Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars150
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The Roman Legions are now well entrenched in Britain, but are still finding dogged resistance from the fearsome natives. Macro and Cato find themselves standing between victory and bloody defeat.
Cato is newly appointed to the rank of Centurion and it falls to him and Macro to provide an army of untrained recruits for the aged ruler Verica.
With an army of raw recruits can they halt the progress of a cunning opponent and plotters who are eager not only to destroy Macro and Cato but the whole of the Roman army.
Simon Scarrow has a wonderful feel for the period he writes about and his characters endear themselves to you the reader. These books are well researched and for anyone interested in this period of Britain's history are a great read. Fact mixed with fiction in the best possible way.
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2006
The same people, setting and ingredients as the 3 previous novels in the series but Scarrow brings it all together flawlessly. If you love action-packed historical novels can't go wrong with this one. Thanks again Simon!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 August 2011
BRIEF STORY DETAILS - SLIGHT SPOILERS

44 AD, and in south-west Britain Vespasian, commander of the Second Legion, Centurion Macro and newly appointed centurion Cato in the thick of the fighting. Verica and his Atrebatans align with Rome but revolt against the invasion spreads. Macro and Cato fight for their lives as a Rome itself is threatened by political plot

SAFE READING _ NO SPOILERS

I have read all the "Eagle" series in order, followed the careers of Cato and Macro with great interest and eagerly await the already pre-ordered "Praetorian".
Not the heights of Literature (nor pretending to be), but well-written nevertheless, the series is filled with his great depth of knowledge, enthusiasm for and interest in the Romans.
Cunningly peopled with all the names from our history lessons - Vespasian, Cladius, Caratacus, Boudica - and the Roman campaigns to extend the Empire but centred on two Roman soldiers who become unlikely close friends, Macro and Cato, their careers and friendship carries the stories along. Following them closely allows the intimate details of human life to be in the forefront while the everyday lives of Roman soldiers and the political intrigues of the Roman Empire provide the backdrop.

PS I found it helpful to have a one-page list of Roman army ranks, which I used as a bookmark, and I had the odd glance at ancient maps (not mine I hasten to add!).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's 44 AD, and Vespasian and the Second Legion are forging ahead in their campaign to seize the south-west of Britain. Macro and newly appointed centurion Cato are ordered to provide Verica, ruler of the Atrebatans, with an army. They must train his tribal levies into a force that can protect him and take on the increasingly ambitious raids that the enemy is launching. But despite the Atrebatans' official allegiance to Rome, open revolt is brewing, for many want to resist the Roman invaders. Macro and Cato must win the loyalty of the disgruntled levies - but can they succeed whilst surviving a deadly plot to destroy both them? Macro and Cato face the greatest test of their army careers as only they stand between the destiny of Rome and bloody defeat. Fabulous read highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 April 2016
This is book 4 of Simon Scarrow’s “Eagle of the Empire” series. The first phase of the conquest of Britain has ended but Caradoc, the chief of the Catuvellani and heart of the resistance against Rome has escaped capture and retreated to the North-West (to what is now Wales) with the remnants of his army. The bulk of the Roman forces with Aulus Plautius have advanced to confront him while Vespasian (and Macro and Cato) with the Second Legion have “pacified” the South-West and taken dozens of hill-top forts and towns in the process. The problem is that the Roman supply lines have become extended and the territory behind the lines is far from being totally subdued.

The story begins as Cato and Macro are recovering (especially Cato, grievously wounded in the previous episode) at Calleva, the Roman rear base and supply depot. The King of the Atrebates – Verica (a historical character) is pro-Roman but not all of the Atrebates are and many fought against the Romans. Because the Romans cannot spare enough soldiers to garrison Calleva, Cato and Macro are tasked with forming and training two cohorts of auxiliaries out of the Attrebate warriors, cohorts which will fight hard and give their best against the common enemy.

This is probably one my favourites titles in the whole series. It includes the usual themes developed by Simon Scarrow, such as the rough bantering and friendship of the comrade-in-arms Cato and Macro and the usual desperate fighting. One valuable element with this is to make the story more plausible and to show that the conquest of Britain was no “walk in the park”. Resistance was fierce and Romans suffered setbacks, as shown in the book. It also helps to explain why it took so long (about a decade) to subdue only the southern part of Britain.

This volume, however, also introduces somewhat different themes. One is the fact that Rome was in fact supported by a number of chieftains and at least part if not all of their respective tribes. Rather skilfully, Rome exploited old rivalries, hatreds and the settling of old scores against the Catuvallani which had previously been dominant and seem to have caused the exile of Verica King of the Atrebates. The point here is that such support certainly helped the Romans although, as shown in the book, it may not have been wholehearted. No levy and formation of auxiliary cohorts of Britons to fight against Britons from other tribes are recorded although, given the circumstances described in the book, this could have taken place since the fall of Calleva to Caredoc would in fact have cut-off the Roman forces from their supplies and any reinforcements.

Another more moving theme is that of loyalty, trust and the warrior ethos as the Wolves develop a sense of a new common identity and pride under the harsh training of their Roman centurions. The way the author presents their faithfulness and their fate is rather moving and not exactly to the credit of the Roman command, although the latter’s behaviour is perhaps understandable given the dramatic circumstances.

The battles, both outside and within Calleva, are simply griping. An interesting feature used by the author in a number of his novels is to show that the noble warrior elite were “professionals”, probably just as well armed as the Romans and just as dangerous, as shown for instance in the last battle. The intrigues and plots within the ruling caste and families of the Atrebates, with the divide between pro and anti-Roman matching rivalries for leadership, is also well done.

Easily worth five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2003
It might seem a bit premature to state that Simon Scarrow is a master of the historical novel genre. After all his series of novels set in the Roman legions numbers only four books, and as far as I am aware these are the only novels he has had published. But the quality of his writing really shines form the first page. Each book has opened with a pacy introduction to the ancient world and this latest is no exception. Our heroes, the brilliant but self-conscious Cato and the irrepressibly soldier-like Macro, are ordered to raise a private army to enfore the will of the ailing Atrebatan king, Verica. His court is riddled with plotters thirsting to be the new king. Outside the walls of the Atrebatan capital, enemy raiders are razing his kingdom. It is up to Macro and Cato to ensure that this vital ally to the Roman cause is kept safe and kept onside.
As ever the plotting is flawlessly involving, the action makes you feel as if you were there in the thick of battle and the characterisation makes you feel as if you know these men like old friends. The writing is crisp, punchy and occasionally striking in its preciseness and deployment of wit.
Christmas is coming. Now you know what to put at the top of the list when you write to Santa!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
I have read four of the books in this series and I've enjoyed them all. Lots of action and I have got to know the central characters. They are more thoughtful and resourceful Cato and the bluff 'I am a soldier and that's my lot' Macro and although he's hard through and through I am beginning to get the feeling that Macro cares for Cato - in a very subdued mannish sort of way!!

All four books so far have been really good, but I'm moving on to something different now - too much of a good thing and all that, but I will be back.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
I'm a fan of Macro and Cato and this is well up to their usual standard. Well written and nicely woven around real historical characters and events. I like the style in that the conversation is readable and modern rather than attempting cod Roman. Mr Scarrow doesn't go overboard on vivid gut spilling, a pleasant change that other writers could learn from.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2003
Recovering from the injuries received in WHEN THE EAGLE HUNTS Macro and Cato are given the job of training some native units to protect the aged kind of the Atrebates. Meanwhile, they have to cope with enemy raids, plotters within the tribe and a headstrong and noisome tribune. Treachery comes from an unexpected source and within hours the whole position of the Roman army in Britain is placed in jeopardy. Caratacus is within an ace of defeating Rome. Can Cato and Macro save the day? Well, what do you think?
As ever the heroes speak like real people, the prose is crisp and elegant and the sense of time and place utterly compelling. I think this is the best of the lot so far and can only wait a long frustrating year before the next helping of classy entertainment is dished up by Simon Scarrow
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
solid story telling, simon scarrow brings the ancient roman and british world vividly to the imagination.
The treachery and betrayal of humans has not changed in over 2000 years.
I gave this book 4 stars, have read the previous three and come to like the main characters with their display of strength and flaws. I always hope the Romans triumph (well they have to, they were the power in the known world)
As Simon Scarrow is a professor of Roman history, he demonstrates this acute knowledge down to its infinite detail, weaves fact and fiction well into a fastpaced tension filled and humorous narrative. I laughed out loud in some sections of the novel. Love Macros character. Though I find the dialogue very modern and colloquial, but soldiers would have probably spoken that way in ancient Latin, just visualize it.
anyway intend to finish all 10 novels. I am immersed in it. Wonderful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.