Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anita Blake and the Lunatic Cafe
Anita Blake is an Animator, an animator is not someone who draws cartoons but rather a person who has the innate ability to raise the dead. Anita and those she works with raise zombies to settle will disputes, have abused people resolve their feelings and other things -- all for a reasonable fee. On the side of this most prolific of professions Anita is a vampire hunter...
Published on 24 Dec 2009 by Persephone

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fell flat and I didn't like the love triangle
This review was originally posted at: [...]

"I've survived a lot - from jealous vampires to killer zombies - but this love thing may kill me yet,"
Anita Blake, The Lunatic Café by Laurel K. Hamilton

I finally picked up the fourth book in the Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Series. It has taken me a while, partly because the book has been on...
Published 9 months ago by Frances


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anita Blake and the Lunatic Cafe, 24 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Lunatic Cafe (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 4) (Paperback)
Anita Blake is an Animator, an animator is not someone who draws cartoons but rather a person who has the innate ability to raise the dead. Anita and those she works with raise zombies to settle will disputes, have abused people resolve their feelings and other things -- all for a reasonable fee. On the side of this most prolific of professions Anita is a vampire hunter -- she's nicknamed 'the Executioner' by the vampires and (obviously) isn't too keen on them. The Lunatic Cafe wasn't as good as the Circus of the Damned but was a very enjoyable romp nonetheless!

Anita Blake has problems. Aside from the usual she's facing a very jealous master vampire as she attempts to date her werewolf beau Richard. There's trouble in paradise as Anita is drawn into Were-pack politics -- eight shapeshifters have gone missing and she needs to discover the whys and the wherefores as soon as possible. As well as this; Edward shows up uninvited with a case of his own that may well tie into the missing shapeshifters.

I found myself really liking Richard in this book. But I'm already kind of bored of the brewing love triangle between Anita, Jean-Claude and Richard. I don't actually care who she dates and enjoy her friendship with Edward a lot more than any other dynamic (romantic or otherwise) in the book. There was a lot of time spent on the love triangle; probably too much. I found it quite jarring because the books have been so mercifully lacking in romance so far (a sign of things to come sadly). The plot mysteries are always good in these books, with that great hard-boiled noir tinge to them -- and I loved this one too. We learn a little more about Anita's world and are introduced to some new preternatural inhabitance.

Aside from Edward returning for more death and mayhem, we have a lot more of Richard, Dolph and Zerbrowski. Dolph is too funny and you can see he's pretty fond of Anita -- I thought it was funny when he and Zerbrowski were teasing her about dating Richard. I love Edward in all his ruthlessness, he was on good form here... he tells Anita for the first time he thinks she could, maybe, beat him in a fight.

The plot tied itself up in a coherent manner; although the final climatic "battle" scenes could have been slightly less drawn out. The pacing overall was decent, despite the interruptions for Anita to constantly argue with one of her love interests about some random thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Anita Blake Vampire Hunter" series book 4, 6 Feb 2011
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lunatic Cafe (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 4) (Paperback)
Anita Blake is back with a vengeance in this gory urban fantasy series. She's got her usual problems; namely her relationships with werewolf Richard and his love rival master vampire Jean-Claude plus she's trying to track down missing shape shifters and deal with a growing number of dead bodies.

The shape shifting world is delved into in this book as Anita runs about wielding her gun and shooting down her enemies. She does come across as far more ruthless in this book, but she's still got her cuddly penguins and a unique code of honour she's determined not to break.

Expect the usual from this author; plenty of action, a variety of twisting subplots that almost magically weaves together during the final chapters and an interesting love story as Anita tries to accept that the two men she loves are both monsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab read, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great books would highly recommend can't put them down, great story line and even better characters can't wait to get started on the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We love Anita blake, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great series first read in paperback but my eyesight is going so buying in effort. If you like this series read gentry series just as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend this book, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lunatic Cafe (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 4) (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this book. Started reading the Anita Blake series and was addicted. Lots of vampire and zombie action. As vampires go, just love Jean Claude's character
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as usual a good story line and plenty of action to keep you reading well worth the time it took to read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good as usual, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
like the other Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series, this one is just as gripping and is totally worth reading :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read The first book and was hooked, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lunatic Cafe (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 4) (Paperback)
Great books , i will definitely be buying more in the series , a relaxing read and a different take on the usual vampire based stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fell flat and I didn't like the love triangle, 11 July 2013
This review is from: The Lunatic Cafe (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 4) (Paperback)
This review was originally posted at: [...]

"I've survived a lot - from jealous vampires to killer zombies - but this love thing may kill me yet,"
Anita Blake, The Lunatic Café by Laurel K. Hamilton

I finally picked up the fourth book in the Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Series. It has taken me a while, partly because the book has been on loan and partly because I wasn't that eager to pick up the next book. I felt that the third book in the series, Circus of the Damned, fell a little flat and the book wasn't left on a cliff-hanger despite the twist at the end of the book. Everything felt resolved. That being said, I wanted to see how the twist at the end of the book played out. As a result, there will be spoilers for Circus of the Damned in this book review, so if you haven't read book three in the series, don't read this review.

The Lunatic Café picks up a little while after the ending of Circus of the Damned. Anita is asked by Marcus, the leader of the lycanthropes in St. Louis, to find out what has happened to 7 missing lycanthropes. Anita is reluctant to help because she isn't a detective, but as they won't go to the police and Marcus won't take no for an answer, Anita does what she can. Amidst trying to solve the missing persons' case, Anita is called in to consult on two crime scenes: one where a human has been mauled by what the local police think is a bear, but Anita thinks otherwise, and one where someone has been skinned. As Anita investigates, she begins to realize that the two cases might be connected, but how?

Anita is still dating Richard despite learning that he is a werewolf. This is because Richard can hide his paranormal side very well, which allows Anita to deny it, and Anita has strong feelings for Richard. Things aren't so sunny for Richard and Anita in The Lunatic Café, however. Anita catches a glimpse of Richard's power and it terrifies her. She has said throughout the series that she would not date a monster and Anita is coming to realize that Richard is the lycanthrope equivalent of Jean-Claude in terms of power. Anita also has to try to deal with Jean Claude, who still wants her for himself. After Anita loses the marks Jean Claude placed on her in the Circus of the Damned, Jean Claude is determined not to lose Anita. Will Anita be able to survive the tug of war between Richard and Jean Claude?

After reading the last book in the series, Circus of the Damned, I was getting bored of all the Master Vampires attacking Anita. I wanted some more variety and in The Lunatic Café, I got it. The Lycanthrope's have a central role in this book. I found it really interesting to read about how and when they change, and the different types of Lycanthropes. It is pretty clear that the leader of the Lycanthrope is as bad as a Master Vampire and once again Anita survives by the skin of her teeth. While these scenes are similar to the showdowns with the Master Vampires in the previous books, they are different because the Lycanthrope's are more of a threat because when they change, there is no reasoning with them. Plus, as soon as they change they need to kill and Anita just happens to be the only human around!

The main plot in The Lunatic Café is the love triangle between Anita, Jean-Claude and Richard. Richard and Anita's relationship is moving fast, too fast for Anita, especially when she feels his power for the first time and realizes that he is as powerful and as inhuman as Jean-Claude. Anita has a personal crisis over what to do because she has always claimed that she wouldn't date a monster, and her relationship with Richard hangs in the balance. I didn't find Anita and Richard's relationship interesting in this book. It was so consumed by this road block in their relationship that it ended up with Richard throwing miserable looks at Anita, and Anita feeling bad and wanting to accept him but not doing it. It was all so over-the-top and I rolled my eyes a lot, something I haven't done in any of the previous Anita Blake books. Plus, Anita becomes so focused on the relationship that everything else takes a back seat. This just seems so out of character because she was a character who wouldn't let a relationship affect her work.

Jean-Claude is all too happy to take advantage of the Anita's realization that Richard is as inhuman as he is. He makes a plan to win Anita for himself. I won't say what the plan is because I don't want to spoil it, but I am surprised by Anita's reaction to the plan. It seems so out of character. She really doesn't like it when she has no choice in something and her usual answer is to shoot the person, but she just kind of accepts it.

Due to the focus on the love triangle, the mystery and detective work in The Lunatic Café takes a back seat. It's an interesting mystery though so I wish more time had been spent on this. Everything seems to happen in drips and drabs throughout the book and then the focus shifts to the mystery at the end of the book. Everything is crammed in and it feels rushed. Some of the characters had so much potential to really come alive and have some kind of show-down with Anita, but there just wasn't room in the book. I hope that in the next book, there will be a little lot less love triangle and more focus on the mystery.

I have always found the banter between Anita and the police comedic. It brought a lighter element to the descriptive murder scenes that might have been a tad too dark otherwise. In The Lunatic Café there was way too much of this between Anita and the local police. I found the banter to be infuriating because it constantly broke up the flow of the investigation and it wasn't comedic. Rather than Anita and the preternatural police team teasing each other, Anita and the local police just take jabs at each other constantly. I get that the local police were complete idiots and they were really prejudiced, but less would have been more.

Final Verdict: If you like love triangles and romance, this will be the best in the series for you. If, like me, you like the butt kicking, zombie raiser and vampire executioner side of Anita Blake, this book will most likely fall flat for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, 25 May 2013
By 
Maxine (DONCASTER, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Keep Anita coming please, love this series. I had started buying the books but have splurged and am now buying them all for my kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafa441a4)

This product

The Lunatic Cafe (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 4)
The Lunatic Cafe (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter 4) by Laurell K. Hamilton (Paperback - 7 Jan 2010)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews