case that has stupefied Alex, his detective friend, Milo Sturgis, and the entire police department as the drama which started in the courtrooms shifted to the backstreets of LA.

Opinion on this 29th Alex Delaware series is likely to differ. As a long-running series the characters may become too familiar and stale for some readers, and the story in itself may not be able to sustain interest. However, many readers will relish the idea of Alex Delaware and Milo Sturgis joining hands again to solve a puzzling mystery. I enjoyed the series and this is one of the best. The custody case and murder investigation is simply electrifying and keeps you guessing until the end. There is an element of suspense all throughout the book. Killer by Jonathan Kellerman is a tough to put down thriller which you will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars COULD ALEX BE GETTING OLD?, 27 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Killer (Alex Delaware) (Hardcover)
If you have followed the Alex Delaware/Milo Sturgis series from the start this will be familiar territory for you. A quick easy read with clipped prose and snappy dialogue as expected. Except in this case some of the dialogue is just plain off the mark - adding little to the story and just filling in pages.

In contrast Kellerman has a unique way of describing the city of L.A. Picturesque comes to mind: "...the sky was the color of sputum and the streets were strips of lint pied by inkblot shadows and animated by the lurch and stagger of impaired human beings." (Pg.251) I mention this only because there are not a lot of outstanding aspects to this book to mention.

Certainly there is a detective story with a twist or two and a satisfying ending, but for those familiar with Alex Delaware this one may feel like just more of the same. Dare I say Alex and Milo are getting bored with Mr. Kellermen OR is Mr. Kellerman getting bored with Alex and Milo??
For those new to the series, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 3 Nov. 2014
By 
Elaine Tomasso (Troon. Uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read this series since the beginning and I enjoy them. I don't think Killer is as tense or exciting as some of the earlier novels but it is still a good read which I devoured in 2 sittings. 2 sisters get caught up in a custody battle over one sister's child. Accusations fly but the mother gets to keep her child and the aunt is a poor loser who starts issuing threats to Alex and the judge. Then she is murdered and the mother and baby disappear. This book is a slow burner as the first third of the book is taken up by the custody battle but then with the murder we get to the meat and bones of it. It is cleverly plotted, although the justification for it all is a bit lame, and certainly keeps you on your toes trying to work it out. I like Alex and Milo as characters - they have a nicely honed routine going and are pleasant to read about. This is not one of Mr Kellerman's best offerings but is still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stayed Up Late Every Night!, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killer (Alex Delaware) (Hardcover)
As always, another brilliantly paced story with just the right amount of suspense to keep you interested and guessing. Especially loved the plug for the country Singapore, Singapore airlines and the Fullerton Hotel. Am guessing that he stayed there during his travels to Asia last year (I follow his FB and happened to see his photos with Faye in Singapore). I now see how he really uses his frist hand experience of places he visits and puts them in casually - love it. Can't wait for his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What has happened to kellerman?, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A ridiculous plot and half baked attempt to colour in the main characters. Not like the old kellerman at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Killer, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all of the Alex Delaware books and have enjoyed everyone of them ,that's not to say I didn't enjoy this one but if it had been my first I might not have got through it as it was so very slow to start of with. I am glad I stayed with it as it turned out to be as good as any of the others if not better it was Alex and Milo at there best tough funny and kept you guessing till near the end all in all a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old friends return, 7 April 2014
By 
Peachy (Kirkintilloch, Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I realised at the start of this book that Alex needs Milo to be a good read. It started out with Milo keeping his distance because of the circumstances of the story but they are a good partnership and that makes for good reading. The plot is different, quite convoluted but in our world of 'anything goes' quite believable. I know plots have to move with the times as do the characters but I hope that Jonathan Kellerman manages to keep with easy relationship between Alex and Milo strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Killer (Alex Delaware)
Killer (Alex Delaware) by Jonathan Kellerman (Hardcover - 11 Feb. 2014)
£18.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews