Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rich Adventure
Seth Hunter, an author whose books embody the factual richness of Antony Beever with the textured character creativity of Martin Amis. I have enjoyed Hunters previous two novels in this series; The Time of Terror and The Tide of War. This, his recently published `The Price of Glory' is no exception. His richly visual and creative command of character and historical scene...
Published on 2 Mar 2011 by S. Kossoff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story
Pretty basic stuff which keeps the reader interested for most of the time. Not sure where this character is going, I will get the next one
Published 11 months ago by Stuart Young


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rich Adventure, 2 Mar 2011
By 
S. Kossoff - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Price of Glory (Nathan Peake Trilogy 3) (Paperback)
Seth Hunter, an author whose books embody the factual richness of Antony Beever with the textured character creativity of Martin Amis. I have enjoyed Hunters previous two novels in this series; The Time of Terror and The Tide of War. This, his recently published `The Price of Glory' is no exception. His richly visual and creative command of character and historical scene has again proved a detailed, exiting and very diverting read. I particularly enjoy his narrative style that often takes an unexpected turn that you just can't see coming. He is able to combine a strong and varied cast of characters with a real sense of historical event and an element of technical detail without the narrative ever becoming dry. I find his characters all interesting and believably unpredictable. I highly recommend this third in an excellent novel series featuring Captain Nathan Peake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling series, 16 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Price of Glory (Nathan Peake Trilogy 3) (Paperback)
This is the third Seth Hunter nautical adventure I've read and it's probably the best, although the first two are outstanding. The author is a natural storyteller and his prose is beautifully elegant. The historical period is evoked with an acute understanding of the details of the time. He seems to know his big ships incredibly well. Captain Nathan Peake is an engaging character, heroic but not without his self doubts. The scenes in post-revolutionary Paris are incredibly exciting and the appearance of the down-trodden Napoleon, desperate to be famous, are priceless. There's wit, adventure, big seas, monumental battles, even a moving love story here. A delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War, rivalry, politics, love and lunch, 17 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Price of Glory (Nathan Peake Trilogy 3) (Paperback)
This is a really fantastic read and immaculately researched. The writer's love all things naval and knowledge of the period is compelling. The scenes in post-revolutionary Paris are as powerful and vivid as those at sea. I like the hero, Nathan Peake, more and more with each installment, particularly his uncanny ability to focus on his next meal in the face of impending death, disaster or heartbreak. I'm starting to feel like I know him personally. The characterisation of the historical figures, particularly Napoleon, really works. This series gets better and better. Bring on the fourth episode........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About more than naval battles, 20 Feb 2011
Seth Hunter is a great storyteller. I thought this novel, and the other 2 in the series, would be "boys books" but I was wrong. Anyone who enjoys historical fiction will enjoy The Price of Glory. Lots of great characters who you really care about, plus a wonderful sense of history and a very successsful and creative interweaving of real people with the pretend ones. And I really like Nathan. Read this but read The Time of Terror and The Tide of War as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nathan peake No 3, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Price of Glory (Nathan Peake Trilogy 3) (Paperback)
My husband loved the whole series of these Seth Hunter books all 3 now read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nelson era, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All excellent books, with a good plot and plenty of action, giving a really good insight of the life and times of life at sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle book, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read this author before, so was fairly confident the book would be a good read. As expected, a very good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Price of Glory, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good 3rd book in this series, it gives a very good account on the beginning of the Napoleonic wars. I was pleasantly surprised as I do not normally read this kind of book , I look forward to carrying on reading the rest of the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Price of Glory, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you enjoy books on naval history back in the 19th centaury you will love this series of Nathan Peake
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pretty basic stuff which keeps the reader interested for most of the time. Not sure where this character is going, I will get the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Price of Glory (Nathan Peake Trilogy 3)
The Price of Glory (Nathan Peake Trilogy 3) by Seth Hunter (Paperback - 3 Feb 2011)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews