Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insightful read
Warnock doesn't seem to have an axe to grind, his communication style is clear and simple, making the book accessible to all.
He communicates a lot on player personalities, with a reputation as a man-motivator you can tell he's got an eye for people and is able to quickly form an opinion of what makes people tick. His commentary on the Terry affair is helpful in...
Published 23 months ago by Paul

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On the whole a good read
Starts well but loses its way towards the end.

Having always had a soft spot for Mr Warnock I decided to buy this book.

It provides a fascinating insight in to the world of football however there are too many instances where the author 'blows sunshine out of his backside'.
Published 22 months ago by Mr. C. W. Shaw

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On the whole a good read, 22 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. C. W. Shaw (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Starts well but loses its way towards the end.

Having always had a soft spot for Mr Warnock I decided to buy this book.

It provides a fascinating insight in to the world of football however there are too many instances where the author 'blows sunshine out of his backside'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insightful read, 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gaffer: The Trials and Tribulations of a Football Manager (Hardcover)
Warnock doesn't seem to have an axe to grind, his communication style is clear and simple, making the book accessible to all.
He communicates a lot on player personalities, with a reputation as a man-motivator you can tell he's got an eye for people and is able to quickly form an opinion of what makes people tick. His commentary on the Terry affair is helpful in clearing up what happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manager's eye view of the game, 6 Oct. 2014
Neil Warnock has managed many football clubs over a long career, and this book – part autobiography, part expose of football management – is an interesting view of life in the dugout and changing room. Although Warnock considers his whole career, it particularly focuses on his time at Crystal Palace, QPR and Leeds. It’s a personal history and Warnock is keen to put his side of the story forward – he rarely admits that he was wrong, and often piles up the reasons or excuses for his lack of success. Even so, it’s difficult to argue with the suggestion that Warnock was a manager of three clubs that were undergoing behind-the-scenes turmoil – although with modern football, takeovers and boardroom wranglings are common, and Warnock was certainly not alone in having to deal with them. You might not always like the manager, but this gives an insight as to what he might be going through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book and look into neil Warnock and what he is like in management and his handling of the last 3 clubs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable..., 16 Jun. 2013
By 
Chris g (Brighouse, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Gaffer: The Trials and Tribulations of a Football Manager (Hardcover)
Quite a good insight into Neil Warnocks career & what some of the 'pampered' footballers of today are like!

And yes, while Neil is a 'marmite' character his honesty shows in this book.
I was pleased to meet him at a recent book signing, where he was happy and relaxed & had time for the fans.
The book has kept me entertained for the last few days, and love him or loath him at least read the book THEN comment!
While I didn't like the initial idea of him managing my local team, he did, and gave us some success.
For that I'm grateful.

I hope the book does well for him & he enjoys his retirement, he's worked long & hard for it!

Good luck Neil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting in places, but..., 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gaffer: The Trials and Tribulations of a Football Manager (Hardcover)
Having read this, I'm convinced that Neil Warnock doesn't go out to upset people, he just does. He got my back up almost instantly. In the first few pages he implies that the average football fan doesn't have a clue how a football club is run. Although it is true that I have never managed a team, it doesn't mean that I have not had experiences of having to deal with awkward bosses or troublesome employees. At least as a football manager you can just ship a bothersome player out of sight until his contract runs out or he is sold, a luxury someone like me working in an office cannot do. Also, like many working class men and women who watch the game, we do know about budgets. Okay, we don't have thousands of people screaming for our heads, but we can't all just go to our homes in Cornwall or Scotland to clear our heads after a bad day like he can. According to Warnock, apart from one Millwall fan chucking an egg at his head, he enjoyed talking to the fans and never shied away from them.

I found the book started off quite interesting and ended in disappointment - as you'd expect - at Leeds. I found the QPR bit in the middle a bit long and laborious. I'll readily admit that I nearly abandoned the book halfway through, as the constant whining drove me mad. I think we all know that Taarabt is a bit of a `colourful' character, but the point is drilled home time and time again. It is as if he wants a medal for getting the best out of him.

But you cannot knock the guy's record. He's won seven promotions. I hope he stays in the game, because my team always beat his teams (1-3 at Gigg Lane, 1-4 Bramhall Lane, 1-3 Loftus Road and 1-6 Leeds). Thanks for the points Neil!

The book is a must for a QPR fan, as it does go into detail about how the club is run. As for Palace fans, if you want your ego massaging, then you'll enjoy this. Leeds fans, like the other clubs will only find this is a passing interest. £8.49 is a fare old sum for a Kindle book. My advice would be that it is worth the read, but maybe wait until you see it for a quid in Oxfam.

Sorry Neil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It wo' a crackin read!", 4 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Gaffer: The Trials and Tribulations of a Football Manager (Hardcover)
Where to start on this scriptual masterpiece?

I think the most revealing chapter is the Leeds United chapter - read about what really happened with Luciano Becchio (long and short of it, he wasn't Browneh or Tongeh) and how many ridiculous cliches he used in interviews (I think they're rounded down to the nearest ten thousand).

I particularly enjoyed the chapter "Amy's anecdotes" too - a couple of pearls of wisdom from Neil's daughter. Her thoughts on Wembley, deadline day, using a false 9 and the best marker pens to use on tactics boards are incredible.

If you've ever wondered about what the life of a manager who had success in the 80s and tried to replicate that 25 years later is like (and a few tips on how to drive a tractor as well), this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what the fans want, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good honest straight talking that gives a football fan some idea of life
as a manager.
just what I expected

Cheers Neil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Straight, honest & entertaining, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gaffer: The Trials and Tribulations of a Football Manager (Hardcover)
NW is a bit of a marmite kind of guy but one of football's few remaining honest and straight forward characters. Anyone over 35 will identify with a lot of the changes he describes in the game, not necessarily for the better, and younger readers will be surprised at how some things used to be done. Being a Blade myself I would have liked a little more about the Kevin McCabe (SUFC Chairman) relationship which seems to be deliberately sketchy, but the QPR stuff is fascinating and anecdotes funny (bit of Full Monty type humour going on). Great read, recommended for all football fans of a certain vintage in particular...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best., 7 July 2014
Not the best. Gives an overall insight into the life of a football manager, but what rankles a bit is the fact that he alludes to people that he doesn't like or who he doesn't get on with, but doesn't name them. He just states that "it's been written about so much in the press that I don't need to mention it here" - yes you do Neil this is exactly the place to mention it! Also, when a bid comes in from a "top club" for a player he doesn't mention who they are - I think he doesn't want to rock the boat with his media career so don't expect any revelations as there aren't any.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gaffer: The Trials and Tribulations of a Football Manager
The Gaffer: The Trials and Tribulations of a Football Manager by Neil Warnock (Hardcover - 6 Jun. 2013)
£13.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Always Managing: My Autobiography
Always Managing: My Autobiography by Harry Redknapp (Paperback - 22 May 2014)
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (531)   
Buy new£3.85
In stock

Be Careful What You Wish For
Be Careful What You Wish For by Simon Jordan (Paperback - 9 May 2013)
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (161)   
Buy new£10.99
In stock

I Am The Secret Footballer: Lifting the Lid on the Beautiful Game
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (423)   
Buy new£6.39
In stock