Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag, but the good outweighs the bad
This is the most radically different edition of the Yearbook we've had in a decade, some of it good and some of it bad.

The Yearbook has been through a lot of changes in the last 15 years, few of them for the better:

- Team photos and crests are long gone.

- Non-league football below tier 7 disappeared with no explanation a couple of...
Published 10 months ago by Garry Essendine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Has the stats, could be improved
In years gone by the football yearbooks had a diary of the headlines of the year, usually day by day which has been sadly missing from the latest versions and makes them not just an update of the stats of the previous years book. Its not just about the stats, we like to read about the stories through the season too, or have the makers decided that fans dont look at the...
Published 5 months ago by mark wood


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag, but the good outweighs the bad, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the most radically different edition of the Yearbook we've had in a decade, some of it good and some of it bad.

The Yearbook has been through a lot of changes in the last 15 years, few of them for the better:

- Team photos and crests are long gone.

- Non-league football below tier 7 disappeared with no explanation a couple of seasons ago.

- The old comprehensive Milestones "diary" section, the section I used to love poring over in every new edition in the 90s, changed about 10 years ago (after the original guy who used to write them passed away, I believe) into an almost-incomprehensible catalogue of incidents ("Drog volley at Leeds. Roo heroics. Now Eng must beat Moldova!") obviously typed up from someone's handwritten rough notes, most of which made no sense months later (never mind years) - this section was so awful that the publishers had to include a separate page actually listing milestones ("Cups, Ups & Downs") because the diary was indicipherable.

- Finally, some of the editorial pieces, which once let the Rothmans Yearbook legitimately claim to be the "Wisden of Football", degenerated into streams of tabloid slang and crushingly unfunny jokes (the low point came when discussing the 2010 World Cup: "Nigeria coach Lars Lagertop, sorry Lagerback!..." - hilarious, mate).

This year, things have changed. Jack and Glenda Rollin are no longer credited as editors - in fact, they don't seem to be involved at all - and the jokey attempts at dumbed-down banter seem to have gone with them. The entire tone of the book is more serious and restrained (a good thing in my eyes, as I doubt anyone buying this thousand-page brick of stats is looking for feeble light entertainment) and some good points are made in the editorial sections. Rare good ideas from the past decade - full coverage of the Champions League and Europa League, full coverage of the Conference, league standings in the International Directory - have been kept. The result is for the first time in years, this actually feels more like an old edition of the Rothmans Yearbook.

There are still improvements to be made; I understand space constraints and budget concerns make it unlikely the team photos will come back, but the Milestones diary is now gone altogether (I'd love the publishers to find some committed writer to cover the season properly in the style of 20th Century editions), and most of the lower leagues are still missing (the vast majority of non-league coverage is devoted to the FA Trophy and FA Vase, not league tables).

Still, this is overall an improved offering compared to previous seasons; I'm looking forward to seeing whether next year's edition can keep up the good work and get this back to its former glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky Sports Football Yearbook 2013-2014 (Paperback)
Enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 19 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky Sports Football Yearbook 2013-2014 (Paperback)
Absolutely loved by my 16 year old nephew. A full twelve months football information venues, dates etc. What more could a big fan need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great football bible, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky Sports Football Yearbook 2013-2014 (Paperback)
I have bought every edition since it began in 1970 and it just gets better. Amazon normally has the best discounted deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky Sports Football Yearbook 2013-2014 (Paperback)
Buy this book every year, it's a good product. As a football fan it's a must. Recommend to any football fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Football Daft, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky Sports Football Yearbook 2013-2014 (Paperback)
Our son is football daft and loves facts and figures. He enjoys absorbing all the facts contained in this yearbook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every team - all the information you need, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky Sports Football Yearbook 2013-2014 (Paperback)
This book is a must for any football fan, and at 13 it was a bargain to! It has stats and information about every team, including full results from the 2012/2013 season,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars as advertised, 25 Feb 2014
By 
C. Eves - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky Sports Football Yearbook 2013-2014 (Paperback)
This was bought as a Christmas gift for my nephew. good quality book full of interesting stats. good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Has the stats, could be improved, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky Sports Football Yearbook 2013-2014 (Paperback)
In years gone by the football yearbooks had a diary of the headlines of the year, usually day by day which has been sadly missing from the latest versions and makes them not just an update of the stats of the previous years book. Its not just about the stats, we like to read about the stories through the season too, or have the makers decided that fans dont look at the back pages and just look at results?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ex-Rothman's, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky Sports Football Yearbook 2013-2014 (Paperback)
Fantastic work as always. You can never get enough knowledge about football (says the Irish anorak) and I have almost every edition of this work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sky Sports Football Yearbook 2013-2014
20.00
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews