Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cerulean Sins, it's finally here!
I have been eagerly waiting this book for a long time and devoured it in 5 hours flat! I found the storyline a little more jumbled than the rest of the Anita books and while the story was gripping and entertaining I had the feeling that it was like this book was the build up to the next one....of all the Anita books so far I think 'Obsidian Butterfly' and 'Narcissus in...
Published on 16 April 2003 by Kate Daniel

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful - Stop at Obisidian Butterfly
Im a big fan of Laurel K Hamiltons books but this is easily her worst one. It continues the decline started with Narcissus in Chains.
Its a virtual rehash of one of the earlier books in the series, with a couple of poorly glued on plotlines in a vain attempt to make it different. The sex scenes continue and neither further the plot or add any eroticism to the...
Published on 20 May 2003 by G. Coale


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SINS INDEED............, 12 April 2003
By 
I read this cover to cover in two hours flat, immediatly it came out the box. I LOVED it.
However, be warned. Those of you who have viewed Anita's changing state as a mad, bad and dangerous thing, and her metamorphosis into "Slut-Girl" as an unmitigated diasaster; are not going to like the direction this has gone.(Borrow from the Library first maybe.)
The story is centred around the arrival of Musette, Belle Morte's second in command and her entourage in St Louis. We were left in no doubt at the end of Narcissus in Chains that this wasn't an eagerly anticipated event and small wonder, for like all good old European Vampires... she's a psycho!! So begins another breakneck rollercoaster ride of sex, violence,Gorgeous guys, more sex, body parts and so on, you should know the drill by now!
In contrast with Narcissus in Chains, Anita doesn't spend all her time in bed, as the sub-plot is far more of a feature this time around, she does actually get to a murder scene or two, resulting in a far better narrative.
Anita finally realises what is really important to her and with advice from a suprising source she finds peace with the choices she has made. Does this mean the saga is over? I don't think so, Thank God. I shan't say anymore because I don't want to spoil it for all you avid fans.
Get it, Read it, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Where did the storyline go?, 20 Feb 2009
By 
S. Young - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having followed Anita since book 1, I was prepared to read them all, though having read previous reviews i was reluctant to do so. This book is such a disappointment, it just managed to make me angry! As a Jean-Claude fan im pleased he features more in this one, why they had to involve Richard at all is beyond me! There is just so little storyline to this book and the ending just feels silly!

That Anita gets to bed everyone around her is just ridiculous, and if I have to hear about the ardeur again i may have to throw something! I think the story would be much better without it, as its just used as an aid to introduce yet more sex scenes! Everyone simply allows her to get away with it all, and her only excuse is that she loves them all! We're expected to believe that all her lovers don't mind her sleeping with at least three other guys! What man would do that! I just hope that there can be a return to form in the next books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Anita Blake Vampire Hunter" series book 11, 20 Mar 2011
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As always LKH has produced an action packed adventure as Anita faces a growing number of supernatural challenges, but I had some real issues with parts of the story line (hence the lost stars).

Amid the frenzied pace as representatives of Belle Morte arrive for a very unfriendly visit, Anita is still dealing with her relationships with Jean-Claude, Richard and Micah, plus new playthings Asher and Jason. Anita was a woman with rigid principles at the start of this series but this is no longer the case. The passion of the Ardeur transforms her completely into someone with pretty much no morals when it comes to gaining sexual gratification. Although Anita may try to mentally resist, she succumbs all too easily physically; particularly in one scene when she ends up in bed with both Jean-Claude and Asher, begging to be bitten as well as pleading for other things she's never done before. Now, when Anita sinks into her cold, emotionless Executioner role, it's a little less believable after the chapters featuring her increasingly violent romps with an increasing number of supernatural males.

It is not only Anita that changes significantly in this book, as the previously somewhat taciturn Dolph has what can only be described as a major meltdown. One of the very few tough human males in this book is brought down by a family situation and his own beliefs rather than when battling the bad guys.

What started out as a dark gritty urban fantasy series with interesting, twisting plots featuring an undertone of romance has now become more an erotic adventure as Anita loses more of her own personal morals each time she succumbs to the Ardeur. The fast pace, the twists and of course the high body count are all still there, but Anita's sexual escapades now nearly outnumber the amount of times she draws her gun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I still love Anita, 20 Sep 2010
By 
Emma Akines "Sookie fan" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cerulean Sins (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 11) (Paperback)
I read all of the Chalaine Harris Southern Vampire mysteries and loved them. When i was looking for something new to read i was put off this series by some of the reviews I read saying that the later books were like porn. I ended up giving Anita a go and was hooked.In the back of my mind I did keep wondering if I'd fall out of love with the books at this point as many readers seem to have done. I have not!! It's true that the books do get a bit raunchy and are in no way suitable for younger readers but i don't feel that the story line is compramised at all.I read in some reviews that Anita's character completely changes. I dissagree, Anita's character develops and changes due to circumstances in her life. I would recommend these books to anyone who enjoyed the Sookie books. They're so much better!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 26 April 2010
This review is from: Cerulean Sins (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 11) (Paperback)
This book, like all of Laurell K. Hamilton's book was truly amazing. A great read, though not really suitable for young readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where will it stop?, 5 May 2003
By 
Cees Jan Mol (Eindhoven, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There is only one single series that does what Laurell Hamilton achieves: keeps you captivated book after book after book. Anita Blake is one of the best characters Fantasy has ever known. What happens to her is equally exciting. This novel is, in that sense no different than the previous ones. Really mean vampire mother sends emissary to town and Anita and friends have to battle it out. Action packed, dense hours full of excitement, tension and suspense plus some weird terrorist (even in this novel!) running around confusing everyone. There is one single 'but' with this book. Much like Jean Auel's hero became the almighty superwoman (inventing relationships, knitting, making a fire, hunting better etc. etc.), so much power concentrates in Anita that you start wondering what power possibly awaits her. Hints in this book as to where adventure will take her next (the mother of all vampires has appeared on the scene) already make you wonder. It's a great thing Laurell Hamilton succeeds in keeping her heroine (and boyfriends) human. A fantastic read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not so true blue, 18 Mar 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cerulean Sins (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 11) (Paperback)
With "Narcissus in Chains," Laurell K. Hamilton switched her format from blood'n'suspense to sex, blood and endless superpowers for her self-insert, Anita Blake.

And sadly "Cerulean Sins" only continues that tradition, couching a meager plot in endless supernatural sex and increasingly purple prose. But even that might be tolerable if Hamilton's idtastic heroine did not waft through the book, expecting all males to put up with her mood-swings, molestation and manipulation. Think the worst fanfiction Mary Sue ever written by a twelve-year-old Hot Topic shopper.

Anita has just finished a zombie raising when Asher arrives with a message: Belle Morte's emissary Musette has arrived unexpectedly. It turns out that she's come there to toy with Jean-Claude and torment Asher -- and even worse, she intends to use the scarred vampire for her sadistic pleasure. If he isn't the sex partner of a more powerful person, she's free to do it.

However will Anita fix this? By stabbing Musette and hopping in the sack with Asher, of course!

While Anita deals with her deteriorating relationship with the police -- it's their fault rather than hers, of course -- she also must deal with a series of murders, and strange men following her. But the main problem is Belle Morte, who has taken a person interest in Anita -- and whose emissary is still able to cause trouble for Anita's "people." And possibly death for Asher.

Some lip service is paid to a serial killer and a gang of secret agents who, of course, want to enlist Anita's oh-so-impressive services. But that's not where Laurell K. Hamilton's interests lie -- it's pretty clear she is focusing on the endless parade of "who's on top?" vampire politics and all its courtly trappings, and in writing maybe/maybe not sex scenes.

Problem is, she's not very good at it. The supposedly courtly etiquette of the vampires is staggeringly dull, with much hilarious talk of "American sex" (your basic sex) versus "European sex" (just about any kind of physical contact). And the sex scenes require endless before-during-after talking and ridiculous angst. At least two pages are required to get Asher out of his underwear. And her attempts at compelling, intense scenes -- such as the were rescue squad or the long-distance prods of Belle Morte -- end up laughably melodramatic.

Worst of all, no sense of humor -- despite Anita's oh-so-witty barbs, the funniest line in the whole book is Asher announcing that he's known saints and priests who did not have the self-control of a nymphomaniacal narcissist. Add Hamilton's endless descriptions of anime-style flowing hair and brightly-colored eyes, and you have a recipe for tedious, slow-moving slogging.

It's pretty evident that Anita is self-absorbed and not very bright, as well as a glaring Mary Sue with contrived angst and unreal sex powers. Everyone (including the villain and the government) wants her, because she's so tough and special, and despite the fact that she's utterly abrasive and a raging narcissist. Hamilton tries to cover this with protestations that she "loves" all the guys around her, but it's never convincing.

But over the course of "Cerulean Sins" she becomes truly loathsome: emotionally manipulating the vulnerable, endlessly sniping at Richard, and refusing to let Asher leave unless he has sex with her. And while she admits that it's massively hypocritical to insist that Jean-Claude be faithful to her alone while she has sex with anything that will hold still, she insists on it anyway.

Poor Asher. He gets put through the wringer in this one. After being stabbed by an old flame, he has to deal with Anita lying and manipulating him so he'll have "European sex" with her, and apparently not caring how distraught it makes him. The poor guy deserves better.

"Cerulean Sins" is a long, tedious slog of painfully boring sex, painfully boring dialogue, and painfully boring vampire politics that exists just to be talked about. A ghastly experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Setting up the plot for future books, 30 Dec 2007
By 
John Nunn (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The night starts off reasonably for Anita -- she has a straightforward job of reanimating a recent corpse to establish the cause of death. But things rapidly spiral out of control: the vampire Musette, Belle Morte's servant, arrives in town three months early, before negotiations are complete, causing chaos and consternation; there's a werewolf serial killer on the loose and Lieutenant Dolph is acting angry; and some rather spooky men are following Anita around.
Still rather too much emphasis on sex, but lots less angst, and rather more action this time around, as Anita gets to blow away, or at least severely inconvenience, several different classes of bad guy, and gets to be The Executioner again. Also, in a quite clear foreshadowing, we discover Belle Morte isn't the Big Bad after all, but that something else is Stirring....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Series, 28 Mar 2004
I enjoyed this series very much. It is the story of a human woman and her journey into the world of the non human. I think that the erotic parts are appropriate as Anita experiences what it is like to be were(leopard, wolf) along with her curse/gift of the ardeur; it changes her. I found it to be a marvelous transformation from the self sufficient woman in the first books to realizing that she needs others in the latter books. I think the series would have grown stale if she did not change.
I would like to add why this received only 4 stars instead of 5. She could have just stayed with the vampire politics and her change of relationship with police and Dolph. The killer aspect of the plot seemed tagged on or it could have been intergrated better. That was the once weakness I found, otherwise Cerelean Sins was a very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Fantastic Anita Blake Novel, 14 May 2003
By 
This is the 11th book in the Anita Blake series, and once again Laurell K Hamilton has done well. Continuity from the previous books in the series is (as usual) spot on, however, as usual, she keeps new readers in mind and allows it to function well as a stand alone book (although why would you possibly WANT to not read this series in order!!).
For those of you returning to the series, it seems to be more sex-based than the previous books.
The Blurb is a bit misleading in this book. simply in that the request to animate the corpse isn't quite linked in the way the blurb states.
My only major point with this book is the ending, i found it a little.....flat, i felt it was kind of a little bit of a cop out. not really on par with previous books. however, still well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cerulean Sins (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 11)
Cerulean Sins (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 11) by Laurell K. Hamilton (Paperback - 4 Mar 2010)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews