Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Decimation !!
In my own opinion, this - the fifth in the Eagle series of books about the adventures of Centurions Macro and Cato - is by far the best piece of Scarrow's writing to date. I admit to enjoying the first three, but felt a little let down by the fourth which I felt seemed to be inspired by Scarrow sitting down one Christmas after a healthy helping of X-mas pudding, watching...
Published on 11 Jun 2007 by Mr. R. Coleman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disintegrating Book
The book itself was all that I have come to expect from the author. So no problem there, what was unexpected was the propensity of the book itself to shed pages whilst I was reading it, I put this down to the amount of glue used to engage the pages to the spine and the fact I was reading it in the Sunshine of Spain......
Published 22 months ago by SteveH


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Decimation !!, 11 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. R. Coleman (Marlow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In my own opinion, this - the fifth in the Eagle series of books about the adventures of Centurions Macro and Cato - is by far the best piece of Scarrow's writing to date. I admit to enjoying the first three, but felt a little let down by the fourth which I felt seemed to be inspired by Scarrow sitting down one Christmas after a healthy helping of X-mas pudding, watching the annual re-run of Zulu on the TV and then adapting it into The Eagle And The Wolves !

The book mainly concerns the aftermath of the disastrous attempt of the third cohort - under the leadership of the perpetual back-stabbing Maximius - to delay Caratacus from escaping from the main body of the legion, and ending the war with the rebellious Britain's as early as possible to keep the name of Claudius respectable in Rome.

After some serious passing of the buck by Maximius, Narcissus decides that a decimation of the legion would be best and the novel details the results, the escape of those facing death, the chase by the surviving members of the third cohort and the eventual final show down with Caratacus in the Marsh lands.

I found that when Macro and Cato's legion were facing decimation I could just not put the book down until I knew what was going to happen - and we all knew that one of our illustrious duo were going to draw the short straw.

Being a lecturer on Roman history the details of Roman society, political intrigue and army life in the legions are superbly written as usual and exactly what I have come to expect from Scarrow`s earlier novels. Scarrow's addiction to detail, mixed with adventure, political intrigue, friendship, blood and gore once again do the business for me.

The only down side I can see in this book, was that I wanted to know what happened to Figulus after he returned to Vespasian, and how much trouble Plautius got into politically after events of the final few pages of the book.

I would also like to thank Scrarrow for not flogging the British part of this series to death. The end of this book sees the duo departing for shores anew and new adventures - too many writers these days seem to flog a series to death just to sell books.

As a final note, I would like to ask the publishers of these novels to stop using Elizabeth Chadwick's praise on the back of these books. THERE IS NO LOVE in these novels (OK, Vespasian`s for his family, but...)!!! So if you pick this book up and think its romance, just ignore her !!

Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much, Much better Mr Scarrow !!!, 22 July 2004
This review is from: The Eagle's Prey (Hardcover)
The Eagle's Prey is the best written of all Scarrow's Macro and Cato's adventures so far, in my opinion.
It begins with an attempt to trap the Celtic leader Caratacus by an increasingly desperate General Plautius, who is himself facing mounting pressure from the Emperor's freedman, Narcissus. However, under the weak leadership of the senior centurion, Maximius, Caratacus escapes with several thousand of his men. Infuriated, Plautius insists on a show of Roman disciplinary measures - decimation - to appease the Emperor. Unfortunately, Cato is amongst those singled out to be killed by his friends, which leads his loyal friend Macro to help him and the other condemmned escape.

Vespasion in turn comes up with a suggestion to restore the honour of the 2nd Legion by ordering Maximius to stir up the natives by brutal means so that Caratacus will retaliate and be forced into another trap. Cato is therefore trapped between the angry Celtic hoards, and the Romans who are determined to capture and carry out punishment.
Where this story excels is in the quality of writing which has increased in style and clarity. There are numerous fine descriptions of the landscapes, and of battlescenes that are both bloody and realistic. Both Cato and Macro develop more as characters too. Cato has to learn to lead his rag-tag followers by force of personality alone, and Macro becomes more reflective as though the two friends have undergone a personality swop. Cato's language becomes more like the colourful Macro's and Macro himself has to think hard in order to survive the fall-out from Cato's escape.
Scarrow shows also, that the brutal discipline of the Legions is in fact little better then that of the Barbarian Celts.
The ambition of the senior Roman Army men is all consuming to the extent that the men under them are considered expendable.
Several weakness do occur in the book however. Figulus seems to disappear at the end with no word as to what happens to him and
the dialogue Caratacus speaks is a little hammy. Overall though a great read, with a few hints as to the next episode for our beloved heroes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The epic continues, 23 Jun 2004
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Eagle's Prey (Hardcover)
This novel picks up where the previous one finished and as such doesn't contain a massive time delay between the events that unfolded and as such give the reader the opportunity to understand, perhaps a little clearer, the turbulent times in which our ancestors lived. However if your a new reader you dont have to have read the characters past excursions as each novel is self contained. As such it adds few complications that will leave you wondering as to what the hell happened and what have I missed as this doesnt make any sense.
As I discovered in the previous novel the tale is crisp, exciting and action packed and never leaves a dull moment in the whole of the book. If you love Cornwell then this is definitely an author to add to your shelves and will be one that you read time after time, more for enjoyment than anything else, but also to build your excitement for the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eagle's Prey (Hardcover)
Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Scarrow does it again, an excellent read plenty of blood and guts as usual with some intrigue and dry humour. A real page turner. Recommended.
The perfect companion to this excellent series is the ROMA VICTRIX wine beaker.

Footnote: The perfect companion to the Eagle series is the Roma Victrix wine
beaker, Simon in his review says.
BEAUTIFULLY SCULPTED IT IS A VERY HANDSOME THING! THE REASON WHY I PARTICULARLY LIKE THIS CUP IS THAT IT FEATURES THE MEN AND INSIGNIA OF THE SECOND LEGION, THE UNIT IN WHICH CATO LEARNED HOW TO BECOME A SOLDIER UNDER THE AFFECTIONATE EYE OF MACRO! IT'S A LOVELY THING AND HAS PRIDE OF PLACE ON MY DESK RIGHT NOW!
Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simon scarrow the eagles prey, 30 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eagle's Prey (Paperback)
I just love these books...I cannot put them down once I start reading...you are really there...and into the situation...I would rate this author with Wilbur Smith for the descriptive exploding sequences in these books...the only problem that I have is....that there are not enough different books to keep me satisfied...so Simon Scarrow....please keep writing double time...thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Roman actioner, 13 Jun 2005
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Although this is part of a series, it was the first I had picked up and it was very easy to get into. Based during the Roman invasion of Britain this is a mix of action, politics and intrigue and is set around two Centurions.
The author has a very easy to read style and while this reads very much in the Bernard Cornwall style, it uses stronger language and the characters speak 'modern' English.
I enjoyed it and the pace of the story consumed any minor flaws. A very entertaining read and I shall be picking up the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 5th in a series of 7 great books, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eagle's Prey (Paperback)
if your looking for a roman legion novel then this series is as good as any. note that this is the 5th in a series of 7 the order goes

under the eagle
the eagles conguest
when the eagle hunts
the eagle and the wolves
the eagles prey
the eagles prophecy
the eagle in the sand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eagle's Prey (Paperback)
good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Eagles Prey, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent chapter in the series. Once again, the author has managed to combine fiction with historical fact. Although the main characters are fictional, it cannot be denied that men such as these did exist. It helps if you have followed the series from the start, with Macro and Cato, for you would see how their relationship, and loyalties to each other came to be.

The story compels you to move on to the next book in the series, something which I am about to do. My only fear is; that one day the series will end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read gripping story line Simon Scarrow at his best., 11 Jun 2014
By 
William Heath (Lincolnshire. U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read from start to finish. Macro and Cato doing what they do best. looking forward to the next one, although I seem to read in not a conventional order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Eagle's Prey
The Eagle's Prey by Simon Scarrow (Paperback - 13 Nov 2008)
7.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews