Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars greatest sports book of all time
I am a lover of most sports but honestly feel that this is the best book on sport ever written. The event, coming after the Olympics and Andy Murray's US open win might have been forgotten had it not been for Europe's amazing last day comeback. The description of the heroic efforts by both teams and the sportsmanship, most notably by Phil Mickelson and the US captain...
Published 18 months ago by gubby mekon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad
Decent book. Without being a golf snob there are some sections which give away the writer is not a golfer i.e. pushing a shot to the left....which is a pull. Also there are a lot of references to other books rather than incites to the players and this Ryder cup. Overall however I enjoyed it.
Published 7 months ago by gregor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars greatest sports book of all time, 11 Feb 2013
By 
gubby mekon (droitwich spa, worcs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miracle at Medinah: Europe's Amazing Ryder Cup Comeback (Hardcover)
I am a lover of most sports but honestly feel that this is the best book on sport ever written. The event, coming after the Olympics and Andy Murray's US open win might have been forgotten had it not been for Europe's amazing last day comeback. The description of the heroic efforts by both teams and the sportsmanship, most notably by Phil Mickelson and the US captain Davis Love are lovingly told. This book is a tribute to the great Seve Ballesteros and will be read many many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miracle at Medinah, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle at Medinah: Europe's Amazing Ryder Cup Comeback (Hardcover)
Well researched, well written. It is not just a sequential digest of each match but every event has a context. From the 'presence of Seve' through the insight into Olazabal and his role as captain to the varying personalities of the players it is cleverly crafted. And of course it has a happy ending ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow this brought back memories, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read that I couldn't put down. We were there and it was the best sporting event I have ever been to, this book completely does it justice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely first class, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To do justice in print to such an amazing sporting event as the 2012 Ryder Cup is quite a challenge, but the author here has pulled it off quite spectacularly well.

There is a perfect mix of facts and opinion which kept my attention from the very first page.

It really is a page turner and i recommend it without hesitation to all golf fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great memories, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed reliving such a fantastic comeback. Captures the events really well and reignites the rollercoaster of emotions and events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Decent book. Without being a golf snob there are some sections which give away the writer is not a golfer i.e. pushing a shot to the left....which is a pull. Also there are a lot of references to other books rather than incites to the players and this Ryder cup. Overall however I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book ....... unless you are an American!, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having played golf for many years, I find many aspects of the game which make an excellent subject for a book. Having watched Medinah live on tv, having done the same again via DVD, I was more than surprised how much more the book had to offer than I expected. The writer is clearly on good terms with the players, and many anecdotes previously unknown make this apparent.
The tenseness, the drama and yes, even the humour, make it seem as if you were present witnessing what was unfolding. I don't think it will be too long before it gets a second read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At last - a sports book as great as the event itself, 4 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
By the time you have finished the first chapter of this book, you know that you are reading a great sports book. I don't mean 'really good' or even 'excellent' - this is one of the great books on sport, of which there are very, very few. You don't need to be a golf fan to enjoy the atmosphere the writer creates - I don't play golf, though I do like to watch it. The event, of course, was extraordinary, but if anything that makes it harder to make a great book out of it, because how do you capture what went on on that final day in particular, using just words? Oliver Holt achieves that completely. It is a brilliant book. The background to the Ryder Cup at Medinah is essential, and it is covered in just enough depth to ensure that the reader knows why it was so important in golfing (and national pride) terms, but without becoming remotely boring. As the matches develop, the story builds, as it did at Medinah, until the amazing climax. Wonderful book, truly one of the great sporting books of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Alright., 27 Nov 2013
By 
It is not a bad book, gives pretty much the full story of the 2012 Ryder Cup, with some input from backstage, more on the European side. The shadow of Seve Ballesteros is all over the book and Medinah, Poulter brings the European back from the dead, Stricker misses a few putts he never misses, Martin Kaymer holes the crucial putt, Tiger is left with nothing, Olazabal lets some tears of joy on the last green.
All good, but the book itself lacks the intensity the event had. I youtubed the last two hours of the competition as I was reading the last 100 pages, and that was not in the book favour, even with the poor definition of the video. First, there are a few mistakes (e.g. where Phil acknowledges Justin's clutch putt) and the all thing is written with the knowledge of the outcome which castrates the excitement of the writer.

So not bad, but the greatest sports book ever, I don't think so. Try John Feinstein and Lauren St John's golf books... And I'm sure cricket and tennis have produced major thrillers too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Medinah again, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent read - very good detail even if any reader will know the outcome - recommended holiday read !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miracle at Medinah: Europe's Amazing Ryder Cup Comeback
Miracle at Medinah: Europe's Amazing Ryder Cup Comeback by Oliver Holt (Hardcover - 22 Nov 2012)
16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews