Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring
As a first year student midwife, a large proportion of the recent news items concerning midwives and maternity services are depressing and disheartening to say the least. This book has reminded me of why I am so passionate about becoming a midwife, and completely encapsuates (in my opinion) the best way to practice midwifery.

For those readers who are not...
Published on 4 Dec. 2011 by Sarah Kate

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Dreary Midwife's Tale
I am a retired midwife who began training some 8 years before Sheena Byrom. I experienced exactly the same kind of practices and incidents that occurred to the author. So I feel it is with some authority that I can critique this publication. There is no depth to this tale, it's tone is dry and it lumbers along with just a hint of an anecdote here and there. It could...
Published on 19 Jun. 2012 by lilaclilly


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 4 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Catching Babies: A Midwife's Tale (Paperback)
As a first year student midwife, a large proportion of the recent news items concerning midwives and maternity services are depressing and disheartening to say the least. This book has reminded me of why I am so passionate about becoming a midwife, and completely encapsuates (in my opinion) the best way to practice midwifery.

For those readers who are not midwives, this book is a fabulous account of the changing face of maternity services over the last 3 decades, showing how current practice has evolved and the pressures that midwives face today. It also demonstrates the tremendous influence that a good experience with a midwife can have on the life of a woman and her family, and thus the importance of high quality maternity care. The stories are told with warmth, and they read as if you were in the room observing for yourself.

Fantastic book, I read it cover to cover in one day and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Picks up where call the midwife left off...., 16 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Catching Babies: A Midwife's Tale (Paperback)
I'm currently a second year midwifery student having a crisis of confidence, wondering what I had let myself in for, would I ever really be able to be involved in normal birth, how to cope with some very opposing points of view in the workplace? Sheena has reinspired me, she has successfully negotiated the NHS and maternity care through periods of intense and sometimes bewildering change and far from being ground down by the system, she has taken the opportunities given to her and used them to change the way women are cared for. The enormity of what she has achieved in her 35 years in the NHS is inspiring and when I grow up, I hope to be a midwife just like her! Fantastic book for anyone interested in midwifery, childbirth and the NHS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good Read, 22 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Catching Babies: A Midwife's Tale (Paperback)
This memoir shares with us the rise of one midwife's long career whilst documenting changes in midwifery care and bringing in personal elements which make it truly human. Funny at times, moving and informative, Sheena Byrom is deeply inspiring. We are taken through her experiences as a midwife in training through to her management roles where she instigates innovative projects to transform the maternity care offered in her area, and make a difference to women's lives. The main theme running through the book is how women support each other within the family, and at work, being strong together and being there for each other. How can you not champion that?! Apart from anything, this book was just a really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 7 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Catching Babies: A Midwife's Tale (Paperback)
I am in my 2nd year at university, studying to be a midwife. After a personally terrible term, Catching babies as managed to re-energise and refocus me. The book is not only captivating and emotional with Shenna's personal stories and tales but it gives a good insight into the changes in the role of a midwife, the medicalisation of childbirth, the public health role of the midwife and the professional and legal aspects. I also think it articulates well the struggle of some midwives to fit into the NHS. Best of all its a book about the normality of childbirth, and how amazing women are at birthing their own babies. A recommended read. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 21 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Catching Babies: A Midwife's Tale (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this wonderful book which is written with compassion, honesty and humour. It is insightful how the author's early life and experiences formed the core values which lead to such an inspirational career, and enabled the her to believe in and stand up for the rights of women to have a positive birth experience. Her dedication to her family and career through it's ups and downs shines through. A tale of an ordinary life which is truly extraordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly engaging read, 7 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catching Babies: A Midwife's Tale (Paperback)
A thoroughly engaging read about the life and times of an inspirational midwife. The tales are expressed with compassion and honesty, bringing a tear to my eye on more than one occasion! The author writes with singular modesty despite the numerous achievements she has attained, and the exceptional service she has obviously been a part of delivering. A recommended read - especially for those seeking to rediscover the meaning of 'care' within the health service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring!, 6 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Catching Babies: A Midwife's Tale (Paperback)
I am a hopeful student midwife to be and have been reading Sheena's book during my application process which at times is harsh and makes me wonder if i should carry on.
Reading Catching Babies has inspired me to keep going. This is a wonderful, touching memoir and should live on anyones bookshelf not just those interested in midwifery.

There should be more midwives like Sheena and I hope to follow in her footsteps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catching babies, 15 July 2012
This review is from: Catching Babies: A Midwife's Tale (Paperback)
This book is an excellent easy read!! you will not want to put it down,it's a true story of a remarkable lady who has totally committed her life to her midwifery carer, as well as raise her own family.No it's not been easy....but her hard work has paid off!! Catching Babies: A Midwife's Tale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!, 5 Jun. 2013
I could relate some aspects of this book to some of my own nursing and midwifery experiences. Made me laugh smile & cry. This book reflects the hard work, dedication, stresses and triumphs of a midwife. Loved it.
Children's Centre midwife London
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating story, 4 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Catching Babies: A Midwife's Tale (Paperback)
Catching Babies is a cracking read about Sheena Byrom's 35-year career as a midwife in Lancashire. I particularly enjoyed the chapters about her close-knit family upbringing and her nursing training at Blackburn Royal Infirmary. Her story has its share of challenges and heartbreak, but it gives a fascinating insight into the daily work of midwives and is written in a very chatty and accessible way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Catching Babies: A Midwife's Tale
Catching Babies: A Midwife's Tale by Sheena Byrom (Paperback - 24 Nov. 2011)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews