Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius
The more I read the more I understand the plot and each book builds on the characters, so you get them. Bit uncomfortable with the s & M sex but honestly could not put the book down.
Published 7 months ago by PerfectPurplePak

versus
57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty bad with a few good bits
I was really looking forward to this book. After the last novel where we saw a lot less gratuitous sex and much more of the old fashioned hard boiled Anita I was really hopeful about this one. But I was pretty disappointed when I finally read it the first 150 pages or so where slow and while I'm pretty sure there were a few little gems of real character development in...
Published on 2 Jun 2010 by S. Mckirdy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sad :(, 9 Jun 2010
By 
i have always loved this series, i have re-read it soooo many times, but the past few have gone too far and bullet ruined it for me. as someone else had put into a review on here far too many characters! we didnt need more characters would of been more interesting to have further development of the many, many characters already there. And was it just me or did anyone else find the whole jean-claude/richard/weretiger thing weird? so very not anita blake's attitude it went a bit far i think, i am so dissapointed i love this series :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where has Anita as we know her gone?, 27 Jun 2011
By 
Z. Hutton "zuzihut" (UK Watford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I started this serious, and was totally hooked up. Pig headed main character, with her own life and powers..... I like that she was totally torn between two different characters...werewolf and vampire... However, what has happened to her in this last book is beyond understanding. What happened to this cute young woman, who was stubborn, had her own opinion, and didn't let anyone fool with her? What happened to such a strong character? She become some sexually possessed weirdo, who takes everything, what the author throws at her.... Anita, RIP. Will miss you immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Strictly a library author from now on, 26 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Bullet (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter) (Paperback)
What I would really like to see is a mass massacre of most of the 'men' in Anita Blake's life, maybe for her to go into some kind of metaphysical coma from it all and then we can start again when she wakes up with a powerful necromancer, skillful vampire executioner, valuable asset to the police. The kind of plotlines that got me reading this series in the first place.
I have spent a lot of money over the years on Laurell K Hamilton books as I am a big re-reader of series that I love, I used to pre-order all the hardbacks, in recent years I stopped that and waited for the paperback release, but with my frustrations with the series growing I decided to get this and Flirt from the library and I think this is the way to go from now on, as I would still like to check in with the series in the hope that it will remember what it once was and how much better it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Anita Blake..porno queen, 3 Mar 2011
I have enjoyed the Anita Blake books so far, but this was ridiculous! I'm not sure if Mz Hamilton is a frustrated swinger in her private life, but this book was soft porn, no more no less..in fact parts were more hard porn! The plot was so thin it was barely there, and it ended in a rush as if she'd got stuck for a better way to finish. All in all, not what I was expecting and I won't bother buying any more Anita Blake books. I just hope her Meredith Gentry don't go the same way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another former avid reader done with this series, 23 July 2010
By 
mari hall (bradford, uk) - See all my reviews
Where to begin. I've read the Anita Blake series since book 1 was first published, and thoroughly enjoyed them. I read this book on return from a holiday during which I had re-read the first 10 books of the series. The quality of this 'story' is nowhere near the standard of the first few books, and I've given up hope of a return to the gripping plot lines I was used to. This book was HORRIBLY disappointing. Like many people, I was hoping that Anita and Richard would find a way to work out their differences, but not like this. Richard has had a complete personality transplant, and showed no resemblance to the character we knew. I'd say half or more of the book focused on cringeworthy sex scenes. I'm done. Thank you to the people who also reviewed this book and spelled out what exactly the plot was, as I struggled to find one, and this book was an ordeal to read. For me, the only way to salvage this series would be to completely re-write books 10 onwards, cutting out all the bs. The dialogue between characters was apalling, I was actually embarrassed reading a lot of it (not because of the sex, but because it was truly so badly written) and the only reason I've given this 1 star was because there is no option to give it no stars. So goodbye Anita. A shame, as she was once my favourite fictional heroine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mary Sue Does it again, 30 Jun 2010
By 
J. Finn "slightly funny" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i have read all the books in this series, cant say i have enjoyed them all incubus dreams being a particular low not because of the constant sex fest that the books have become i enjoy sex in my books provided that a) it is well written and b) there is an actual plot.

as it is the books now follow a basic formula Anita is the best at everything ever, is super powerful, stunningly attractive to every one, regardless of their sexual orientation, has a harem of men which disturbingly to me at least have almost all suffered some form of degradation and sexual abuse in the past and the inclusion of younger characters as sexual partners isnt making that icky feeling go away.

Characters change with little obidence to the laws of either continuity or logic, simply to suit hamiltons whims richards contining develution being a prime example his complete turnaround in this book is so fast it could cause whip lash.

Normally this is where i would address the plot however since there isnt really one i will simply say this, i am not a hater i enjoyed the first 8 books best, however i still liked the later books and really got on board again with harlequin and skin trade however anita becoming more powerful in every sense of the word and the constant and very real victimisation of the other characters in order to high light how strong she is just leaves a bad taste this is example of the Mary Sue plot device at its very worst indeed maybe we should just start saying a character is a anita blake

il still read the next one however i have stopped buying these books the library will do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars vampire slayer?, 13 Aug 2010
bullet not a good choice of title but maybe i missed the connection somewhere.This book was a callosall waste of money now let me say that over the years i have enjoyed anita blake but please a story would be nice and as much as a like a good sex scene i,m surprised that she can still walk after some of said scenes.These books are not cheap and i find it very dissapointing to look forward to a book then have th throw it away in disgust. Ms hamiltons earlier work was far superior and shorter more dosn`t equal better,wait and buy second hand is my advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars drowning not waving, 29 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK if you have not read any of this series-DO Not start here-even for me-and ive read em all-i was struggling to follow the plot-and the sheer number of characters-start at the beginning-and around book 11 prepare for a long slow dive off the cliff into porn without recognizable or comprehansible plot-
Ms hamilton can write-and she can make fast paced convoluted plots work-she can create believable characters you care about.Its all there.
But-to make sex work in a book-it has to be within a plot-or give up the idea of writing a novel and focus on porn-cut out the middle man (no pun intended) and go straight for bodily fluids and bedroom gymnastics with an ever increasing number of chiseled young men: and thereby lies the problem.
Ms hamilton has ended up with her characters So caught up in the bedroom-that all other parts of their lives (which could offer a plot) have largely been eradicated.
Im still hoping that maybe just maybe laurell will give her characters a hiatus from bonking each other long enough to create a book with the verve and spark she is capable of doing. im hanging on in there with the series-but by jove the thread is very thin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Another Anita Blake book repeating the previous ones, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bullet (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter) (Paperback)
I've read almost all of the Anita Blake books now (I just can't stop reading the series once I've started it - I know: it's bad), and it looks like along the way most of the interesting bits about Anita's story got lost and were replaced by sex, sex and then some more sex. This book is no exception.

Even the sex is repeating itself nowadays from one book to another: the same acts being vividly described and there's nothing new in these scenes either. They do almost everything people can do in the bed or out of it - with more and more people joining in. I suppose the only new thing is that couple of times it has happened that, because of certain reasons, no one remembers anything about the orgy that has lasted often over a day (don't they need to go to the toilet at any point?).

And talking about the dialogue... it is also just repeating itself over and over again. The characters are overanalysing the same things about their relationship with each other in every single book, and it's getting really very boring. You'd think that with all this analysing the characters would finally solve their issues and manage to proceed with their lifes. But sadly no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading some of the reviews here I was expecting this book to be pretty terrible. Whilst it is absolutely not as good as the earlier installments it is nowhere near as bad as I remember some of the later ones to be. Whilst the central plot is not THE important feature it is still solid and present and not just a filler in between the sex pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bullet (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter)
Bullet (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter) by Laurell K. Hamilton (Paperback - 11 Nov 2010)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews