Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest book this year!
There is no better storyteller in sports writing than Jeff Stelling. This book had me in stitches and was full of really interesting and hilarious tales. If you're a football fan and want to find out what goes on in Stelling towers, get this book!
Published on 26 April 2012 by Logan's Run

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfulfilled promise.
Enjoyed the free sample but was disappointed with some parts of the book and thought that there were too many references to countdown. Many of the items were taken from newspaper reports. I would have preferred more from behind the scenes at Soccer Saturday.
Published 11 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest book this year!, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is no better storyteller in sports writing than Jeff Stelling. This book had me in stitches and was full of really interesting and hilarious tales. If you're a football fan and want to find out what goes on in Stelling towers, get this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Tekkers, 26 April 2012
Jeff is on fine form in this book - I love the idea of him sitting in Stelling towers, puffing on a cigar and wearing a smoking jacket whilst Mrs Jeff serves him a whisky. All that aside, Jeff is very funny and has an excellent memory for football's weirdest, funniest and craziest moments. As a fan of Soccer Saturday I thought that Jeff couldn't tickle my pickle any further with his smooth charm and wit... but he has!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking read, 6 May 2012
I have to say that Jeff Stelling's second book 'Jeffanory' is a great read. Regular and witty anecdotes mixed with the 'confessions of a football fanatic' kept me amused throughout. I would put it in the same league as books such as Simon Hughes' And God Created Cricket', where genuinely interesting sport related stories are written in a way that keeps you entertained even if you haven't heard of the protagonists. Twitter ye not was a particular highlight!

Overall a great read, and you definitely don't need to be a Soccer Saturday anorak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ for all soccer fans!, 7 May 2012
I was laughing out loud at Jeffanory's unique style! This is a brilliantly compliled selection of inside soccer stories told in a relaxed way that makes you feel that you the reader, is just sat having a good old football chat with the man himself, Mr Jeff Stelling.
Whatever your interest in football, either as an armchair observer, a spectator, player or official at any level, this book has anecdotes you will immediately relate to.
As Jeff says on page 8, these are 'Towering Tales' and indeed they are!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment from football's greatest anchor man, 6 May 2012
Let's face it, football books can often be anodyne and cliche-ridden affairs from celebrity players with virtually no self awareness whatsoever. Jeff Stelling generally - and Jeffanory specifically - are the antidote to all that. This is a book that gently makes fun of the ludicrous side of the professional game and its players, managers and officials; but it also warmly celebrates what we all still love about football - from the very top level down to the grass-roots. If you loved Jelleyman's Thrown a Wobbly and have come back for a second helping of Jeff, then you're in for a laugh-out-loud treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable Jeff!, 5 May 2012
I thought "Jelleyman" was good but this is even better. Great opening to the book which gets you straight into the banter. From then on, it's like sitting in the pub listening to Jeff tell stories. If you watch Soccer Saturday then you know what that is like! Tale after tale that keeps you riveted all the way to the end. Well done Jeff - a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's only one Jeff Stelling!, 26 April 2012
I thought Jelleyman's Thrown a Wobbly: Saturday Afternoons in Front of the Telly was unbeatable, but I couldn't have been more wrong. A hilarious collection of anecdotes from Soccer Saturday (includes corkers from Kammy, Charlie, Mers and Le Tiss too!!) and far beyond - JEFFANORY is a book that should be sitting on every lad's coffee table.

So good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeffanory: Stories from Beyond Soccer Saturday: Stories from Beyond the Videprinter (Paperback)
Thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just like Soccer Saturday, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Walter Mather "Maverick69" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A witty and easy read.

Full of interning and amusing anecdotes about football and sky's Soccer Saturday show.

once you start reading you wont be able to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unfulfilled promise., 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed the free sample but was disappointed with some parts of the book and thought that there were too many references to countdown. Many of the items were taken from newspaper reports. I would have preferred more from behind the scenes at Soccer Saturday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jeffanory: Stories from Beyond Soccer Saturday: Stories from Beyond the Videprinter
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews