Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macro & Cato series, always a winner
Praetorian: Book 11 of the Macro & Cato series, always a winner, i think the only time i have struggled with one of these books was gladiator and that was just the one character in the book.

Legion saw a return to old school Macro and Cato and Simons best work, so would Praetorian keep up that momentum?

Yes and No: No because the book is different,...
Published on 10 Nov 2011 by Parm

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, But Provides Only A Glancing Blow
The Praetorian Guard is a rich, under-mined topic in historical fiction. It has a lot of potential, and so far has only has been briefly touched in the work of Robert Graves and Robert Fabbri.

I have only read a few of Scarrow's earlier books, and swore I would never touch another. However, a book around the Praetorian Guard was too tempting to resist...
Published on 22 Jan 2012 by Dignitas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars business as usual, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
perhaps my shortest review. its exactly the same as has come before, that for me and the legions of fans is exactly whats required :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarrow, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Greg Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Praetorian (Roman Legion 11) (Paperback)
Scarrow never disappoints. A reliable good read, a bit of escapism but rooted in good history. Fast and furious fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simon Scarrow, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Neil Horton "Neil" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Praetorian is the 11th book in the Cato and Marco series. Brilliant read by a brilliant author. So far, i have ready every book he has published and not been disappointed. Roll on the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The story goes on. Excellent read, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the 11th book in hte series and is as good as the first. I have already pre-ordered the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended especially if you've read the first ten books ;), 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yep, another ripper and duly exciting and gripping, at the very least it's a pleasant way to motor on through the series and being set in Rome it's a nice change from the usual battlefields that Cato and Macro more commonly negotiate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Up to his normal excellent standards, but rather more political than usual - inevitable with a rise up through the ranks (as anyone who has worked in a large organisation knows!!!).

Now looking forward to the "prequels" with optio Macro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No place like Rome, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Praetorian (Roman Legion 11) (Paperback)
I am a great fan of this series (as is my niece!).The usual fighting novels are put to one side when the characters are recalled to Rome to help uncover a plot to overthrow the Emperor.It's a pleasant change of pace,which I wasn't expecting.Simon Scarrow really understands his subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rome revisited, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another enthralling novel based on well know characters of the series. Ancient Rome was brought to life with deft insights into a life style and culture long forgotten I'd recommend this book and series to anyone with an interest in Roman times and/or adventure novels with an historical factual basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to the continuing saga, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great instalment of the Macro and Cato story. I have read all of the books over the last year and this one, whilst not as packed with the usual battle scenes, gives a great insight into the period and the dangerous and precarious position of all Romans from the Emperor down to the ordinary people.

Macro and Cato make a great team as always, combining brawn and brain respectively they keep you willing them to do well in some very difficult situations and hoping that some of the less desirable characters meet an appropriate end.

I like the way Simon Scarrow writes and his descriptions of the characters and the times in which they live conjures up a moving picture in my mind like watching a film. Something which I have found only with some of the best story tellers.

Having caught right up to date with the series I now can't wait to see what happens next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simon Scarrow, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Author seems able to paint a picture with words which not only tells the story, but gives the reader a vivid image of the characters and their surroundings (even the smells!) such that you feel like you are not reading the story, but you actually there observing it as it unfolds. Simon Scarrow seems to be one of the best writers on this type of historical subject, I can think of. Exellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3190528)

This product

Praetorian (Roman Legion 11)
Praetorian (Roman Legion 11) by Simon Scarrow (Paperback - 5 July 2012)
6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews