Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cool and convincing
An admirable study of the assassination and its background. Summers' work is characterized by restraint and an academic scepticism. As an investigation, the book is very well researched and well written, and it proceeds with a convincing logic.

Summers has an excellent historical method, seen for example in his clear and objective examination of the evidence...
Published 10 months ago by S. Ramsey-Hardy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hugely disappointing
Read the original 'Conspiracy' book years ago and thought it worthwhile. Unfortunately for Summers, there has been a great deal of research performed on the JFK case over the years which has rendered many of his previous conclusions or suppositions invalid.. Annoyingly, he appears to have taken the lazy option of not doing much additional work himself in the intervening...
Published 6 months ago by I. S. Macarthur


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cool and convincing, 13 Oct 2013
By 
S. Ramsey-Hardy (italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not In Your Lifetime: The Assassination of JFK (Paperback)
An admirable study of the assassination and its background. Summers' work is characterized by restraint and an academic scepticism. As an investigation, the book is very well researched and well written, and it proceeds with a convincing logic.

Summers has an excellent historical method, seen for example in his clear and objective examination of the evidence on how Jack Ruby managed to get in the right place, at the right time, for Oswald's transfer through police headquarters.

Evidence is given the space to speak for itself. It becomes clear that it is not the author's intention to grind axes for particular angles on this mystery -or to pin the reader to one point of view. Here the author's task is to raise questions based on the available evidence. Though he points the way, he allows the reader to form his own opinions.

In other books, details about Oswald's background and about probable Mafia intrigues can be confusing. These questions naturally remain complicated but here for the first time I found Oswald's strange story made sense. Fluent, gripping -and possibly the best in its field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Account of the JFK Assassination, 29 Dec 2013
I initially came across the predecessor to this Kindle book whilst out shopping one Saturday afternoon way, way, way back in the autumn of 1988 and I've been hooked on the whole damning minefield that is the JFK murder quagmire ever since. Having acquired more books on the case than I care to admit to (or acknowledge for that matter) I will say this: Anthony Summers provides the most thought-provoking and lucid account of the most controversial murder case of the last century. Having bought several later editions of the book I am now looking forward to reading this latest - and updated - version. I particularly like Summers in-depth analysis of the life and times of alleged assassin Lee Harvey Oswald. By reading this work alone convinces me (totally and utterly) that Oswald was not the President's killer and was framed for the murder of JFK. The word "patsy" has oft been uttered in this case and, in my opinion, read this book and you will see why that word was invented for Lee Harvey Oswald. The book was a formidable contribution to the JFK assassination riddle back in 1988 and this updated version remains true some 25 years later...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always the best study on JFK's assassination, 2 Dec 2013
This is an update on Anthony Summers previous work 'The Kennedy Conspiracy'. I have been convinced for many years that the Warren Commision's report was a shallow, misleading cover up of the real events in Dallas on 22 November, 1963. There is a huge volume of evidence that the assassination was the result of a conspiracy between organised crime, renegade CIA officers and anti-Castro Cubans and that Lee Harvey Oswald was a 'Patsy', set up by the aforementioned to take the fall - it is possible, but not likely that he even fired a weapon in Dealey Plaza that day. As an expert historian and investigative journalist, Summers did not start out with a preconception - the evidence led him to his conclusion. From a judicial point of view I can categorically state that if it appeared in court today, there could be no possible verdict other than a conspiracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting read-digs a lot of buried information up!, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not In Your Lifetime: The Assassination of JFK (Paperback)
Heard the Author on a radio program and had too buy the book, myself and my Son have always been fascinated about the cover up (well were both sure that there was one) and the very in-depth information contained in this book only confirms our suspicion's. It grips you that much, you don't want too put the darned thing down! If you ever wondered about the killing of JFK- THIS IS A MUST READ BOOK....10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still one of the best..., 12 Oct 2013
Read this years ago under the original title "Conspiracy". Now available on Kindle, hurrah! In my view it is still one of the best books on the Kennedy assassination around because it is well-researched and even-handed in its approach. Unlike many titles in the genre, the author has no pet theory other than that Oswald was not the only gunman in Dallas on that fatal day, which is pretty much accepted by any rational person even remotely in interested in the key event. Summers therefore does a great job of investigating all the angles, the role of shadow government agencies, organised crime and the essential Cuban connections all get a thorough going through as does Oswald's own very interesting life and times.

This is not just a re-edition, there are updates and alterations of the original text made due to new information that has come to light in the last few years. Also contains some interesting graphics and photos which can be enlarged using the Paperwhite's controls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hugely disappointing, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read the original 'Conspiracy' book years ago and thought it worthwhile. Unfortunately for Summers, there has been a great deal of research performed on the JFK case over the years which has rendered many of his previous conclusions or suppositions invalid.. Annoyingly, he appears to have taken the lazy option of not doing much additional work himself in the intervening decades and, as a result, this book is a virtual rehash of the previous volume, with only a couple of additional interviews he's conducted. Too much in thrall to Blakey's discredited 'Mob did it' theory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific read - completely compelling, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. L. Perry (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When it comes to telling the story of what happened in Dallas 50 years ago & answering the just as interesting Why? I find It hard to believe that this book will be bettered.

Cuba, Russia, the Mafia, the CIA, there's a lot going on here, and the fact that the truth is nestled somewhere within these pages makes for a tantalising story.

Anthony Summers - I salute you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant detail, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book approaches every piece of detail meticulously. I found this a wonderful piece of investigation and story telling. Must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Complete Coverage, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not In Your Lifetime: The Assassination of JFK (Paperback)
This is an obviously well researched book into all the conspiracy theories. It's all so complicated and clearly Oswald wasn't a mad 'lone gunman', but there were so many who wanted Kennedy dead, and Oswald was implicated in one way or another with all of them. This is about as good an attempt to cover the issues as you could hope for. But all the strange events surrounding the murder(s) make the mystery even deeper rather than resolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 9 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Consider this book after reading the reviews and agree with them properly the best jfk book I have read. Full of information and hard to put down a must read for anybody who likes this tangled web of a tragic story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Not In Your Lifetime: The Assassination of JFK
Not In Your Lifetime: The Assassination of JFK by Anthony Summers (Paperback - 10 Oct 2013)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews