Customer Reviews


372 Reviews
5 star:
 (274)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was a perfect read with no flaws and had me hooked from start to finish xXx
After thoroughly enjoying Don’t Want to Miss a Thing last year I was looking forward to reading another book by Jill Mansell.
The Unpredictable Consequences of Love follows a large cast of characters but each of their stories all weave around each other effortlessly. As you can imagine from the title the book is full of troubled romance.

Because the...
Published 7 months ago by realovesbooks

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The very predictable consequences of love
Borrowed from my local library.

Unfortunately is was very predictable. The book needed more than twists, more surprises, but I could see how the book would pan out from the first few chapters. Give us something new, Jill!
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was a perfect read with no flaws and had me hooked from start to finish xXx, 30 Jan 2014
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
After thoroughly enjoying Don’t Want to Miss a Thing last year I was looking forward to reading another book by Jill Mansell.
The Unpredictable Consequences of Love follows a large cast of characters but each of their stories all weave around each other effortlessly. As you can imagine from the title the book is full of troubled romance.

Because the book had such a big cast of lead characters it did take some time getting to know each of them but because each of them were so well developed I didn’t have any trouble remembering who was who.

Sophie has absolutely no interest in men much to Josh’s disappointment, something has clearly happened in her past to put her off men for life and Josh is determined to get to the root of the problem.
The gorgeous babe magnet Reily has a big crush on Sophie’s friend Tula but she keeps knocking him back which has never happened to the surfer dude before.

Reily’s aunt is a successful author and she has eyes for Josh’s grandfather but it looks like he still holds a torch for his ex-wife Dot.

So much love is flowing in this little seaside town and each of the characters were all loveable and entertaining. I picked this book up at every spare moment I got as I was hooked and couldn’t put it down, eager to see what was going to happen next and if any of these romances were going to blossom.

My favourite thing about this book is that there is one almighty twist that I really didn’t see coming. I am not going to say any more about this or who it involves otherwise you will be watching out for it and not seeing it coming was what made this such a shock as there were no clues that made this obvious!

This was a perfect read with no flaws and had me hooked from start to finish, one of my favourite reads in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book (as usual!), 30 Jan 2014
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
When I received this latest offering by Jill Mansell I was a little surprised. The book itself looked like it was a little smaller than previous offerings. After a little scout on Amazon I saw that it was actually only marginally shorter than her two latest books. Not deterred I started the book and within the first few pages was once again transported into the wonderful fictional word Jill created. Sophie at first glance appears to be the main character but in this book, by the end I felt like there were maybe 5 or 6 ‘main’ characters. Initially Sophie wasn’t a character that I immediately liked. She seems like a friendly girl who lives in Cornwall and is trying to build up her photography business. The thing was she was such a closed book it was really difficult to warm to her that much. Shortly after we meet Sophie’s friend Tula who is somebody who is an open book and a character you like almost from the off. In addition to them, we see Dot who is running her hotel in Cornwall jointly with her Grandson Josh. Josh has recently moved back to the UK and in addition to seeing him work around the hotel we meet his friend Riley. Now do you see what I mean about the characters?

Jill Mansell has a magical ability to transport you into the worlds she creates and by the end of the book I found myself wanting to go and visit the hotel in Cornwall and meet the characters she has lovingly created. Each character has its own flaws and the most major one, seems to be Sophie. As the story unfolds we see everybody’s issues start to jump to the forefront and as time went on and I realised what Sophie’s issues were it made me like her even more. There were plenty of plot threads going on too, but I can assure you this wasn’t overdone and the characters all made their own mark on me.

I was so engrossed in this book that by the time I finally got around to starting it (two weeks later than planned)! I finished it the same day. Jill’s last two books were 5 star reads and this one is no different. I found myself totally absorbed, and this book gives you everything you could want from a book in this genre. It has fantastic characters and an interesting storyline that takes you straight into their world without pausing for breath. In my eyes, Jill Mansell is a legend! I kid you not people; the lady has been writing books for over two decades and the only way I can describe her (in the nicest possible way) is like a fine wine. She just gets better with age! Do yourself a favour and pre-order this one, I don’t think you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The very predictable consequences of love, 1 April 2014
This review is from: The Unpredictable Consequences of Love (Hardcover)
Borrowed from my local library.

Unfortunately is was very predictable. The book needed more than twists, more surprises, but I could see how the book would pan out from the first few chapters. Give us something new, Jill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yet another enjoyable Jill Mansell read, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another easy to read by Jill Mansell, set in lovely Cornwall. Only downside it finished too soon........can't wait to read her next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Already looking forward to the next book from Jill, 31 Jan 2014
By 
Sharon (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Every year I look forward to a new Jill Mansell book and this year was no exception so I was excited to receive a proof copy of her latest book The Unpredictable Consequences of Love which was published today.

The last thing on Sophie's mind is romance as she's come to St Carys to concentrate on her career, following a traumatic break-up which has put her off men for life, much to the disappointment of Josh who has returned home to the seaside town to help his grandmother run the family hotel and would love to get to know her more. Local playboy Riley takes an instant liking to Sophie's friend Tula, who has decided to move to the town too, but she's just not interested in him which is not something he's used to...

Add into the mix an interesting cast of supporting characters to get to know too and you might think it would get a bit too overloaded or complicated to follow who was who but I can assure you it doesn't, I loved getting to know the older generation just as much as I did Sophie and the others. In fact I enjoyed reading about the love triangles of Josh's grandparents almost as much as I did of his and Riley's attempts to break down the barriers of Sophie and Tula.

This was such a fun read and was perfect reading material for these damp drab January evenings, I found myself picking up the book at every opportunity to be transport to St Carys to see whether love would conquer for all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Characters, 20 Jun 2014
By 
Lincs Reader (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Set in a small seaside town; St Carys, in Cornwall, and featuring Sophie and Josh, amongst others, this really is the perfect summer read. Within a couple of chapters, I felt as though I'd been whisked away to this charming town full of warm and friendly characters who kept me entertained throughout the story.

Sophie is a photographer who quite literally hides herself behind her camera. Her wonderful pictures expose the heart of her subjects, she has a real talent and her skills are in demand. But Sophie never exposes her own true feelings, she is determined that she will never love, or be loved again. She's been hurt and she has hurt others.

Josh has had money and fame and lived the celebrity life in LA. Returning to this small sleepy town to help his Grandmother run the family hotel is so far away from the life that he was used to. Josh is happy in St Carys, except for one thing - Sophie. Josh is not used to being turned down, he really wants to know her better, he really likes her.

Sophie and Josh are the lead characters in The Unpredictable Consequences of Love but their supporting cast are wonderful too. Riley is a surfer bum with no real job, he fancies Sophie's best friend Tula who in turn is more interested in Josh. Then there are the older generation characters, including Dot and Lawrence who really should be together and Marguerite, the author who has set her eye on Lawrence.

This all sounds like a bit of fun, and yes it is in parts, but there are also some quite deep and sometimes very sad stories entwined amongst all of the sunshine and cheer. Jill Mansell explores themes including depression and terminal illness, she looks at how spur-of-the-moment decisions can impact the rest of a life and how love can strike when it is least expected and sometimes when it is really not wanted.

This is a story that is led and driven by some wonderfully created characters, both young and old. The setting is superb and the plot moves quickly despite the many threads that are interwoven into it.

The Unpredictable Consequences of Love is another great story from Jill Mansell - I enjoyed it very much, it's a real treat for both established fans and new readers of this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The unpredictable consequences of love, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is brilliant, as are all Jill mansells books, loved the characters all with different stories.Will definitely recommend to family and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book as always, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really enjoyed this book always enjoy Jill mansell's books and this one hasn't disappointed.
a good love story with loads of twists and turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book by Jill Mansell!!, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all Jill Mansell's books and this one did not disappoint! Great storyline and great characters in a beautiful setting. Finished the book in one sitting - now have to wait for her next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another amazing book from an amazing author!, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How could i not give this 5 stars?! It was a joy to read just like all of Jill's other books. I stumbled across To the Moon and Back last year and I was hooked, 12 months later i have read every last one and was thrilled when I was able to read another. Thanks Jill, hurry up with the next one :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unpredictable Consequences of Love
The Unpredictable Consequences of Love by Jill Mansell (Hardcover - 30 Jan 2014)
13.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews