Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars22
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 February 2013
I am a lover of most sports but honestly feel that this is the best book on sport ever written. The event, coming after the Olympics and Andy Murray's US open win might have been forgotten had it not been for Europe's amazing last day comeback. The description of the heroic efforts by both teams and the sportsmanship, most notably by Phil Mickelson and the US captain Davis Love are lovingly told. This book is a tribute to the great Seve Ballesteros and will be read many many times.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Well researched, well written. It is not just a sequential digest of each match but every event has a context. From the 'presence of Seve' through the insight into Olazabal and his role as captain to the varying personalities of the players it is cleverly crafted. And of course it has a happy ending ....
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
A great read that I couldn't put down. We were there and it was the best sporting event I have ever been to, this book completely does it justice!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
To do justice in print to such an amazing sporting event as the 2012 Ryder Cup is quite a challenge, but the author here has pulled it off quite spectacularly well.

There is a perfect mix of facts and opinion which kept my attention from the very first page.

It really is a page turner and i recommend it without hesitation to all golf fans.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
It is not a bad book, gives pretty much the full story of the 2012 Ryder Cup, with some input from backstage, more on the European side. The shadow of Seve Ballesteros is all over the book and Medinah, Poulter brings the European back from the dead, Stricker misses a few putts he never misses, Martin Kaymer holes the crucial putt, Tiger is left with nothing, Olazabal lets some tears of joy on the last green.
All good, but the book itself lacks the intensity the event had. I youtubed the last two hours of the competition as I was reading the last 100 pages, and that was not in the book favour, even with the poor definition of the video. First, there are a few mistakes (e.g. where Phil acknowledges Justin's clutch putt) and the all thing is written with the knowledge of the outcome which castrates the excitement of the writer.

So not bad, but the greatest sports book ever, I don't think so. Try John Feinstein and Lauren St John's golf books... And I'm sure cricket and tennis have produced major thrillers too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
By the time you have finished the first chapter of this book, you know that you are reading a great sports book. I don't mean 'really good' or even 'excellent' - this is one of the great books on sport, of which there are very, very few. You don't need to be a golf fan to enjoy the atmosphere the writer creates - I don't play golf, though I do like to watch it. The event, of course, was extraordinary, but if anything that makes it harder to make a great book out of it, because how do you capture what went on on that final day in particular, using just words? Oliver Holt achieves that completely. It is a brilliant book. The background to the Ryder Cup at Medinah is essential, and it is covered in just enough depth to ensure that the reader knows why it was so important in golfing (and national pride) terms, but without becoming remotely boring. As the matches develop, the story builds, as it did at Medinah, until the amazing climax. Wonderful book, truly one of the great sporting books of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
Having played golf for many years, I find many aspects of the game which make an excellent subject for a book. Having watched Medinah live on tv, having done the same again via DVD, I was more than surprised how much more the book had to offer than I expected. The writer is clearly on good terms with the players, and many anecdotes previously unknown make this apparent.
The tenseness, the drama and yes, even the humour, make it seem as if you were present witnessing what was unfolding. I don't think it will be too long before it gets a second read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
Really enjoyed reliving such a fantastic comeback. Captures the events really well and reignites the rollercoaster of emotions and events.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Decent book. Without being a golf snob there are some sections which give away the writer is not a golfer i.e. pushing a shot to the left....which is a pull. Also there are a lot of references to other books rather than incites to the players and this Ryder cup. Overall however I enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
Great book, and as other people who have reviewed this book say, it is a complete review of stories, memories, and not just a blow by blow account of each stroke. It's a really enjoyable read for anyone who was on the winning side.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)