Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True heroism is so much more interesting than fiction
Rather than relying upon the imaginary creations of Marvel Comics, those who commission Hollywood scripts would do well to leaf through the pages of this inspiring book. Within, they will discover the stories of any number of real super-heroes.

Spanning as it does almost a hundred years, Heroes of the Skies is a testament to remarkable acts of airborne courage...
Published 22 months ago by Emit Grogan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Heroes of the Skies
Comprehensive and detailed account of the various pilots and their exploits. Worth a read but nothing outstanding unless you're into the subject.
Published 18 months ago by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True heroism is so much more interesting than fiction, 9 Sep 2012
This review is from: Heroes of the Skies (Hardcover)
Rather than relying upon the imaginary creations of Marvel Comics, those who commission Hollywood scripts would do well to leaf through the pages of this inspiring book. Within, they will discover the stories of any number of real super-heroes.

Spanning as it does almost a hundred years, Heroes of the Skies is a testament to remarkable acts of airborne courage across the complete history of British military aviation. The `Dambusters' are here, as is Bomber Command and the `few' from the Battle of Britain. And the stories of famous heroes like Douglas Bader sit alongside those of the less well-known, but equally courageous. There are even some whose identity, for reasons of security, have been kept secret.

The accounts range in age from the shooting down by an early biplane of a Zeppelin over Walthamstow to a daring rescue attempt under fire by Apache helicopter in Afghanistan. Each story is very different from the next, but all are fascinating.

Written in a wonderfully racy style, Heroes of the Skies is a marvellous volume to dip into at leisure. It is not, though, for the feint of heart. The reader is confronted with danger at every page and one is left marvelling at the skill, endeavour and extraordinary bravery of those whose stories it recounts. This is one terrific read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bravery of these airmen has no limits, 18 Sep 2012
This review is from: Heroes of the Skies (Hardcover)
Towards the start of this book, author Michael Ashcroft reveals that he has had a near lifelong interest in bravery. His great passion for courageous men and their brave deeds shows through time and again in the 380 pages of this gripping, well-written book. In the author's eyes, more than 80 decorated airmen are the "Heroes of the Skies", men who risked (and sometimes gave) their lives when duty called.
Fighter aces from WW1, bomber crew from WW2 and helicopter pilots from recent conflicts - this book has all these and more. Heroes of the Skies is a wonderful testament to the bravery of Allied airmen over the past century. Anyone who reads it will be in no doubt of the debt that we owe to Winston Churchill's "Few" - the Battle of Britain pilots from WW2 - and many more airmen besides. This book is a real treat and I challenge anyone not to be humbled by the bravery of these selfless airmen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Tribute to our WW2 Heroes, 25 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes of the Skies (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my Dad (now 87) as he was in the R.A.F during the second world war. He has always felt that there was never enough credit or recognition given to those who fought and died defending our shores our people and our way of life so bravely. This book is a fine tribute to them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and inspiring, 13 Sep 2012
By 
E. Day - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great read! As an author myself I have been researching the First World War period and I found Heroes of the Skies to be a fund of useful information, packed full of extraordinary tales of heroism brought to life by the pacy and fluent writing. This is an inspirational book about remarkable people and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravery not politics, 20 Sep 2012
This review is from: Heroes of the Skies (Hardcover)
It was only after hearing Michael Ashcroft, a prominent right-wing Conservative politician and author of this book, explain on radio that the dark arts of politics had nothing to do with bravery that I bought Heroes of the Skies. A good decision, otherwise my disquiet for his political viewpoint would have forced me to reject his work. I was also happy to learn that all the royalties are going to the RAF Benevolent Fund. Enough of prejudice. This is a tautly written history of heroism in the air. Particularly fascinating are the interviews with the surviving heroes. I was gripped by the story of "Uncle Bill" O'Brien, who won the DFM during the Falklands War and then at the age of 55, 27 years later,was still flying missions in Afghanistan. He still does not know what the fuss is about. A true hero as are all in this wonderful book. If only Ashcroft could change his politics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully evocative of what really occurred in the air war during WWII, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes of the Skies (Paperback)
Firstly this is a very true account. Then the reader gets the impression of actually flying the aircraft as the author is thinking out loud! You get the feeling of really being involved in the action. An excellent book for any WWII flying buff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not bought for me;, 28 Dec 2013
By 
J. M. Adams (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes of the Skies (Hardcover)
This was a present so cannot give a personal opinion:
however the person I bought it for enjoyed it. I can only
assume the were being honest and not just polite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dads favourite, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes of the Skies (Hardcover)
The book arrived promptly and was in excellent condition. It was cheaper than on the high street and my Dad really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 5 Nov 2013
great book any one intrested in the history of thd RAF then this is the book. plently of detail from ww1 right though to afgan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heroes of the Skies, 17 Mar 2013
By 
M. Watkins "cbxmel" (North Wales.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroes of the Skies (Hardcover)
Interesting volume which covers a vast number of military heroes who have left their mark on military aviation history.
An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heroes of the Skies
Heroes of the Skies by Michael Ashcroft (Hardcover - 13 Sep 2012)
8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews