Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thriller that thrills!
I don't usually read crime novels, I am a historical fiction fan, but someone at work lent me this book. I was hooked from the first few pages. Donna's husband is arrested and imprisoned and she has absolutely no idea of what he was involved in and to what extent. He asks her to arrange his escape and through meeting a lot of dodgy characters (including her in-laws) she...
Published on 11 May 2004 by MrsOsborne2013

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Spoiled by the terrible main character...
Generally speaking, I enjoy Martina Cole books - particularly the older ones - but this book is one of the worst I have ever read, and it's main flaw is the awful lead character who is so wet and pathetic you want to leap onto the page and kill her yourself! Sadly, Martina and her stereotypes of women either being virgins or whores (surely this cannot be because she has...
Published on 10 July 2011 by F. Moorcroft


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thriller that thrills!, 11 May 2004
By 
MrsOsborne2013 "Legally_Lillywhite" (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Jump (Paperback)
I don't usually read crime novels, I am a historical fiction fan, but someone at work lent me this book. I was hooked from the first few pages. Donna's husband is arrested and imprisoned and she has absolutely no idea of what he was involved in and to what extent. He asks her to arrange his escape and through meeting a lot of dodgy characters (including her in-laws) she finally realises how her husband had been keeping her in so much luxury, and it is a shock to her. Donna's character develops as the story goes on and she becomes stronger and stronger until you are cheering her on in the final pages.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would be interested to read another of the author's novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Spoiled by the terrible main character..., 10 July 2011
By 
F. Moorcroft (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jump (Paperback)
Generally speaking, I enjoy Martina Cole books - particularly the older ones - but this book is one of the worst I have ever read, and it's main flaw is the awful lead character who is so wet and pathetic you want to leap onto the page and kill her yourself! Sadly, Martina and her stereotypes of women either being virgins or whores (surely this cannot be because she has had a Catholic upbringing?) allows this 'virgin' to live, even though her character doesn't really move on or develop throughout the book... Cut her out of this tale, and it could have been another fun romp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Second try at Martina, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jump (Kindle Edition)
This is only the 2nd book of Ms Coles that I have read - quite entertaining but a bit predictable although I did want to finish it! Not sure if she is an author I will read again - I read reviews on her novels before trying this 2nd one - it really was a mixed bunch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read but not the best that Martina has to offer, 4 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: The Jump (Paperback)
I have read quite a few of martina's books and have always been impressed but I found this one a little long winded and at parts hard to stay interested. Overall it was quite a good book but definitely not one of her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best so far..., 3 May 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jump (Paperback)
Having read most of martina cole's books now this has to be the best by far, not taking anything at all away from the others, but the way she manages to get you inside the characters mind is unbelievable, you almost feel as if you are with the characters all the way.
Just ordered the video for this, having not seen the television serialisation previously, hope its as good as the book.
Can't wait till October for the new one to be released.
Keep up the good work Martina....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dumb and Dumber, 11 Oct 2013
By 
Neutral "Phil" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Jump (Paperback)
I don't often read modern fiction and Martina Cole's 'The Jump' reminded me why. While Cole may have outscored Jackie Collins in terms of salacious presentation she falls desperately short of the quality crime writing of John Grisham. Her characters belong more in 'Fools and Horses' than ' The Client'. The fact that the book is amongst her best sellers shows how far British culture has dumbed down. Her characters are one-dimensional and could all be mistaken as being the same with different names united by their inability to speak any language but foul. Why the Greek Brunos should be given an Italian first name is a mystery or a sign of ignorance overlooked by the great unwashed.

Donna Fenland moved from a loveless home into the warmth of the Brunos family and was happy for two decades until the police arrived to arrest her husband Georgio Brunos, promptly restraining him with brutal force. Cole reinforced her story by skipping the magistrates' proceedings, using incorrect responses and portraying the police as if they were still living in the days of Tanky Challenor fitting up suspects by beating them. While Georgio was sent to Parkhurst, Donna, the put-upon, never done a day's work in her life Donna, becomes involved in her husband's businesses and is immediately transformed into a hard as nails business woman. Unfortunately Cole's other characters are as equally unbelievable. It's difficult to know whether her writing is pastiche, parody or simply piffling. One thing it is not, is original. The sex is a poor imitation of porn at its worst and even the murders are antiseptic.

In prison Georgio tangled with hard man Donald Lewis who allegedly had people killed even while resident in prison and frequently boasted about murders he had been able to order. Lewis, anxious to know the whereabouts of Georgio's share of the robbery money for which he received eighteen years, sent heavies round to Donna's only for them to be met and removed by heavies protecting Donna. The next target was Georgio's car lot or rather Donna's car lot as the wayward husband had placed everything in her name. Suddenly she became, once again unbelievably, tough and uncompromising, agreeing to meet Georgio's old mate to secure an escape, a 'jump', hence the title of the book. Cole manages, without subtlety or style, to mention the Old Bill, Serious Crime Squad and the Sweeney in the same sentence! A pity she didn't do the same with the rest of the book it could have saved the entire rain-forest of South America.

Cole appears to include every cliche from 'Prepare to meet thy doom' to 'kindly adjust your dress before leaving'. It's as if she's raided the archives of the Sun newspaper, dug out every story written on crime and thrown them altogether in a hotch-potch of wasted ink on the assumption her readership lacks sufficient intelligence to recognise her talentless writing. Obviously she was right. Obviously, that's a comment on the ignorance of popular culture which is popular because it's ignorant, not ignorant because it's popular. She appears not to know that Essex is not the centre of the cultural world. She clearly doesn't understand that Cheshire is not the hinterland of Liverpool but of Greater Manchester and while a Scandinavian-style house might have looked out of place in Liverpool she was referring to Cheshire. Still, Essex girls, what do you expect?

Georgio, lying in prison wondering about his wife's faithfulness, his 'mates' outside also wondering the same. Donna prying into the illegal business in which Georgio was the sleeping partner and the sleeping practicals were provided by females of dubious ages and discovering the Brunos's knew all about their children's nefarious activities. The child-porn business was run by Georgio's brother Stephen who was working with Lewis but the idea was allegedly Georgio's. It's like a soap opera with long forgotten children coming out of the past to maintain interest in a dying story line. Only the names of the guilty are missing, some of the time!

Towards the latter part of the book Cole starts to reveal everything in spurts, including the waves as Donna rejects Georgio and succumbs to Alan Cox, or rather Alan's...? After the jump with Alan she wanted Georgio's jump stopped. Alan claimed he couldn't do that but he did stop Stephen Brunos permanently. Georgio never made the jump he was stabbed in prison and his mother sold her story to the News of The World (yes, the book's that old). The wake for the Brunos brothers started with 'Kevin Barry' (a homage to an IRA murderer who was ordered by his Sinn Fein brigade commander to produce an affidavit alleging torture by the British army) which, outside Irish mythology, holds little credence. Donna recovered Georgio's, or rather Lewis's, money, gave half to her friend, who was appalled her husband had also been involved with child porn, burning the other half before tasting Cox's pippin once more. As with all fairy tales the family of the little girl killed during sex would be taken care of financially in a crude variation of the traditional tart with a heart theme.

The book's blurb claims Cole tells it like it is. Frankly, apart from the sleeping around, which allegedly is common amongst Essex girls, what she has produced is twerking that produces sarcastic laughter rather than excitement. It's no wonder so many of the reviewers appear incapable of producing more than a few lines but no indication of the plot. The Jump is less of an underworld revelation as a underground reservoir of sewage which deserves the fate which befell the News of The World. Definitely a book for cretins, one star at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BORRRRRING and SIMPLISTIC !!! UTTER RUBBISH !! What a let-down !, 1 Feb 2013
By 
Iris Krummenohl (Antwerp/Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jump (Paperback)
How anybody can call this book an “explosive thriller”, I have no idea.
Boring, boring, USELESS.
ZE PLOT : Donna Brunos, of course incredibly beautiful, classy and innocent, is married to this (of course) unbelievably good-looking Greek God Georgio (certainly NOT a Greek name, because the Greek prefer to name their son “Georgiou”, I’m sorry, Martina Cole), who is a criminal, a mobster, a gangster. Only poor sweet Donna has no idea. Then – oh, how tragic ! – Georgio gets caught, convicted and has to face 18 years in jail. Which makes him weep and bawl uncontrollably and swear to his sweet Donna (while he touches her under her skirt – can you believe it ?!), that he is innocent, oh, so innocent !!!! So will she please help him to escape prison, oh please, please, Donna ????
In the meantime Donna- who has never lifted a single finger to work in her whole life – takes over the control of “the business” and does oh so good; oh yes, she just has the knack, she suddenly discovers ….. oh yes, and she will make her man (in prison) so proud, that she can look after his business !!!! …

Dear fellow lovers of thrillers – I really had to stop reading, when Georgio sits in his prison-cell and weeps bitter tears of regret and fury. After about 100 pages, which I tried to read – I tell you, I HONESTLY TRIED !!!!, I threw the book away in a hurry – this is a book for people who love stories like “Sister Severine of ward 7” or something, but this is NOT a thriller.

If you love (psychological) thrillers like I do, take my advise : Look into Richard Montanari’s books. ALL of them are exceptionally well written and each and every plot will THRILL YOU TO THE BONE.

Martina Cole won’t. I don’t know, why she bothers. And I certainly don’t know, how she found a publisher. THIS BOOK IS UTTER RUBBISH and Martina Coles writes like a ..... okay, I'll shut up already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating..thrilling.., 29 Sep 1999
This review is from: The Jump (Paperback)
Last year, while en-route to Russia via a ship, my husband was given this book to help pass the time. After he returned to the States, he gave it to me. This is an excellent book. It's been a long time since an author has held my attention this way. After searching for more of her books, I was able to find them on Amazon.co.uk and was extremely excited. I have since read four of her books in three weeks and I am currently waiting for her latest one to arrive.
Martina Cole writes with an insight to things like no other author I've read. My husband is not a "reader" and he thoroughly enjoys her work.
by: Audrey LeLeux
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE JUMP - EXCELLENT, 11 Nov 2003
By 
Viv (Rochester, Kent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Jump (Paperback)
I have ready every one of Martina's books, this is one of the best; I am in the process of tracking down the video - it must make interesting viewing.
I'm part way through 'The Runaway' and will be reading 'The Know' directly after! I just hope Martina can keep writing as fast as I'm reading her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and realistic., 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jump (Kindle Edition)
Was glued the whole way through. very realistic book. thoroughly good read, shocking in places. shows true strength of character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Jump
The Jump by Martina Cole (Paperback - 29 April 2010)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews