Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars19
3.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
8
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2013
Don't be fooled by the title - this book has very little to do with Manchester City.

Colin Shindler doesn't go to City matches any more, but still feels the need to try and revive his failing career as an author by one more attempt to hitch a ride on the back of their recent success.

What the book IS about is Shindler's rather dull middle age in which his career and marriage flounder...and in which he is left trying to pretend that he is important by constant references to his more successful friends.

If you enjoy overwrought hospital drama, you will appreciate the extensive coverage given to the treatment of Shindler's wife in her final months...but this episode raises more questions about their relationship than it answers.If their bond was as special as Shindler implies why had he so tamely allowed her to leave him and return to America?

The book actually reads like an extended Christmas round-robin newsletter in which we are updated at regular intervals about the progress of Shindler's "successful" children who are so independent of spirit that they dutifully troop off to the same dull Cambridge college that their father and uncle attended.

Any sympathy that the reader is meant to feel towards Shindler's rather sad later life has long since evaporated under the weight of his self-absorption and fawning relationship with Rosenthal / Howard Davies et al.

"Richer than God" by David Conn is an interesting take on City's recent change in fortune and the realities of modern football. "Manchester City ruined my life" is a fraudulent attempt to cash in on the same subject, but written by the type of self-obsessed media luvvie / hanger-on that Manchester City do not need as as a "fan" in the years ahead.

A message to Colin Shindler: please stop using MCFC as an excuse to write such melodramatic rubbish. If your own life and circumstances are so interesting then publish as such without "conning" football fans who will be misled by the title.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
A sad and pathetic book, written by a chap who purports to a City fan, yet clearly is nothing more than a self obsessed schemer, selling himself as a spokesman for real fans, whilst making a bucket full of money for himself.
Schindler is no city fan. DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2012
Having previously released a book entitled charmingly Manchester Utd ruined my life, one imagines that Mr Shindler found the temptation of rounding on City for a few £ to be an opportunity too good to miss. Shindler comes across as a sympathetic guy, but without putting it too harshly, an old woman. The reasons he falls out of love with City are incoherent, old-fashioned and uninteresting - they say more about him than they do about MCFC & one detects more than an element of disingenuousness in the tale - why without it you could not come up with a story to tell at all.... and then there are the anecdotes about being a single elder man later in the book and pages and pages on the challenges of online dating and contemplating sex with a new partner after 30 years marriage. Too much information and too much tedium.

So in the end all that leads you to buy this book is the provocative title, which as a City fan I fell for. Do not be conned - this is a rotten book.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
Just finished reading this & it's a scream! I know exactly what he's talking about having been a fan of the citizens scince boyhood.
It is a compelling read,as it's not just all about football (& cricket),It's about life,made me laugh & made me cry in equal measures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2012
I really don't get shindlers reason for writing this book, although I have to applaud the irony of his timing it's release for the weekend city won the league, whilst droning on about how money has ruined his love for the club. Fill your boots Colin.

Living abroad, never going to games, then writing a book on how he now feels alienated, let's face it, it's a book based following the club over the Internet.

I thought Manchester united ruined my life was a big let down, this book is just Colin cashing in, in my own personal opinion, the ramblings of a grumpy old man, with nothing new to say.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2012
So Schindler berates city for selling their souls then proceeds to earn a parasitical living off them?
How can you read a book based on this premise? This is borderline racist in his hatred of the Sheik. Very poor indeed
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I would like to be polite about this book - but I can't be as this is one of the worst books I have ever read in a long time.

I recognise that football and the thoughts of its supporters are personal, I just wish Schindler had kept his thoughts to himself. As a Manchester City fan of more years than he can remember he certainly remembers the periods they had of being winners and the even longer periods of them being a joke. He seems to have enjoyed the times when City were a joke and not the good times.

Schindler seems to forget that football like life moves on and we either go with it or wither and die. He should be enjoying the new ownership the winning of the league for the first time in 44 years. This is one misery book to give a wide berth.

Save your money and buy something more interesting.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
Never has romance been so soured. Colin writes brilliantly of his conflicting emotions: the new Man City, with its millionaires, are not his city, and nor will they ever be. Essential reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2012
I have to say I enjoyed this book but I do find it sad that Mr Shindler does not find he can support City now.

City have to survive in the footballing world which they don't have control. Like it or not, City don't create that world.

However the reason that City have the financial support is for one reason.

The fans.

City's fanbase has remained the cornerstone of the club through thick and thin. A rich owner could have bought any club, even ones with a similar number of fans to City but then they wouldn't be City fans. It is the fans that make the club unique and they will still be there long after the era of rich owners has gone.

Mr. Shindler is entitled to his view though he is in the minority, but I hope that deep down he will still be a City fand and return.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2012
As a disciple of the `Lovejoy' TV series I bought this autobiography of Colin Shindler in anticipation hoping to get an insight from the man whose achievement was to be the producer of one of the most profound television shows of all time. The timing of the book surprised me because the show hasn't been on British screens for nearly twenty years. I had no idea that there would be so much interest in the life and loves and opinions of someone who was only at best peripherally involved in the British TV of the 80s and 90s. Imagine my disgust when I found that there is absolutely NOTHING AT ALL ABOUT LOVEJOY IN THIS BOOK!!! Nothing to enlighten fans about the background to the show: Ian McShane's ferocious personality, the real-life inspiration for such legendary characters as Tinker and Eric, and, of course, what it was like to work with the lovely Joanna Lumley!

Instead, Shindler's narrative is diverted into discussing a football team from Manchester, that he internet-supports from his big house overseas. I've no idea why he is qualified to comment on this!! As a compensation for Lovejoy fans, the obsessive distaste he has for the club's Arab owners provides the reader with a measure of Shindler's talent for characterising fictional `bad-guys' and his skill for creating melo-dramatic pathos. As a tribute to his persuasive writing style, despite my lack of interest in football, by the end of the book I was captivated and agreed totally with Shindler's view that as a mark of respect for his majestic boyhood Manchester City should have ceased all commercial operations after Joe Mercer left in 1971, and turned themselves into a living tribute to the 1960s team by voluntarily relegating themselves to Bridgewater Office Supplies Manchester Football League (BOSMFL), selecting players only named (or prepared to change their name to) Bell, Summerbee and Lee, and allowing only the blood-descendents of Stan Gibson to be responsible for the maintenance of the playing surface.

One final curiosity - there seems to be a massive coincidence with the timing of the book's publication. According to my son, the autobiography was released only a week after Manchester City finally won a major title! What luck! I hope there is some consolation for Mr Shindler that, despite letting me and the rest of the members of the Lovejoy fan-forums down, he may have inadvertently made himself a few quid from extra sales to football fans through pure chance - just like Lovejoy! Talk about life imitating art!
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)