Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quite an eye-opener
If you've ever wondered what it's like to be a GP, then this book will give you some idea. I enjoyed reading it and it made me appreciate even more the hard work and dedication that most GPs put in to their jobs [whoever would have thought a doctor would need to climb a tree in the pouring rain to see a patient?]. More goes on behind the scenes than you realise...
Published 23 months ago by Ms. K. J. Waghorn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting - but..
Dr Leonard had concentrated on a few cases going in to quite a lot of depth for each. Sometimes I felt that her attitude was a bit patronising of the patient - many of whom I'm sure can be difficult! The book was educational but on the whole the it didn't keep me engrossed.
I chose to read it after enjoying the two "Confessions of a GP" books written by...
Published 6 months ago by KatyBee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quite an eye-opener, 17 Sep 2012
By 
If you've ever wondered what it's like to be a GP, then this book will give you some idea. I enjoyed reading it and it made me appreciate even more the hard work and dedication that most GPs put in to their jobs [whoever would have thought a doctor would need to climb a tree in the pouring rain to see a patient?]. More goes on behind the scenes than you realise.

My only criticism of this book is that there are a fair number of typographical errors that should have been removed before publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting - but.., 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dr Leonard had concentrated on a few cases going in to quite a lot of depth for each. Sometimes I felt that her attitude was a bit patronising of the patient - many of whom I'm sure can be difficult! The book was educational but on the whole the it didn't keep me engrossed.
I chose to read it after enjoying the two "Confessions of a GP" books written by Benjamin Daniels, but I have to say I found his books much more entertaining and interesting and he came over as a more sympathetic and self-deprecating character whom I felt I would prefer as a person and a GP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was interesting and kept my attention. The cases she talked about mostly seemed to resolve happily and it is a book that you can put down and pick up again easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great fun read, 23 Sep 2013
By 
MRS C M DUNCAN "pinkpoppy" (Magherafelt, Londonderrry United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
One of those wonderful well written books that you can't put down.
Rosemary starts by giving an insight as to why she chose the medical field. She clearly has taken time to make the book appeal to the readers and has written it beautifully.
I found it so hilarious in places, other touching.
Well worth a read and one that will be reread, especially the chapter on Jean lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars easy read, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor, Doctor: Incredible True Tales From a GP's Surgery (Paperback)
not quite what I thought it would be. seems the author is trying to educate us all to be healthy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Insight, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great quick read full of interesting cases - the tree patient was brilliant. A couple of patronising comments from the good Doc and some sweeping generalisations which made me cross but not enough to stop reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor, Doctor, 3 Jan 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rosemary Leonard writes in a very readable style in this fascinating book. I find it interesting to read about how doctors see their patients and there is something to be gained from the patient's point of view in reading all of these books.

Doctors don't always get it right and the author is the first to admit she has made mistakes. Patients don't always listen to good advice - such as `Josh' the asthma patient. Others don't actually say what they want to discuss with the doctor because of embarrassment or ignorance.

Some of the cases related here are frightening and others are funny as well as worrying. Patients sometimes think they know better than the doctor and others are just downright rude and aggressive. Cultural and religious beliefs could obstruct medical treatment and may work to the patient's detriment.

What comes over to me from this and other similar books is that doctors do care about the welfare of their patients but that any consultation is a two way process. The internet may have given patients access to much more information but that doesn't mean they know all the answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny book, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor, Doctor: Incredible True Tales From a GP's Surgery (Paperback)
The book is easy to read, something to learn and quickly to laugh. Good for beginners in English language as well. Also as a good night story book for adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a lovely honest account of life as a GP, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor, Doctor: Incredible True Tales From a GP's Surgery (Paperback)
this was a most interesting and informative book. It is often said that people like Doctors and Teachers could 'write a book' about their experiences. This proves that it can be done and in a most interesting and entertaining way. I am sure anyone with an interest in people would find this book fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Doctor, 9 May 2014
By 
B. M. Mayhew "Bee" (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very amusing and interesting book which I found hard to put down. Certainly gives one an idea of what our doctors have to put up with. I have a lot of respect for the medical profession and even more so now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor, Doctor: Incredible True Tales From a GP's Surgery
Doctor, Doctor: Incredible True Tales From a GP's Surgery by Dr Rosemary Leonard (Paperback - 3 Jan 2013)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews