Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Premiership football has lost it's heart
More personal and moving than 'Man United Ruined my Life',less about football and cricket and more about loss and bereavement and the adjustments one has to make when we 'lose' the essential loves of our life. I am about the same age as the author, and can identify with the central themes of the book. Replace Lancashire CCC with Yorkshire CCC and Manchester City with a...
Published on 6 Dec. 2012 by paulsg

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book ruined my weekend...
Don't be fooled by the title - this book has very little to do with Manchester City.

Colin Shindler doesn't go to City matches any more, but still feels the need to try and revive his failing career as an author by one more attempt to hitch a ride on the back of their recent success.

What the book IS about is Shindler's rather dull middle age in...
Published on 7 Jan. 2013 by SJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book ruined my weekend..., 7 Jan. 2013
Don't be fooled by the title - this book has very little to do with Manchester City.

Colin Shindler doesn't go to City matches any more, but still feels the need to try and revive his failing career as an author by one more attempt to hitch a ride on the back of their recent success.

What the book IS about is Shindler's rather dull middle age in which his career and marriage flounder...and in which he is left trying to pretend that he is important by constant references to his more successful friends.

If you enjoy overwrought hospital drama, you will appreciate the extensive coverage given to the treatment of Shindler's wife in her final months...but this episode raises more questions about their relationship than it answers.If their bond was as special as Shindler implies why had he so tamely allowed her to leave him and return to America?

The book actually reads like an extended Christmas round-robin newsletter in which we are updated at regular intervals about the progress of Shindler's "successful" children who are so independent of spirit that they dutifully troop off to the same dull Cambridge college that their father and uncle attended.

Any sympathy that the reader is meant to feel towards Shindler's rather sad later life has long since evaporated under the weight of his self-absorption and fawning relationship with Rosenthal / Howard Davies et al.

"Richer than God" by David Conn is an interesting take on City's recent change in fortune and the realities of modern football. "Manchester City ruined my life" is a fraudulent attempt to cash in on the same subject, but written by the type of self-obsessed media luvvie / hanger-on that Manchester City do not need as as a "fan" in the years ahead.

A message to Colin Shindler: please stop using MCFC as an excuse to write such melodramatic rubbish. If your own life and circumstances are so interesting then publish as such without "conning" football fans who will be misled by the title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Premiership football has lost it's heart, 6 Dec. 2012
More personal and moving than 'Man United Ruined my Life',less about football and cricket and more about loss and bereavement and the adjustments one has to make when we 'lose' the essential loves of our life. I am about the same age as the author, and can identify with the central themes of the book. Replace Lancashire CCC with Yorkshire CCC and Manchester City with a Championship side struggling for survival, then my story would be comparable. I am less interested in the money driven (from Sky & overseas)Premiership football which has alienated and priced out many of its loyal fans, I would rather watch Bradford in the JP Trophy than the forthcoming Manchester derby, Schindler recognises the cost to many football fans of the Premiership selling its soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY - absolute drivel, 3 July 2012
A sad and pathetic book, written by a chap who purports to a City fan, yet clearly is nothing more than a self obsessed schemer, selling himself as a spokesman for real fans, whilst making a bucket full of money for himself.
Schindler is no city fan. DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh the irony, 19 May 2012
By 
G. Foran "Steve Loffers" (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
So Schindler berates city for selling their souls then proceeds to earn a parasitical living off them?
How can you read a book based on this premise? This is borderline racist in his hatred of the Sheik. Very poor indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sentimental drivel, peppered with boring anecdotes., 19 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having previously released a book entitled charmingly Manchester Utd ruined my life, one imagines that Mr Shindler found the temptation of rounding on City for a few £ to be an opportunity too good to miss. Shindler comes across as a sympathetic guy, but without putting it too harshly, an old woman. The reasons he falls out of love with City are incoherent, old-fashioned and uninteresting - they say more about him than they do about MCFC & one detects more than an element of disingenuousness in the tale - why without it you could not come up with a story to tell at all.... and then there are the anecdotes about being a single elder man later in the book and pages and pages on the challenges of online dating and contemplating sex with a new partner after 30 years marriage. Too much information and too much tedium.

So in the end all that leads you to buy this book is the provocative title, which as a City fan I fell for. Do not be conned - this is a rotten book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Sequel, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you read and enjoyed Manchester United Ruined My Life then you will want to read this sequel, which deals with the authors life through middle age and consequently is a more serious look at his life affected by illness and tragedy. The humour remains as does the vilification of Manchester United although as the title suggests Shindler has ended his life long love affair with City now they too are a money bags club who have lost their roots. There is a lot in this book to interest the football fan but don't buy it expecting a football book, it is more than that, its a life story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this for the City fan in your life., 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester City Ruined My Life (Paperback)
Just finished reading this & it's a scream! I know exactly what he's talking about having been a fan of the citizens scince boyhood.
It is a compelling read,as it's not just all about football (& cricket),It's about life,made me laugh & made me cry in equal measures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Manchester city ruined my life, 27 May 2012
I really don't get shindlers reason for writing this book, although I have to applaud the irony of his timing it's release for the weekend city won the league, whilst droning on about how money has ruined his love for the club. Fill your boots Colin.

Living abroad, never going to games, then writing a book on how he now feels alienated, let's face it, it's a book based following the club over the Internet.

I thought Manchester united ruined my life was a big let down, this book is just Colin cashing in, in my own personal opinion, the ramblings of a grumpy old man, with nothing new to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and essential, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never has romance been so soured. Colin writes brilliantly of his conflicting emotions: the new Man City, with its millionaires, are not his city, and nor will they ever be. Essential reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter Rubbish, 30 Jan. 2013
By 
atticusfinch1048 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I would like to be polite about this book - but I can't be as this is one of the worst books I have ever read in a long time.

I recognise that football and the thoughts of its supporters are personal, I just wish Schindler had kept his thoughts to himself. As a Manchester City fan of more years than he can remember he certainly remembers the periods they had of being winners and the even longer periods of them being a joke. He seems to have enjoyed the times when City were a joke and not the good times.

Schindler seems to forget that football like life moves on and we either go with it or wither and die. He should be enjoying the new ownership the winning of the league for the first time in 44 years. This is one misery book to give a wide berth.

Save your money and buy something more interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manchester City Ruined My Life
Manchester City Ruined My Life by Colin Shindler (Paperback - 9 May 2013)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews