Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of suspense and surprises xxx
Tasmina Perry for me, is always a must read. When I think of her books I think of glamour, mystery, passion and an addictive story line, and this latest release is exactly what her readers are wanting!

To everyone outside looking in, it seems as though Julian and Diana have the most perfect lives and the word at their feet, they seem to have everything they...
Published 9 months ago by Megan ReadingInTheSunshine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars slow to start but a nice happy ending
This wasn't as great as the other Tasmina Perry books I've read - which is all of them! This is quite a slow start but picks up at the end. A happy ending too which is always nice!
Published 12 days ago by Jodie TG


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of suspense and surprises xxx, 24 July 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Paperback)
Tasmina Perry for me, is always a must read. When I think of her books I think of glamour, mystery, passion and an addictive story line, and this latest release is exactly what her readers are wanting!

To everyone outside looking in, it seems as though Julian and Diana have the most perfect lives and the word at their feet, they seem to have everything they could ever want. But in reality life isn't as rosy at it seems. After Julian dies very suddenly and unexpectedly, Diana suspects that there is more to it than meets the eye. Desperate for answers and to discover the truth, she makes the phonecall that she never wanted to - to her sister Rachel. Rachel used to be a tabloid reporter, and although she pretends to be living the dream, the truth is that she was driven from her career after the phone hacking scandal, and has become estranged from her family. But Rachel is determined to make up for the past and uncover the truth...

I absolutely loved Deep Blue Sea! Having been a huge fan of Tasmina Perry for many years I always look forward to her new releases with so much excitement, and let me tell you it is SUCH a joy to have been able to once again delve into the wonderful world of Tasmina's stories. I was hooked as soon as I read the description on the back of the book, I was really intrigued as to what could have happened to Julian and I was keen to start reading! I started Deep Blue Sea one morning and I finished it in two sittings - I was so involved in the novel and gripped by what was happening, I couldn't put it down and found I was carrying the book around with me everywhere, reading at every moment I could!

The plot line is fantastic, there was a great air of mystery around Julian and the truth about what had really happened, and I so intrigued! Throughout the story, I kept trying to guess what had happened only for Tasmina Perry to throw another curve ball and twist my way, leaving me both surprised and suspecting something else entirely! Tasmina kept me guessing and guessing again and I genuinely didn't know which turn the novel would take next, so I desperately wanted to read on as I just had to know the ending!

Deep Blue Sea is a riveting book full of suspense, intrigue, and twists and turns that you won't see coming. Deep Blue Sea surprised me, made my heart race and I'm certain that fans of Tasmina Perry will enjoy this! A fantastic read for the summer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The devil and the deep blue sea, 5 July 2013
By 
Laura T (Cambridge, U.K) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Fans of Tasmina Perry will enjoy this novel, which delivers a similar dose of glamour, intrigue and deception to her previous bestsellers, Kiss Heaven Goodbye and Perfect Strangers. The two central characters are sisters Diana and Rachel, living very different lives after an estrangement several years ago; Diana is the indulged but lonely wife of billionaire businessman Julian, while Rachel has abandoned her career as a journalist to teach scuba-diving in Thailand. The two sisters reunite when Julian is found dead; the official verdict is suicide, but Diana thinks something else is going on. As Rachel investigates, a web of affairs, drugs trials, secret flights and contested wills unfolds.

I enjoyed reading this novel, and it's certainly perfect for an escapist beach holiday. However, I found that it had similar flaws to her previous release, Perfect Strangers. In short, I can't connect with Perry's fragile, damaged heroines - Diana being an obvious example - and find it much more interesting to read about her stronger, more intelligent women, like Rachel. (This is probably why my favourite novel of hers is Private Lives, where hotshot lawyer Anna dominates the book). Unfortunately, because about half of the novel is told from Diana's point of view, I found myself skimming chapters, because it was difficult to sympathise with her woes. It was also a shame, especially given the novel's title, that more wasn't made of Rachel's diving career in Thailand. I loved the account of free-diving at the beginning of the novel, and wished that Perry had returned to this in the narrative. While the central plotline was gripping, the settings weren't as interesting or varied as I've come to expect from Perry.

Despite this, I've still given the novel four stars, because it does what it says on the tin, and it's certainly as good as most of her earlier novels (Private Lives excepted). Readers who are already hooked on Perry won't be disappointed, and I would recommend this to fans of Karen Swann, Lindsey Kelk or Belinda Jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not her best but still a great story, 18 July 2013
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Tasmina Perry has been on my must read list for some time now. With her latest release Deep Blue Sea (being her 8th release) out; I was looking forward to delving into another rich and glamorous story. The premise sounds great, with a wealthy couple Diana and Julian Denver seemingly having it all. However, when Julian commits suicide Diana realises she needs to reach out to her estranged sister for help.

Rachel is Diana's sister and is currently living in Thailand following the death of her career surrounding a phone hacking scandal. When Diana reaches out for help, Rachel decides it's high time to try and make amends with her family. And so begins a journey across many countries to find the answers behind Julian's death. As usual Tasmina Perry certainly weaves a great tale; however I had real issues with Diana. Rachel I really liked, especially as she was the underdog, but Diana was just too frail and pathetic for my liking.

With that one small flaw out the way, I can honestly say the story itself certainly didn't disappoint. There is a lot of mystery and intrigue and the more questions Rachel asks, the more questions it raises too. There were a few additional characters I really liked such as Rachel's business partner Liam and her old colleague Ross. There were lost of dark and murky elements to the storyline including affairs, drugs and contested will. Overall it was again what I would rate a success from Perry, however it lacked that certain something to make it a 5 star read from me. Still a solid 4/5 book and one that I think her fans will love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captured my imagination, 1 Oct 2013
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Paperback)
Firstly I'd like to thank the publishers for sending me this book to read and give an honest review.

The opening of the storyline was a quick but informative scene from Diana and Rachel's childhood, I felt like I knew their personalities rather well even from just a few pages. Fast-forward to the present day and the sisters lives couldn't have been more different, they also appeared to have fallen out with each other and this was something I was keen to find out the reason for. A hugely traumatic event in Diana's life brought the two of them back together and this is when the adventure began.

The author covered some hard-hitting subjects but it had been written in an easy, comfortable style which made it a pleasure to read. I was reeled in to the characters lives until I felt as desperate as Diana to find out the reason for the unexpected event. As Rachel began to investigate I was captivated by the many twists and turns - I could never predict what was around the corner.

Trips to Chesil Beach and Beaulieu reminded me of my own visits to those places and brought a familiar touch to the storyline. I also liked the way the author created fantastic chemistry between the characters, there were times when I was holding my breath in anticipation.

Towards the end I thought I had figured out the big mystery but I was completely thinking in the wrong direction and the heart-pounding conclusion shocked me, this book will keep you guessing until the very end!

This was a fantastic read that really captured my imagination - a mystery with heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Beanie Luck Spud (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What can i possible say that hasn't already been echoed by other reviewers?

Absolutely nothing.

The book is entertaining to read, engaging, draws you in and keeps you hooked until the final turning of the last page.

Is it a 5 star book ?? Not in my opinion, that's reserved for truly outstanding life changing books, but this is definitely a 4 star 8/10.

Loved it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cancel everything, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Angel - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Tasmina Perry is my guilty pleasure - and this, her latest didn't disappoint me in my search for the perfect Summer read. It's the story of Diana who, in true Perry style, lives in a glamorous world people with beautiful things and people. That world is to be shaken to its core with the sudden death of her husband Julian. Diana calls on her estranged sister Rachel who has decamped to Thailand following a Fleet Street scandal, and Rachel starts to investigate the demise of her brother in law. With plenty of intrigue, twists and turns and few saucy bits too this is escapism Perry style, and I thought it was a highly enjoyable read. High literature it isn't but Perry has done it again - produced another page turner which kept me hooked until the end - can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Holiday Read!, 28 July 2013
By 
C. M. Collier "myopia1" (Liverpool,england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you're looking for a really good book to stuff in your suitcase,look no further.Deep Blue Sea has mysterious deaths,romantic locations,romantic liaisons,tension,suspense;what more could you want?Actually my favourite bit is about the cafe that becomes Dot's Bakery,but you'll have to find out about that for yourself.
Really enjoyed this;get it and get packing today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A captivating and unpredictable read xXx, 23 July 2013
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Paperback)
If there is one authors books besides Belinda Jones that scream summer beach reads it is Tasmina Perrys books! Deep Blue Sea easily grabs your attention from the beautiful tranquil cover but the storyline is far from paradise.

Diana and Julian have what seems like the perfect lives. But what is on the surface can often mask cracks underneath. When Julian is found dead in their marital home and she is told it is suicide but she cannot accept this and she is desperate to get answers and the one person who she can trust to go to extreme measures to get to the bottom of this is her estranged sister Racheal.

Racheal has been living a more relaxed life running a diving school with business partner Liam which is a far cry from her old job in journalism. When she gets a visit from her sister asking for her help she jumps at the chance hoping it will build bridges with her family again.

This is the third Tasmina Perry book I have read and she is fast becoming one of my favourite authors. What I like about this authors books is they are unlike other authors books I read. They always have a great helping of romance but there is also the suspense she creates and the crimes that make such a captivating storyline that make these books impossible to put down and Deep Blue Sea is no exception. I am going to get my one negative point out of the way now which is that I really missed the glamour that has been present in the author's previous books. Other than this I loved everything about this book and would recommend it in a heartbeat.

The suspense that is created in this book is fantastic. I couldn't solve the mystery surrounding Julians death, each time I thought I was on the right track to finding out who was involved Racheal would then speak to another character and her questions always then opened up another possible suspect! I had to keep reading as I was so intrigued I was eager to find out who was behind Julians death. I do love a book that is unpredictable and if you do too then this book really won't disappoint.

There were a lot of characters in this book but they were all developed well so I had no trouble keeping up with who was who. Racheal was by far my favourite character she was a very strong and determined character who was instantly likeable. I really liked the whole diving in Thailand business Tasmina Perry creates and idyllic setting here I was hoping to have more of the storyline set there but hey I am just being greedy now!

If you're looking for a captivating, unpredictable read this Summer then look no further as this one is not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perry delivers as usual, 8 July 2013
By 
H (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When it comes to picking a good beach read, Tasmina Perry is a safe pair of hands - her novels always deliver a good dose of glamour and mystery. This time around, ex-journalist Rachel uproots herself from her new life in Thailand to come to the aid of her estranged sister Diana. Diana's powerful CEO husband has committed suicide seemingly from out of the blue and Diana wants to know why he did it...

It's a very readable and engaging tale. As with many in this genre there was some predictability, but there were still a few plot twists I didn't see coming. Perry has a knack for writing about glossy, high flying worlds while still keeping her characters rooted in the ground, and you will root for Rachel in her quest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars review Deep Blue Sea, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Blue Sea (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read, excellent story line wants you to keep reading. Couldn't put it down would definitely recommend this book. Another good book from Tasmina Perry ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5a41a98)

This product

Deep Blue Sea
Deep Blue Sea by Tasmina Perry (Paperback - 18 July 2013)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews