Customer Reviews


384 Reviews
5 star:
 (266)
4 star:
 (83)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody good fun
Macro and Cato are back in town, and bring with them their usual amount of mayhem, intrigue and collateral damage.
They just don't seem able to sit idle and enjoy some down time, or lady fortuna has a sick sense of humour. Once again they are back in the legions, and once again its not a nice comfortable billet. But I don't think either of these boys would want or...
Published 13 months ago by Parm

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but losing its fizz.
I've loved this series for a fair number of years now and to be honest its something of a guilty pleasure, however I do start to wonder just how many more scrapes that two of them can get into before one of them makes a fatal error that will leave either one or both of them face down in the dirty.

Don't get me wrong, it is a cracking story, Macro and Cato do...
Published 12 months ago by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog


‹ Previous | 122 23 2439 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Outstanding and you get drawn in from the first chapter on by the end of the book your already to see what happens next. I read this book on my kindle and there were a lot typo's but this did not detract from the overall book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i have read all his books in this series, they just get better and better., 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a great read. so well researched. it fells as if you are with them in there adventures. great stuff again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The blood cores, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The blood crows, true to form with a cracking story and plenty of action. Really looking forward to the next book from an author who makes you live the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars smon scarrow, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thi series gets better all the time. I hope he never gets to end it. I can read them all again and they sre still a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Readable but series needs more oomph!, 5 Nov 2013
By 
J.R.Hartley (NW England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Blood Crows (Roman Legion) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Anyone who has read the previous novels in the series will know what to expect from this 12th episode - blood, treachery, cunning villains, a race against time and triumph against the odds. There are no surprises, they're good stories all the same and I enjoy reading them in a brain-in-neutral kind of way. However, Scarrow really needs to work on the baddies as they're distinctily weak and the relationship between the two Roman protagonists is getting increasingly dull, with Macro in particular needing more depth to him. As he is, he is the solid, dependable, heroic soldier but after all that he has been through I really can't believe this man doesn't have a darker soul. Fine upstanding characters are all very well, but the best heroes are the flawed ones. I really hope Simon Scarrow works on this for the future as this series is in grave danger of becoming little more than a Commando comic in written form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As expected, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Hiraethus o Gymru (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Blood Crows (Roman Legion) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Entirely as one has come to expect from the master of Roman literary entertainment, our old friends Cato and Macro face danger stoically, along with a degree of humour and prevail against all odds. An enjoyable romp in which they re-encounter real historical characters which Simon weaves into the lives of the two heroes. A good read, I finished it in three bed time sessions, finding it hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still going strong, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. C. J. Nicholls (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blood Crows (Roman Legion) (Hardcover)
I haven't read all of Scarrow's books, but have enjoyed all those I decided to buy, especially this series. We'll have to see whether our heroes will be stuck in Britannia until Boudicca's rebellion, but I'm sure they'll find plenty to do, wherever they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 29 Oct 2013
I have been a fan of the eagle series for quite a few years and Scarrow has delivered a well paced and intense novel with the story based on the invasion of Britain.
Once again the life of the Roman soldier is vividly portrayed and I for one cannot wait for the next book in this great series.
If you love historical fiction you're going to love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back in Britannia (Book 12), 28 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. William Oxley "oxenblocks" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blood Crows (Roman Legion) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The indestructible Cato and Macro are back for another adventure. Cato is now a Prefect, with Macro is a Centurion, and they have been appointed to a fort in the misty hills of Wales, on the outer fringes of the Empire.

Typically they have enemies on all side, including from inside their ranks. Cato has to out think his new nemesis and survive against almost all the odds.

Despite the somewhat predictable nature of the story I really enjoy the well written story and the action. I will be back for more. Historical fiction at its best.

Other historical novels that I have recently read and enjoyed include The Silver Falcon and Wars of the Roses: Stormbird (Wars of the Roses 1). Also see my list, Historical Military Fiction, for my favourite novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read from start to finish, it`s good to have Cato maps Macro back doing what they do best, fighting in the legions. Can`t wait for the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 122 23 2439 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blood Crows (Roman Legion)
The Blood Crows (Roman Legion) by Simon Scarrow (Hardcover - 24 Oct 2013)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews