Customer Reviews


353 Reviews
5 star:
 (241)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody good fun
Macro and Cato are back in town, and bring with them their usual amount of mayhem, intrigue and collateral damage.
They just don't seem able to sit idle and enjoy some down time, or lady fortuna has a sick sense of humour. Once again they are back in the legions, and once again its not a nice comfortable billet. But I don't think either of these boys would want or...
Published 12 months ago by Parm

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but losing its fizz.
I've loved this series for a fair number of years now and to be honest its something of a guilty pleasure, however I do start to wonder just how many more scrapes that two of them can get into before one of them makes a fatal error that will leave either one or both of them face down in the dirty.

Don't get me wrong, it is a cracking story, Macro and Cato do...
Published 10 months ago by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog


‹ Previous | 115 16 1736 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars scarrow storms ahead, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book where scarrow personalises characters from history and takes a reader to the brutality of war. The overview of the battle, the fear of the forlorn hope and the pinpoint detail of personal fear of imminent death but once again Cato and macro hold out and pull through. A great gripping unputdownable read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more please !, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is more like what we're used to...., no more co-written books please!
Can't wait for the next installment. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Blood Crows (Roman Legion 12), 22 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blood Crows (Roman Legion) (Hardcover)
I like the historic background to Simon Scarrow books, do not like the use of four lettered words, does not impress me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Blood Crows, 21 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Blood Crows (Roman Legion) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Simon Scarrow has always been one of my favourite authors and every one of his books has a place on my large book case. Right from the beginning of the first story where the Centurion Macro takes the young Cato, new to the Roman army, under his wing in ancient Britain.
This new episode is no exception. After travelling all over the Roman world, they are now back in Londinium and awaiting a new posting.
There is trouble with the tribes in the mountains of Wales and the legion need an experienced prefect to sort out the problems with their not only with the local tribes but the Legion stationed there as well.
Cato has now reached that rank and he and Macro are sent to the far west and find themselves in another great adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long time fan, not disappointed, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Smatch (South West) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Blood Crows (Roman Legion) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I own all the previous eleven books in the 'Eagle' series, and it really is the place to go if you like your Roman historical fiction dirty with a bit of grit and a few choice swear words. Its very impressive to me that Scarrow has kept the two main characters Macro and Cato the same at their core yet with subtle differences and development from when they first met, he really illustrates how much one has effected the other in some way over the years together, which is especially important as Cato jumped beyond Macro in rank a couple of books ago. This is the reason why the duo are still probably my favourite characters in historical fiction, can't see them being beat.

Onto 'The Blood Crows' then, its more of the same from Scarrow; battles, grit, action with the usual wry humour from the two. Starting with 'Centurion' (the eighth in the series) the author has dropped the word 'Eagle' from the titles to make the series more accessible to people who haven't necessarily read the previous books and it is clear you can pick 'Centurion' up without any prior knowledge and still get a very enjoyable read, but obviously if you want the full experience go back to the beginning.
Its good to see the two soldiers back in Britannia with the surprisingly funny addition of Macro's mother, I won't go into the plot itself as you can read much better synopses from the publishers (and a few reviewers here no doubt). But I will say that its as engrossing a story as ever, with the action mixed with the usual cut throat politics.

If you like no holds barred historical fiction get this, whether a new reader or old you won't look back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 Nov 2013
By 
SJSmith (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Blood Crows (Roman Legion) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As always these are great books and this one lived up to all my expectations. You always hope as a reader that the next in a series is going to meet your expectations and this one certainly did. Looking forward to reading it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody marvellous, 21 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: The Blood Crows (Roman Legion) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've been reading historical fictions for donkeys years: Bernard Cornwell's Sharpe novels, his Arthurian saga, his Anglo-Saxon series...all provide excellent examples of derring-do and buckles being swashed. Pressfield's Greek histories are fantastic, while Conn Iggulden is another favourite with his novels about the Mongols. Yet I could never really engage in his Emperor series.

To be honest Roman history, (while obviously important with the impact they had across the world)never really interested me - it was overplayed I thought, learned about it too much in school.

Then I was lucky enough to find a copy of Eagle in the Sand by Simon Scarrow and I devoured it.

He brings to life his characters Macro and Cato, and a supporting cast of various real life heroes including Boudicca, Caratacus and Yeshua, making them realistic (lots of swearing which you'd expect from soldiers at war) and vulnerable.

This novel is no different, once again featuring Britain roughly 100 years after the invasion, Macro and Cato as ever fighting the natives and backstabbing colleagues. A fantastic read, although the characters are addressed familiarly to the point it may be beneficial for new readers to start at the beginning of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Blood Crows, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Gordon Downie (Stoke-on-Trent, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really great read, I enjoyed it from start to finish. Darker than Scarrow's usual Cato and Macro series but non the worse for that. I look forward to reading the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars B of c, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Same as other books in series once started can't put down
This covers the 11 first books also.
Mick spain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rome invades but cannot subdue...yet., 20 Nov 2013
By 
BRIAN PLAYFAIR "SAQQARA" (CLELAND SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blood Crows (Roman Legion) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
THE BLOOD CROWS by Simon Scarrow. This is the first of SS's books I have read. Perhaps I left him alone for too long before giving him a chance mainly because Rome was not on my radar. As a result I was not sure what to expect but due to the popularity of his books I had a feeling I would not be disappointed - and I was not. This is also the twelfth is a series (so far) and perhaps not the best place to start however it has acted as a great incentive to now go back and start the adventure at the beginning. Having said that this book could be read as a "stand-alone" since the author takes the time and care to introduce the players and the circumstances at the start so I did not feel deprived by having missed his earlier works.

To those who have made the journey with our heroes I can imagine this is something you have looked forward to and will perhaps enjoy it even more.

I make it a point of trying not to reveal the plot in a novel as I have no wish to spoil the read for anyone coming after so let's just say this book is set in the first century AD with the Roman Legion trying to drag Britain and it's inhabitants (kicking and screaming) into their new world order. The location is what would be Wales and the locals do not want any part of the new world preferring to left alone in the rain and mud to kill each other so as with the other parts of Britain they were not alone. Leading the fight are the two heroes from Rome Cato and Marco who have been developed in earlier books. The research appears to be extensive although I do not know enough about Rome to be adamant. A gripping storyline that many will find totally absorbing once the introductions are completed as Rome, the superpower of the time finds that invasion like today is not a quick job.

It works well and has certainly given me an interest to go back and experience the journey through the earlier books. I am happy to recommend it (at this stage as a stand alone book) but I feel sure there are many that have been with Cato and Marco a long time will have looked forward to this publication and that is the true test of an exciting series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 1736 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blood Crows (Roman Legion)
The Blood Crows (Roman Legion) by Simon Scarrow (Hardcover - 24 Oct 2013)
£16.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews