Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Having it Mailed to the U.S.!
Suffice it to say that Jecks has once again outdone himself in this latest in his series. I could not wait until an April, 2010 release in the U.S., so obtained it from Amazon U.K. (prompt service). It was worth the price from the U.K.!!! I read it while traveling, and found it difficult to put down. I very much look forward to the next title in the series. I should...
Published on 4 Dec 2009 by Bookaholic

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The bishop must die...
Although the historical context was pretty good, the plot was rather tedious and i was compelled to put the book down after a few chapters...wasn't as interesting as many other medieval novels I've read which was disappointing because the story could have been more colourful. Didn't like it :(
Published on 29 Nov 2010 by MsAbbasi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Having it Mailed to the U.S.!, 4 Dec 2009
By 
Bookaholic "prussblue" (St. Louis area, MO USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Suffice it to say that Jecks has once again outdone himself in this latest in his series. I could not wait until an April, 2010 release in the U.S., so obtained it from Amazon U.K. (prompt service). It was worth the price from the U.K.!!! I read it while traveling, and found it difficult to put down. I very much look forward to the next title in the series. I should note that a few years back, when I was first introduced to this author, I was compelled to find every one in the series beginning with number one. I did not regret that move. I find that Michael Jecks, and his friend, Bernard Knight, are the masters of medieval murder mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The series moves toward a gripping finale, 14 Jan 2010
By 
John "John75222" (Leeds, Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bishop Must Die (Knights Templar Mysteries 28) (Paperback)
I've followed the Michael Jecks series about Bailiff Puttock and Sir Baldwin since the first book in the series many years ago. In my view the characters are richly drawn and weave in and out of the events of the early 14th century with Michael Jecks showing great knowledge of the times. Yes there are occasional inconsistencies, criticism is often leveled about his use of modern vernacular English but that is necessary in order to keep the stories well paced; and that they certainly are. Yes there are the odd historical inaccuracies but that can be inevitable when you're attempting to place fictional characters into positions of consequence in actual historical events - I'd point you toward Robert Graves' two (fictional) books on the life of the Emporer Claudius as example. So there is required to be a balance of historical accuracy and artistic license and in my view Jecks and several other authors of the genre manage it quite well. If you want total historical accuracy then read academic texts on the period. If you want a cracking series of books to read then buy these.

The Bishop Must Die has started the process of the fall from power of Edward II and the hated DeSpenser it will be interesting now to see where the series goes, who survives, who falls. I can see that Jecks has cleverly designed the story lines in such a way that he can send his characters either way and there will be a number of twists and turns to come. Where the story goes after Edward II dies (Murdered? or anonymous exile as some histories contend?). It may turn to the eventual overthrow and death of Mortimer in 1330.

If you haven't read the backstory then please read the books before dismissing them. The whole series is excellent. As Edmund Blackadder would say: "They have more twists and turns than a twisty turny thing". It's also important to see the development of the characters over the years and their motivations. If you bought this one as a quick read then I can understand the dissapointment, as a stand alone read you'll miss a great many of the subplot lines and nuances that have built up over the previous 27 books that may cause some degree of dissatisfaction.

I read a lot of the authors who write historical detective / crime / mystery novels who are now into the 10+ title stage of character development (Ellis Peters - Cadfael; Susanna Gregory - Matt Bartholemew / Chalonner; Lindsey Davis - Falco; Steven Saylor - Gordianus; David Wishart - Corvinus; Peter Tremayne - Fidelma; John Maddox Roberts - Mettellus; Doherty/Harding/Clynes - Corbett/Athelstan/Shallot to name but a few) I could count on the fingers of one hand the number of their books that could be read in isolation and Jecks series is no exception.

Before anyone confines this book to the airport trash can, remember it's the 28th book of a series navigating a period of complex political and cultural upheaval. Remember also that it's a fictional interpretation of history and try to suspend pedantry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bishop Must Die (Knights Templar Mysteries 28) (Paperback)
I have been reading the series and I must admit that I was curious about how they would deal with killing the Bishop yet managing to keep Simon and Baldwin alive. Have really enjoyed the series so far and havent felt let down at all. I am curious though as to why the books after this one dont mention this book in the listing of templar stories which have preceeded this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bishop Walters swansong?, 10 Feb 2013
Yet again Simon and Sir Baldwin are pulling themselves/others out of the mire, seeking the truth and trying to live a peaceful life in turbulent times. If you haven't read any of the earlier books then I'd recommend reading them before you tackle this one. You need the background to help fill gaps, although this story will stand upon it's own legs if needed. Another masterpiece from one of my favourite authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The bishop must die..., 29 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Bishop Must Die (Knights Templar Mysteries 28) (Paperback)
Although the historical context was pretty good, the plot was rather tedious and i was compelled to put the book down after a few chapters...wasn't as interesting as many other medieval novels I've read which was disappointing because the story could have been more colourful. Didn't like it :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning of the End For Edward II, 28 July 2010
I bought the book at my local library for only a few pounds. But, in the end, I found it to be throughly entertained by the book and its contents. I was a little lax on the mystery side, unlike Michael Jecks's earlier books, but I still loved it, and loved it even more when Michael made the young Edward III a present character. Since,I'am the ultimate Edward fan, I love that, and believed it was so cool. So yes, Sir Baldwin and Simon were great, the setting was great, and the theme was great. Very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bishop must die., 12 May 2010
By 
Mrs. Stella E. Bliss (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bishop Must Die (Knights Templar Mysteries 28) (Paperback)
Book arrived in good time and condition but I haven't read it yet. If it is as good as the rest of the books by Michael Jecks I will enjoy this on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bishop's Dead, 31 Jan 2010
By 
P. Neimoyer (Fresno, Ca.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've been a fan of this series since I read The Last Templar some years ago. Jecks is right up there with Ellis Peters, Dashiell Hammett or Raymond Chandler as a writer who can breath life into his fictional characters or bring historical characters back to life. The Bishop Must Die tells the story of the murder of Bishop Walter de Stapledon on 15 October 1326 from the prospective of friends who love and respect the Bishop, Sir Baldwin and Simon. It offers a prospective of life and death in a time of civil war between King Edward II and his Queen Isabella and her lover Roger Mortimer. Jecks brings you into a time you can only be glad you don't live in! I highly recommend the entire series to anyone who is a lover of mystery and historical fiction.

Paul Neimoyer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Jecks read, 7 Jan 2010
By 
Topsy Jones "Esther" (Burton-on-Trent, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bishop Must Die (Knights Templar Mysteries 28) (Paperback)
Jecks always brings his chosen era to life and takes the characters further while establishing a convincing setting. Well worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sir Baldwin and Simon strike again, 12 Dec 2009
By 
David Coote (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The latest in Michael Jecks' medieval murder mysteries featuring the Templar Knight and the Bailiff (nearly 30 and counting), the bishop in question is the Bishop of Exeter, Walter Stapledon, who, while good for some people, had a habit of taking valuable property from the landed and using the income for his own purposes. Despite their best efforts, Simon Puttock and Sir Baldwin of Furneshill fail to keep him alive.

All the while Simon and Sir Baldwin are trying to avoid becoming involved in the politics of the court of King Edward II and his favourite, Sir Hugh Despenser. They find this to be nearly impossible but manage to avoid attracting Sir Hugh's attention while still finding a murderer.

Number twenty nine in the series is sure to be a cracking good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bishop Must Die (Knights Templar Mysteries 28)
The Bishop Must Die (Knights Templar Mysteries 28) by Michael Jecks (Paperback - 12 Nov 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews