Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars71
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2010
I am a big fan of Anita Blake and have enjoyed reading of her adventures in the world of the preternatural. Some of her many talents involve zombie raising, assisting the police in their preternatural cases and being a vampire executioner and an all round bad ass. Now she has another skill to add to her list.............. Nymphomaniac!!!! This book has no decent storyline; it's just Anita getting naked and sleeping her way through the entire male population of St Louis with a loose background story that is only there to give Anita chance to meet more men with bigger penises!!! And what is with all the crying that's going on? This series has moved from urban fantasy to Erotic Fantasy, I will keep reading but only because I bought the entire series and will be hoping that Hamilton turns on the old charm that was in the earlier books.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2003
This book, out of all her books so far, is the best, because we get more into the intricate details of the shapeshifter politics, and helps you fit together many facts (like why there're no baby shapeshifters running around.)
But there is several very frustrating aspects of the book too. Like why there is so much sex in this book? Anita's resistance to sex has always been an aspect of the series, but this is ridiculous! Also, how deep can Richard and Jean Claude be??? They seem to keep coming up with secrets, talents and skills that are never mentioned in earlier books!
I haven't read Cerulean sins yet, but i hope Hamiltons toned down the sex a bit, and is back on track about explained the details of her world!
Don't mistake me though,it's still a good read!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2001
For those of you who haven't met Anita Blake before,you need to start off at the beginning with 'Guilty Pleasures' to fully understand how the heroine has developed into her zombie raising and vampire servant powers. This is an interesting progression of the series. Several of the other books seem to have got no further in explaining the relationships Anita has, but in this one it is almost as though Laurell K Hamilton is saying goodbye. There's fighting (there's always fighting!) and there's also a new man on the scene, but there's more than just that. Maybe there is another book in production, but by the end of this book, a lot, if not all, of the problems that have beset Anita from the very beginning are sorted out. Anita's life will never be simple, but she seems to be resigning herself to certain parts of herself that she's struggled against for too long. The monsters are still there, but Anita is finding what her place is among them at last.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2010
This book in the series of Anita Blake is by far my favourite! After reading some previous reviews on Anita Blake I was convinced that I would be in for a great disappoinment, especially as I was under the impression that books 1-9 are 'the best'. Yes, ok, books 10 onwards have more sex in them, but its not like Anita Can help it or help herself!
I enjoyed the arrival of Micah, a new love interest for Anita perhaps? Even though Richard's outburst of how he's really feeling left Anita hurt, you just sense that its still not over between them.
Jean Claude shows a side to him that I think is what Anita needs to take responsibilty for her morals/actions.
Definately worth reading just to discover that Anita is a new woman, she's become more comfortable around her pard (which im glad!)and learned to control her powers better.
Lets just say the only thing she has not improved on is her blushing!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2003
Apart from the middle third of this book - which draws a fascinating picture of shapeshifter politics in Anita Blake's world - this book continues the decline in Hamilton's writing which has been going on for some time. Frankly, I found it really hard work - lacklustre, turgid and downright boring. If you want soft porn, with plenty of violence then go ahead and buy it. If, on the other hand, you enjoyed Hamilton as a storyteller and builder of a truly unique and fascinating mythos in the past, then don't waste your money. I don't think I will be buying any more of her books - which is a real shame, but this happens occasionally.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2001
I'm a big fan of this series, and had been eagerly anticipating the next installment. I was not disappointed, and was unable to put this book down once I'd started.
I've been following the series since Guilty Pleasures was published in the early 90s and have introduced a number of friends to this series, who have all become huge fans of Anita and her creator, Laurell K. Hamilton. Characters, plots, settings and the one-liners have all remained strong throughout, and the world in which the stories are set has become a favorite place to escape to.
For people not familiar with the series the premise revolves around Anita, a vampire executioner and necromancer. Her line of work is pretty dangerous to say the least, and her personal life isn't any better. The two men in her life are Richard, a gentle werewolf, and Jean Claude, the master vampire of St Louis, and she's been finding it hard to decide between the two.
This book gets back to the focus of the series following the interlude with Edward in Obsidian Butterfly. Namely, the triangle between Anita, Jean Claude and Richard. I won't spoil things by saying what happens, but Laurell K. Hamilton is at her very best in this book, which finally reaches some resolution after the twists and turns of the previous books.
Again, Anita's morals are tested beyond their limits, and she has to decide whether becoming one of the monsters is an acceptable trade for protecting loved ones. In this book, it is the shifters who are the focus of a malign entity, with the vampires taking on a more peripheral role.
The opposing views of Richard, the pacifist, and Anita, who is more practical (or ruthless?) on how to organise shifter society continue to put strain on their relationship. The introduction of new characters complicates things further, until you have to keep reading just to find out whether Anita and Richard's love for each other will prove strong enough. And what of Jean Claude, and the bonds between all three of them?
These questions are answered in this book, but a teaser in the closing pages ensures that Anita Blake will be back. All bets were off in Narcissus in Chains, and who knows what will happen in future installments! So now I'm back to square one, eagerly anticipating the next Anita Blake tale, knowing that Laurell K Hamilton has the imagination and talent to keep the characters going for even more books in my all time favorite series.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2012
I've just had to do something I never thought I'd do. I've had to give up on an Anita Blake book! I've loved this series up to now. The previous books have been original, well written, structured, intelligent, witty, balanced, all the things I love in a book. But with this one I just got to chapter 17 and thought - enough, I am not enjoying this! Why? Too much sex not enough plot! I didn't want to read another five page gang-bang, they'd only just finished one in the previous chapters! So that's it for Anita and me! I'll remember the good times!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 March 2011
Anita Blake is back with a vengeance as she again wades through a vast amount of blood and dead bodies to save those she cares for. There is action all the way as she tries to protect on-off boyfriend Richard, yet despite their feelings for each other there really isn't much hope that their relationship can survive.

Anita really loses control in this book and does something I thought she never would. Although this is explained and the fact is she doesn't have much choice, her actions are so against her principles that during the first few chapters of this book I found myself somewhat disappointed with her. Yet as the plot continues and a whole heap of danger threatens, Anita really rises to each and every occasion despite her new problems.

I liked the fact the many of the shape shifters are "humanised" in "Narcissus in Chains" but to contrast this, no one can deny Anita is losing her own humanity and becoming more of a monster. Yet she still retains her own code of honour and will not force anyone to do something she is not prepared to do herself. The plot is complex, thrilling and abundantly violent; leaving your heart pounding in your throat, plus the new characters introduced add to the fun and games. This is undoubtedly my favourite Anita Blake book and despite my reservations over some of the decisions Anita makes, I look forward to continuing on with this series to see how everything turns out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 March 2011
Anita Blake is back with a vengeance as she again wades through a vast amount of blood and dead bodies to save those she cares for. There is action all the way as she tries to protect on-off boyfriend Richard, yet despite their feelings for each other there really isn't much hope that their relationship can survive.

Anita really loses control in this book and does something I thought she never would. Although this is explained and the fact is she doesn't have much choice, her actions are so against her principles that during the first few chapters of this book I found myself somewhat disappointed with her. Yet as the plot continues and a whole heap of danger threatens, Anita really rises to each and every occasion despite her new problems.

I liked the fact the many of the shape shifters are "humanised" in "Narcissus in Chains" but to contrast this, no one can deny Anita is losing her own humanity and becoming more of a monster. Yet she still retains her own code of honour and will not force anyone to do something she is not prepared to do herself. The plot is complex, thrilling and abundantly violent; leaving your heart pounding in your throat, plus the new characters introduced add to the fun and games. This is undoubtedly my favourite Anita Blake book and despite my reservations over some of the decisions Anita makes, I look forward to continuing on with this series to see how everything turns out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2011
Narcissus in Chains (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 10)
I've read the last 9 Anita Blake books and have found them enjoyable, a bit self indulgent, but o.k. But, I can now see what all the other readers have been saying about this series.

Laurell K. Hamilton has got rather perverse in her writing, and seems to think that no matter how long the dialect and wierd the scenes she's trying to set up, us readers will understand what she's going on about.

I think this book makes Anita Blake look needy, incredibly boring, with no sense of humour and also, worst of all, an ego maniac. There's no way anyone could honestly feel any affection for such a self centred woman, unless they wanted something from her. Which is where the author seems to be missing the point, Anita Blake's only use is the power she now wields, which makes the sex/love scenes very animal, not passionate, and I for one like to have a build up before the hot, sweaty scenes. Also, I agree with another reviewer, I can't keep up with all the characters, there's too many and they all think Anite Blake is the second coming. These books are beginning to leave a bad taste in my mouth. Unfortunately, I bought a few more episodes before the reviews started getting really bad, wish me luck!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.