Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Plum Full of Fun!
In the past, Between-the-Numbers Plums have been somewhat disappointing . . . with lots of Diesel (the now-you-see-him, now-you-don't spook who seems to be connected to The Men in Black), but little or no Morelli and Ranger. Well, Ms. Evanovich has solved that problem in Plum Spooky by putting in decent amounts of Morelli and Ranger to season the minor chemistry between...
Published on 7 Jan 2009 by Donald Mitchell

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the usual Between The Numbers
The Between the Numbers series do exactly what they say on the tin, provide instalments of the Stephanie Plum stories between the numbered novels. This latest fitting between numbers 14 and 15 in the series.

Previously the between the numbers books have been slim volumes, more like short stories. They're tied together by the appearance of a semi super natural...
Published on 19 Jun 2009 by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Plum Full of Fun!, 7 Jan 2009
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Plum Spooky (Hardcover)
In the past, Between-the-Numbers Plums have been somewhat disappointing . . . with lots of Diesel (the now-you-see-him, now-you-don't spook who seems to be connected to The Men in Black), but little or no Morelli and Ranger. Well, Ms. Evanovich has solved that problem in Plum Spooky by putting in decent amounts of Morelli and Ranger to season the minor chemistry between Diesel and Stephanie. As a result, this is a full-fledged Plum . . . just as though it had its own number . . . you know, something like Frightening Fifteen.

As usual, Diesel appears out of nowhere with no warning. Stephanie has three accused who have missed their court dates, and none of them seem to be particularly challenging. There's Gordo Bella who ran over his ex-wife's new husband twice and is otherwise law-abiding. Denny Guzzi shot himself in the foot while robbing a convenience story, so he probably isn't going to run very fast. The other is Martin Munch, a skinny, five-foot two-inch scientist who looks like a kid in a SpongeBob T-shirt.

Now all that would seem pretty straightforward, but there's a complication. Susan Stitch has left her pet monkey, Carl, for Stephanie to baby sit while Susan is away on her honeymoon. You guessed it. Carl's part of the investigation team. Now, Carl's not your usual monkey. You'll have to read the book to understand what I mean, but it's all very funny.

The story has one other complication. Have you ever read any of the Carl Hiaasen novels about cleaning up the creeps who are ruining the environment? Well, Carl Hiaasen could have been a coauthor for parts of this story as we read about the Pine Barrens in southern New Jersey and the mythical men and beasts of that area (including the Jersey Devil who flies noisily above the trees at night).

Oh, and there's also a plot to control the world. Diesel has a cousin, Wulf Grimoire, who is partnered with Martin Munch to develop some pretty dangerous technology. Diesel claims that he needs Stephanie to join him so that Wulf will not be able to detect him.

As you might expect, Stephanie is happy to help . . . but she's got to meet her other responsibilities, including those other skips, helping Morelli's brother, and advising women on how to handle their men.

With so much at stake, you might not realize that there will be more fun than a barrel of monkeys (perhaps because there are lots of monkeys in the story). Lulu's love life takes an unexpected turn. And you'll meet one of the most dangerous characters ever . . . who has a most remarkable secret problem (that doesn't remain secret for long).

This story is so off-the-wall you could almost imagine it ending with Stephanie waking up from a dream to be relieved that it's all over. But it's no dream, it's Plum Spooky.

The only thing that's missing is some movement of Stephanie permanently toward one of the men in her life.

Have a ball!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the usual Between The Numbers, 19 Jun 2009
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Plum Spooky (Hardcover)
The Between the Numbers series do exactly what they say on the tin, provide instalments of the Stephanie Plum stories between the numbered novels. This latest fitting between numbers 14 and 15 in the series.

Previously the between the numbers books have been slim volumes, more like short stories. They're tied together by the appearance of a semi super natural hero called Diesel and all revolve around festivals such as Christmas and Easter. This one is slightly different in that although it is called 'spooky' it is not about Halloween and is also a much meatier book in terms of number of pages. Stephanie gets entangled with a vampiric character called Wulf, a crazy scientist called Martin Munch and the latest bunch of oddball skips on her regular bounty hunting routines.

This is, in my opinion, a distinct improvement. I have enjoyed the others in the series but was beginning to think that the price for such slender fare was one I was no longer willing to pay. This is much more the thing.

As with the numbered series the material is the same, Stephanie encounters freakish characters, bizarre pets and exploding cars whilst wrestling with the complications of a love life trapped between men she wants to sleep with but can't commit to. Rex is now the oldest hamster in the world and Grandma Mazur is older than God.

The ending to this book is slightly rushed and too neat, but other than that an enjoyable read.

Having said this, if you enjoy Evanovich's sense of humour and her writing and are willing to suspend all belief and any hope that the mainframe plotting will ever move forward you will enjoy yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a laugh, 29 July 2011
This review is from: Plum Spooky (Paperback)
As the book is between the numbers, the character relationships do not develop but apart from that, the story is pure Plum, hillariously ridiculous and highly entertaining to the point where I had a fit of the giggles every few pages, much to the curiosity of my fellow travellers. One of my companions removed the book from my hands the minute I had turned the last page, to see what I was laughing at and ended up reading it! If you have enjoyed all the Stephanie Plum novels so far then get this one and have a good laugh but don't expect to 'find out' what happens in the Steph/Morelli/Ranger triangle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plum Spooky (Kindle Edition)
It's a good book but not quite as good as the 'numbered' series. It is still an good easy read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plum on target, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plum Spooky (Paperback)
I a great fan of all the Stephanie Plum books. this is a good teaser for the numbers series. ideal for a quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best and funniest authors today, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plum Spooky (Kindle Edition)
It just tears along. Populated by weirdoes and punctuated by explosions and laugh-out-loud moments this is a sensation of a book. From almost human monkeys, debatably-human villains and luscious heroines this book has them all. A fire-farter? (Check) The Jersey Devil? (Check) The Easter Bunny? (Check) What's not to love?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars plum spooky, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plum Spooky (Paperback)
i loved this book made me laugh until my sides were sore. have bought it for my friends for christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good holiday reading, 29 Dec 2013
This review is from: Plum Spooky (Kindle Edition)
Nothing too taxing and vintage Janet Evanovich. Some genuinely funny scenes in Trenton NJ although the mystery plot is a bit weak
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plum Spooky (Kindle Edition)
again and for the nth time I love this author but haven;t had any time to read the books, sorry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Plum Spooky, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plum Spooky (Kindle Edition)
I can always rely on Stephanie Plum and her madcap adventures to give me a good giggle. "Plum Spooky", a between the numbers book, sees Stephanie babysitting a monkey and trying not to succumb to the charms of Diesel and Ranger. Good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plum Spooky
Plum Spooky by Janet Evanovich (Paperback - 7 Jan 2010)
7.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews