Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Miracle of Istanbul and other great European nights
As his six-year tenure as Liverpool manager ended in June 2010, the disappointment of many who had supported Rafa Benitez through some very troubled times was soon apparent, as was the realisation that many of those supporters did not really know a great deal about the man who had led the club they supported for those six years. Now that has changed with the publication...
Published 23 months ago by Mr. C. M. Wood

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
A good read but not that different from the normal football books by ex players and managers. Rafa as a manager was first class but not ready for a book yet.
Published 21 months ago by sportfan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Lesson by the Tactical Maestro, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Champions League Dreams (Hardcover)
I love football so I enjoyed reading and learning more about game plans , tactics, and the world of football
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Champions League Dreams (Hardcover)
This is a great book by Rafa Benitez as a Liverpool fan this is a must buy. those european nights are a thing of the past at the minute with Liverpool out of the champs league but what a way to relive those night through this book. madrid, inter juventus and of course milan in istanbul are all featured plus many more. brilliant book from a Liverpool legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for all LFC fans!, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Champions League Dreams (Hardcover)
Bought this as a christmas present for my Dad and he was over the moon with it!! I was over the moon with the price so everyone was happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Present, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Champions League Dreams (Hardcover)
Only gave 4 stars because bought as a present so can't really review it but have had no complaints fro recipient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good insight, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good insight into what it takes to run a club in the modern world. A good purchase for any Liverpool fan and interesting for any football fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read true legend, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Champions League Dreams (Hardcover)
Great read true legend what he done for the club will never be forgotten and only if for those poor owners where would we be now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In rafa we trusted, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some great memories re lived through the words of the man who masterminded it all. A great read. A must buy for any football fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NICE book, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Champions League Dreams (Hardcover)
i would recommend this book to all LFC and Rafa Benitez fans
It's really good and let us know more and deeper !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Book to Match the Man ... Highly technical but just falls short of being the best, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Captain EO "No. 7" (Cardiff, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Champions League Dreams (Hardcover)
I should start by saying that as a lifelong Liverpool fan my views on Rafa Benitez are mixed. On one hand I will always hold him in high esteem due to the original impact he had on the club & the manner in which he helped steer us back to glory days on the European stage but equally it's impossible to forget that towards the end of his tenure I was far more accustomed to groaning than cheering. With that in mind I was still very interested to read his account of our wonderful European triumphs that unfortunately right now seem like centuries ago rather than merely years.

In typical Benitez style, even the book itself is cleverly focused on the successes achieved in the Champions League so this is certinly not a full autobiography & although it covers his entire time at Liverpool from start to finish, it's very much an account of the club's time back in Europe. It's a wise move but you'd have to be very bias not to read this book & recognise the fact that Rafa seems to have a rather blinkered view on quite how successful he was during his time in Liverpool. He's absolutely correct to state that he led the club to a European Cup victory, another final & countless other "highs" & memorable encounters & evenings but surely he must also acknowledge some of the "lows" so to speak ? Regardless of this, he's a modern day football manager & I guess it goes with the territory that often they will act more politician than coach ?

The Introduction alone had me teary-eyed. Within pages it's clear to the reader quite what an impact Liverpool FC & the fans had on Rafa & his family. It was perhaps my favourite part of the book as this alone let you peek behind the expressionless facade that most had come to expect from the man regarded as lacking in emotion. Whether you enjoy the book or not, you'd find it difficult to argue that Rafa Benitez doesn't love Liverpool Football Club & always will.

The main body of the book itself is a blow-by-blow account of each season Rafa was in charge & covers the tactics employed in each key game. It's certainly fascinating to read quite how much preparation goes into each & every match but I'm sure many will agree that the approach may not necessarily achieve the desired goal. One has to have heart, character, flair & lots more to gain absolute success & in this manner Rafa's style as detailed in the book didn't surprise me a single bit. At times I found myself almost wanting to scream ... the hard work was done, just loosen the shackles a little. I liken it to the feeling Arsenal fans must constantly experience with Arsene Wenger, just go & buy a couple of hard men for when the chips are down& we'll be there.

Much of the book provides a truly insightful view into Rafa's time at Liverpool. The fact that Benitez & his team log every penalty ever taken over the last few decades to provide the goalkeeper with a corresponding area of the goal in which they expect the penalty to be struck. It's so incredibly precise it's staggering but generally stuff like this works. Similar to Rafa pointing out that despite many of his tv critics whining about a poor zonal marking system, it's only when it doesn't work that they highlight a negativity & even then, fail to remark that he would often mix it up with man marking when perhaps playing against the likes of John Terry. Stuff like this is wonderful to read when compared to many traditional football memoirs.

As the book progresses, the team selection for big games & tactics deployed does get a bit tiresome, I soak up everything about Liverpool but one only wants to hear so much about whose marking who & why. Generally though it certainly proves to be a refreshingly different style of management book. You have to balance that with the fact that much of the book does lack a little humour & heart.

Generally, if you like autobiographies & predictably, are a Liverpool fan, I'd recommend picking this up. It will remind you that despite an awkward end to his tenure, Rafa Benitez did a great deal of good for the most successful club-side in Britain & he will undoubtedly always be a Red.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 20 Nov 2012
This review is from: Champions League Dreams (Hardcover)
A good read but not that different from the normal football books by ex players and managers. Rafa as a manager was first class but not ready for a book yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Champions League Dreams
Champions League Dreams by Rafa Benitez (Hardcover - 13 Sep 2012)
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews