Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best one yet, without a doubt
It must be hard for a writer of a series to keep the standard up from one book to the next, yet alone improve it. But that's what Scarrow has achieved with this magnificent series of books. The Eagle in the Sand is set in the Roman province of Judaea, some years after THE crucifixion. The land is torn by civil strife and savage terrorist attacks, while the hapless Roman...
Published on 11 Oct 2006 by charles devoir

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTING - NOT UP TO STANDARD
I discovered the 'Eagle' books of Simon Scarrow by accident, and have since been working through them in chronological order. I have just read 'Eagle in the Sand' I found it incredibly disappointing, unlike most reiewers. Indeed, so disappointing, it has triggered me to write this, my first ever review!

Up to now I have found the description of life in the...
Published on 5 Jan 2010 by J. H. Baggs


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best one yet, without a doubt, 11 Oct 2006
This review is from: The Eagle in the Sand (Hardcover)
It must be hard for a writer of a series to keep the standard up from one book to the next, yet alone improve it. But that's what Scarrow has achieved with this magnificent series of books. The Eagle in the Sand is set in the Roman province of Judaea, some years after THE crucifixion. The land is torn by civil strife and savage terrorist attacks, while the hapless Roman garrison struggles to keep a lid on it all - so not a million miles from today's Iraq in fact. And it's this shimmering between the two historical periods that makes the book rather more intelligent and thoughtful than most other historical fiction novels. That's not to say that Scarrow has dropped action and replaced it with speculation. Eagle in the Sands is as exciting and action packed as the pervious novels, I just don't know how he manages to combine the two aspects so effectively. But it works.

Macro and Cato arrive in the middle of this mess with orders to take command of a desert fort on the very fringe of the empire. Their task is to put down a local rebellion led by one of the followers of a certain nationalist rebel executed at the time of Pilate. This latest rebellion is being aided by the Parthians as part of the great game being played out between their empire and Rome to dominate the east.

A tough mission, and as ever a dangerous one. Macro and Cato are as engaging as ever and the setting is described so finely that you'll break out in a sweat as they trek through the desert, visit Petra and have a final showdown in the blood red sand dunes of Rhum.

So then, here I am stuck with waiting another year before the next book comes out... sigh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eagle in Syria, 10 Aug 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eagle in the Sand (Hardcover)
BRIEF STORY DETAILS - SLIGHT SPOILERS.

Out of cold, wet Britain at last, Cato and Macro and their Second Legion are stationed on the Empire's eastern frontier in Syria but the Legion is exhausted and corruption is rife.
Local tribesmen led by Bannus revolt, threatening the security of the empire but the Legion is not fit enough to fight.

SAFE READING _ NO SPOILERS

I have read all the "Eagle" series in order, followed the careers of Cato and Macro with great interest and eagerly await the already pre-ordered "Praetorian".
Not the heights of Literature (nor pretending to be), but well-written nevertheless, the series is filled with his great depth of knowledge, enthusiasm for and interest in the Romans.
Cunningly peopled with all the names from our history lessons - Vespasian, Cladius, Caratacus, Boudica - and the Roman campaigns to extend the Empire but centred on two Roman soldiers who become unlikely close friends, Macro and Cato, their careers and friendship carries the stories along. Following them closely allows the intimate details of human life to be in the forefront while the everyday lives of Roman soldiers and the political intrigues of the Roman Empire provide the backdrop.

PS I found it helpful to have a one-page list of Roman army ranks, which I used as a bookmark, and I had the odd glance at ancient maps (not mine I hasten to add!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb!!!, 1 Sep 2006
This review is from: The Eagle in the Sand (Hardcover)
Any fan of the Eagle Series will love this book!

It's fast paced, rip roaring ride around Judea. It must be one of the funniest of the series too, i couldnt finish it quick enough!

And for anyone who hasnt read Simons Eagle's all i can say is....why not!!!!

for any reader who likes historical fiction, read this series. you'll not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read., 13 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Eagle In The Sand (Paperback)
Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Another cracking page turner from Simon Scarrow I shall not delve into the narrative as there are some very informative reviews already posted. Suffice it to say the authors story telling is consummate with a good in depth knowledge of Rome and her legions and a great feeling for the epoch. Highly recommended.

The perfect companion to the Eagle series is the Roma Victrix wine beaker, Simon in his review says:
BEAUTIFULLY SCULPTED IT IS A VERY HANDSOME THING! THE REASON WHY I PARTICULARLY LIKE THIS CUP IS THAT IT FEATURES THE MEN AND INSIGNIA OF THE SECOND LEGION, THE UNIT IN WHICH CATO LEARNED HOW TO BECOME A SOLDIER UNDER THE AFFECTIONATE EYE OF MACRO! IT'S A LOVELY THING AND HAS PRIDE OF PLACE ON MY DESK RIGHT NOW!Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Kind of Book, 26 May 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Eagle in the Sand (Paperback)
After a brief sojourn into the eighteenth century with the Duke of Wellington and Napoleon, Simon Scarrow is back to sorting out the problems of the Roman Empire with his two lead characters Cato and Macro. Cato was once Optio (something like the equivalent of a sergeant) to the Centurion macro, but they are now both centurions and have been through many encounters together. This has made them the closest of friends. Friendship that only standing side by side in battle can mould. Each would happily die for the other, though neither would admit it.

Both men have been sent on a mission to the Roman frontier, where trouble is brewing and the for once the troops seem to be in disarray. When they arrive a local revolt is beginning to grow in scale, with a local tribesman preaching violence and death against Rome

Macro and Cato must use their knowledge and expertise as centurions to stamp out the corruption in the cohort and get the men back to being a unified fighting force before the East Provinces are lost forever

I will read anything and everything about the Roman legions, be it fact or fiction so these books are like manna from heaven for me. Simon Scarrow's books are very authentic and an extremely enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eagle In The Sand, 15 Dec 2009
By 
David Guru (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Eagle In The Sand (Paperback)
Simon Scarrow has written seven other books in the 'eagle' series. They tell the progressive story of two Roman Officers
serving with the Roman legions during the first century.

The Eagle In The Sand is set in Judaea at a time when the mighty Roman Empire was threatened by local uprising and imminent war against Parthia.

The author is extremely knowledgable on all aspects of life in Roman times and for this particular book spent time in Jordan researching and exploring the geographical landscape.

The book, as are all the others in the series is a real page turner and difficult to put down. Battles ,political intrigue, treachery, honour, love and death. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Rate, 7 Aug 2006
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Eagle in the Sand (Paperback)
After a brief sojourn into the eighteenth century with the Duke of Wellington and Napoleon, Simon Scarrow is back to sorting out the problems of the Roman Empire with his two lead characters Cato and Macro. Cato was once Optio (something like the equivalent of a sergeant) to the Centurion macro, but they are now both centurions and have been through many encounters together. This has made them the closest of friends. Friendship that only standing side by side in battle can mould. Each would happily die for the other, though neither would admit it.

Both men have been sent on a mission to the Roman frontier, where trouble is brewing and the for once the troops seem to be in disarray. When they arrive a local revolt is beginning to grow in scale, with a local tribesman preaching violence and death against Rome

Macro and Cato must use their knowledge and expertise as centurions to stamp out the corruption in the cohort and get the men back to being a unified fighting force before the East Provinces are lost forever

I will read anything and everything about the Roman legions, be it fact or fiction so these books are like manna from heaven for me. Simon Scarrow's books are very authentic and an extremely enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTING - NOT UP TO STANDARD, 5 Jan 2010
By 
J. H. Baggs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eagle In The Sand (Paperback)
I discovered the 'Eagle' books of Simon Scarrow by accident, and have since been working through them in chronological order. I have just read 'Eagle in the Sand' I found it incredibly disappointing, unlike most reiewers. Indeed, so disappointing, it has triggered me to write this, my first ever review!

Up to now I have found the description of life in the legions as credible, the relationship between Macro and Cato believable, and the suspension of disbelief while reading extremely easy. The books have been page turners which were difficult to put down.

Not so with this one. The storyline was poor and bitty, the descriptive knowledge and understanding was shallow and uninteresting, the military discipline of the two heroes was suspended in bouts of unbelievable soap opera insubordination, their relationship has descended to the mawkish, the characters and situations were cardboard and one felt that the author kept losing interest as he was going along. Certainly I did. It did not feel at all as if it were written by the same person who wrote the others in the series - perhaps it has been done by a ghost writer?

It was all too easy to put this book down and all too hard to pick it up again. I only hope that it forms a bridge to a better next novel. If not, I won't be buying any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you enjoy the series you'll find this book as difficult to put down as the rest.

I was going to go for 4 stars as it wasn't quite as captivating as the beginning of the series but then I remembered that I could barely stop reading it so it was maybe that the others were actually worth 6 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dynamic duo on top desert form, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good back story of Roman power struggle set against gritty desert action (pun intended!). Interesting idea to link the core of the story to the beginnings of Christianity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa68daf90)

This product

The Eagle In The Sand
The Eagle In The Sand by Simon Scarrow (Paperback - 11 Dec 2008)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews