Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC READ
EVERYTHING YOU WANT TO ESCAPE
I HAVE READ ALL MARTINA COLES NOVELS, MY FAVORITES IN THIS ORDER WERE DANGEROUS LADY, MAURAS GAME & GOODNIGHT LADY. APPARANTLY MARTINA RECEIVED THE BIGGEST EVER ADVANCE FEES FOR A 1ST NOVEL PRIOR TO THE PUBLICATION OF DANGEROUS LADY AFTER THE PUBLISHER HAD READ JUST THE FIRST FEW CHAPTERS, READ THESE 3 BOOKS AND YOU WILL UNDERSTAND WHY
Published on 12 Mar 2004 by Mrs. Helen M. Williams

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit all over the place!
Was ok, but lost track if I left it for 2/3 days! Had to re-read it to keep up, so many different groups of people in it.
Published 2 months ago by mary58


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC READ, 12 Mar 2004
This review is from: Maura's Game (Paperback)
EVERYTHING YOU WANT TO ESCAPE
I HAVE READ ALL MARTINA COLES NOVELS, MY FAVORITES IN THIS ORDER WERE DANGEROUS LADY, MAURAS GAME & GOODNIGHT LADY. APPARANTLY MARTINA RECEIVED THE BIGGEST EVER ADVANCE FEES FOR A 1ST NOVEL PRIOR TO THE PUBLICATION OF DANGEROUS LADY AFTER THE PUBLISHER HAD READ JUST THE FIRST FEW CHAPTERS, READ THESE 3 BOOKS AND YOU WILL UNDERSTAND WHY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maura's Game - Martina Cole's best yet?, 20 Nov 2002
By 
NATHALIE (MANCHESTER, LANCS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Maura's Game (Paperback)
Maura's Game - the sequel to Martina Cole's brilliant 'Dangerous Lady' is absolutely engrossing. From page one, the story is as dramatic and shocking as Martina Cole's fans have come to expect. The characters are violent and believable, and the plot is superb and keeps the reader guessing all the way through - to the very last page. As always, Martina Cole challenges the boundaries between right and wrong, and evil and humane and the reader finds themselves sympathising with people from another world to their own. An excellent read, and even better if you have read 'Dangerous Lady' as this gives the reader extra insight into the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Gripping Read, 8 Nov 2002
By 
This review is from: Maura's Game (Paperback)
I've read all Martina Coles books now and have not been disappointed with any of them. In this book Maura returns from retirement and once again exerts her power over the criminal underworld. This book keeps you engrossed and has a few twists and turns on the way. As it is a long time since I read Dangerous Lady I did have some difficulty in remembering which character is which - It would have been useful to have quickly scanned through Dangerous Lady first. All in all a cracking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gripping Read, 4 Nov 2002
This review is from: Maura's Game (Paperback)
This book follows the story of Maura Ryan who we first met in the book Dangerous Lady. It tells the story of what happened to the Ryan family after Micheal Ryan died and Maura took control of the family business. It is full of East End violence and corruption and family members who have to face shocking and gripping consequences. Enemies from Maura's past soon surface but they should know better than to cross her.
This book will have you sitting on the edge of your seat, wondering where the next shocking revelations is going to come from it is an utterly complling read.
Another great powerful and shocking read by Martina Cole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 30 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Maura's Game (Paperback)
This is the first Martina Cole book I've read, and I must say that I was reasonably impressed with it. In Maura's Game we follow Maura Ryan who is the semi-retired head of Britain's biggest and most notorious criminal organisation. In this story she is called back into the criminal underworld one final time.
The author clearly tries very hard to make her female lead a convincing gangster leader, and to a large extent succeeds. However at times, it seems a little unrealistic, and the Godfather role seems more suited to a male. But the biggest success is the way Cole brings out the family element to the criminal mayhem and disorder...she shows how Maura has both a soft side as well as her hardened one. The Ryan family is an organisation by both blood and business, and it is this that creates intrigue in this novel, which is done quite well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maura's Game, 20 July 2003
This review is from: Maura's Game (Paperback)
This was my wife’s book, which I reluctantly started to read on holiday after finishing my own book. What a great surprise!! The action and suspense is wonderful not to mention the feelings of total despair felt by some of the Ryan family and the overriding duty to be loyal to the family name. I have never read any of Martina Cole’s other books as I assumed them to be of a romantic nature if my wife was reading them. I urge every man out there if he is not reading a Martina Cole book then buy one because the writing is both compelling and gripping and I am looking forward to reading a lot more of this wonderful authors books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply stunning..., 21 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Maura's Game (Paperback)
fantastic, evrything i want in a book... can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gripping!, 11 Jun 2003
By 
Wendy Heigho (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maura's Game (Paperback)
yet another amazing Martina Cole novel. From the 1st book, Dangerous Lady, she continues to write books that cannot be put down once started! Dangerous Lady should ideally be read before reading Mauras Game, but its not essential. Everyone I know that reads her books, including me, are eager for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner., 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maura's Game (Kindle Edition)
Martina kept my attention to the story from page 1 to the end. Looking forward to reading more of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maura's Game (Paperback)
I bought this book for my wife (I had already read it twice) and she loved it while I have read most of Martina's books in my opinion like most authors the earliest books are the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maura's Game
Maura's Game by Martina Cole (Paperback - 30 Sep 2010)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews