Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2012
Jeff is on fine form in this book - I love the idea of him sitting in Stelling towers, puffing on a cigar and wearing a smoking jacket whilst Mrs Jeff serves him a whisky. All that aside, Jeff is very funny and has an excellent memory for football's weirdest, funniest and craziest moments. As a fan of Soccer Saturday I thought that Jeff couldn't tickle my pickle any further with his smooth charm and wit... but he has!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2012
I have to say that Jeff Stelling's second book 'Jeffanory' is a great read. Regular and witty anecdotes mixed with the 'confessions of a football fanatic' kept me amused throughout. I would put it in the same league as books such as Simon Hughes' And God Created Cricket', where genuinely interesting sport related stories are written in a way that keeps you entertained even if you haven't heard of the protagonists. Twitter ye not was a particular highlight!

Overall a great read, and you definitely don't need to be a Soccer Saturday anorak.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2012
Let's face it, football books can often be anodyne and cliche-ridden affairs from celebrity players with virtually no self awareness whatsoever. Jeff Stelling generally - and Jeffanory specifically - are the antidote to all that. This is a book that gently makes fun of the ludicrous side of the professional game and its players, managers and officials; but it also warmly celebrates what we all still love about football - from the very top level down to the grass-roots. If you loved Jelleyman's Thrown a Wobbly and have come back for a second helping of Jeff, then you're in for a laugh-out-loud treat.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2012
I thought "Jelleyman" was good but this is even better. Great opening to the book which gets you straight into the banter. From then on, it's like sitting in the pub listening to Jeff tell stories. If you watch Soccer Saturday then you know what that is like! Tale after tale that keeps you riveted all the way to the end. Well done Jeff - a great read!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
There is no better storyteller in sports writing than Jeff Stelling. This book had me in stitches and was full of really interesting and hilarious tales. If you're a football fan and want to find out what goes on in Stelling towers, get this book!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
This didnt quite manage to get out of second gear.

The authors recollections and stories are gently amusing rather than being laugh out loud funny, its an enjoyable read but has a whiff of being written to fulfil a contract.

The anecdotes are mostly nothing other than mildly interesting and the jokes lack killer punchlines.

On this evidence Mr Stelling is firmly embedded in the mid table of raconteurs.

A quick, inoffensive and pleasant read but I was expecting more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
Jeff Stelling is a presenter I have always found hilarious and informative and his previous book, Jellyman's Thrown a Wobbly, was a fantastic collection of stories from Soccer Saturday. His latest offering, Jeffanory, however is a muddled recollection of random events and reports which have been widely talked about before in the media and can hardly be called 'new.' It essentially is 50% Countdown and 50% of unusual random football events which have been explored better elsewhere.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
I thought Jelleyman's Thrown a Wobbly: Saturday Afternoons in Front of the Telly was unbeatable, but I couldn't have been more wrong. A hilarious collection of anecdotes from Soccer Saturday (includes corkers from Kammy, Charlie, Mers and Le Tiss too!!) and far beyond - JEFFANORY is a book that should be sitting on every lad's coffee table.

So good!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
I was laughing out loud at Jeffanory's unique style! This is a brilliantly compliled selection of inside soccer stories told in a relaxed way that makes you feel that you the reader, is just sat having a good old football chat with the man himself, Mr Jeff Stelling.
Whatever your interest in football, either as an armchair observer, a spectator, player or official at any level, this book has anecdotes you will immediately relate to.
As Jeff says on page 8, these are 'Towering Tales' and indeed they are!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Enjoyed the free sample but was disappointed with some parts of the book and thought that there were too many references to countdown. Many of the items were taken from newspaper reports. I would have preferred more from behind the scenes at Soccer Saturday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.